We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid beach - jerk centre is tourist trap” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Beach

Boston Beach
Fairy Hill | Portland Jamaica, Port Antonio, Jamaica
8769938169
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 17 Attractions in Port Antonio
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Activities: Swimming, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Watch the young and adventurous surf the waves as you chow down on jerk pork, the Jamaican dish this beach is famous for.
Bruxelles
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Splendid beach - jerk centre is tourist trap”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The beach is beautiful but my rating will only focus on the "famous jerk" you can eat at Boston Bay. I read everywhere that was the place for the best jerk food.
So we ate there, at the main place just next to the beach. We had jerked pork and chicken. The food was tasteless (quite incredible taking into account jerk spices come from there) and we both felt not so well in our stomach the coming days. Then the experience was quite awful. It was a sunday afternoon and it seems all the locals were there to drink up the weekend away. Lots of drunks guys. Some started fighting with machetes (one guy has a huge bleeding injury resulting).
Police came to put some order.
Lots of people trying to sell anything, and trying to trick you with wrong change etc.....
Interesting to see from a cultural point of view but really awful if you 're looking for peaceful time.
You better go to Long beach some miles down the road and go have a drink on the beach at the aunthentic local CLife bar. The owner Cliff will be happy to welcome you and to cook something for you. He will also be happy to organise visit for you (Reach Falls for example - a must) for a very very moderate price.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    36
    13
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to go on bad weather days!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I decided to go earlier in Boston Bay and then go back to Port Antonio when the weather would get better.

With the heavy rain, the waves were great and I could surf and body board for hours there! You can rent everything you need there. Some bargain is required, they always blast a terribly high price at first.

It was a very quiet place (I was there during low season), and there were only 2 other guests from Great Huts, the nearby resort, who ventured there.

Best (almost only) place for surfing in Jamaica!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful beach I ever saw”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Boston Beach was absolutely screen-saver beautiful and deserted when we visited. Hustle was minimum. The jerk we ate there was the best we had on the whole island.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Jamaican beach: local-style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Now THIS felt like a true Jamaican beach in Portland! After disappointment at Frenchman's, this was just what we were looking for: picturesque setting, local hang out, awesome jerk food, and more. Plus it's free. I had deliberated between four/five stars due to the pestering of all of the vendor hawks, but knowing about their immense presence, prior to going, is key -- and you should feel comfortable enough saying NO when needed. Be sure to get the jerk lobster!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A must visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Boston Beach just gets better...although the water had a stink smell on the last of our three visits for the week. Must try Glasses Jerk Centre although he is only there on weekends...red wine, roast breadfruit and jerk pork sausage and it doesn't get any better; had one of those memorable food moments that was as good as any other, including French Laundry.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boston Beach also viewed

Port Antonio, Portland Parish
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 

Been to Boston Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boston Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.