We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best meals in jamaica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mocking Bird Hill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mocking Bird Hill to your Saves list
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mockingbird Hill | P.O. Box 254, Port Antonio JM, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Port Antonio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
miami
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“best meals in jamaica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

I just recently spent 2 nights at Hotel Mocking Bird Hill. The breakfasts were enough to rave about - but the dinners ... they were absolutely the best meals I have had in Jamaica. Goat cheese torte was had by my dining companion along with salad and its dressing of parmesan and sunflower seeds.
I had salad with tamarind dressing freshly made, chicken breast stuffed with sundried tomato and goat cheese, and for dessert a banana flambe that was easy to get drunk on. Am still drooling and wish I was there to look forward to many more dinners.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    37
    11
    12
    13
See reviews for
24
153
28
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

When we heard that this hotel was eco-friendly, we had reservations. We saw the images of the hotel and it looked beautiful but the idea of an “eco-friendly stay” produced images of being “without” many of the luxuries we were accustomed to from a 5-star resort. We could not have been more wrong.
The resort takes every effort to leave as small a footprint as possible on the environment. The food is sourced by local vendors specializing in organic, sustainable food. The solar panels are used for electricity, and the water is collected and purified from the sky! Every little detail in the design and service is an example of how to be eco-responsible – from the wine bottles used to line the gardens to the use of cloth napkins and re-usable materials in the dining area.
The best part of the trip was the realization that you can make smart daily decisions to reduce your impact on the earth without sacrificing comfort. It was one of the best experiences we ever had and we left not only relaxed, but with a new outlook on ways we can be better citizens of the earth. Bravo!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

Hotel Mocking Bird Hill is leagues above the rest. The rooms are incredible. The food is gourmet. The staff, the hotel taxi driver,.... everyone is so helpful and pleasant! Make sure to let them arrange for your tours, since they know the locals and you get the best "off the beaten path" tours with local guides and small groups (we only had those at our hotel with us in our excursions). Also, make sure you're on time for the Sundowner drinks - 10 minutes late and you'll miss out! This is definitely the place we would return to if we get to go to Jamaica again. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

From the first email to Barbara to confirm room availibility to our last delicious breakfast overlooking the harbour of Port Antonio, my husband and I were wowed by the professionalsim and friendly, attentive service provided by Shireen, Barbara and all the wondeful staff at Mockingbird Hill. Our week there was one of our best holidays ever- charming, comfortable and well-appointed room( loved the louvered windows), thoughtful gifts and spa products, gorgeous common areas, extraordinary food and beautifuly trained staff made for a superb Christmas holiday. Though there are many sight- seeing activities on offer in the area, to simply stay put, read in the garden, play a board game in the bar or have a swim in the pool made for a totally relaxing, refreshing week.

Many hotels package themselves as "eco" but this is the real deal. Nearly all of the food is locally sourced, bread is cooked in solar ovens, rainwater is collected and used for non-potable water requirements and arrays of solar panels supply some of the electricity requirements with plans for more sustainable energy sources and uses in the future.

All in all the accomodation and food were excellent and we were able to enjoy our stay at Mockingbird Hill without the guilt of feeling that it had imposed a huge drain on the local environment.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

My wife and I just returned from the Mockingbird Hill Hotel and I have to say that we had the most relaxed and peaceful vacation ever. The room overlooked the ocean and beautiful trees and plants all around the property. Although the room was not airconditioned we found that we did not need it since there were breezes and a large fan over the bed. It was the first time we fell to sleep listening to the tree frogs and bird noises with the wonderful fresh air coming from the mountains. I never slept so well. We opted for the meal plan which was great for two reasons: 1) The breakfast and dinner were gormet gormet. I felt like I was in Europe the food was so good. and 2) There are no other good resturants around especially if you don't have a car. The hotel staff are constantally cleaning and maintaining the property which made an impression that the place was immaculate. The staff and everyone are exceptionally friendly and helpful. This is good since they go to great effort to help you plan your day. The major atractions are a few minutes away by cab which they arrange for you. The best was the trip to the coffee farm high up in the Blue Mountains. The hotel made us a wonderful breakfast which we took with us and came back later in the day. The driver stoped at a certain point and then a guide takes up into the mountains for a hike. We saw at least 7 different kinds of birds. The driver stoped in Buff Bay on the way back and we had great jerk chicked and pork with the foks who live around there. Everyone seemed happy that we were visiting their community. We got so into the vacation that we actually lost track of time and forgot what day it was. The hotel has just constructed a deck above the hotel so you can watch the stars and planets in all their glory. Although Port Antonio is not as convenient to get to as the other destinations in Jamaica, it is well worth it. We could have flown into Kingston but arrived in Montego Bay and opted to charter a small plane from Timair which got us there in an hour. The cab from Kingston is 2 and1/2 hours which is also an option. On our last day we saw two green parakeets fly by the breakfast dining room which we felt was a sign of good things to come. All I can say it was really like going back in time to another era when the place, people and service were very gracious.l.. Michael and Carolyn K.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbhpot, owner at Hotel Mocking Bird Hill, responded to this review, December 11, 2009
Thank you so very much for your kind words. It was a real pleasure having you as our guests and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

The location of this Hotel is fantastic and well worh the bother of getting there. We stayed in a superior room that was worth the extra cost because of the panoramic views and extensive outdoor space. The Hotel has a delightful ambience and nothing is too much trouble for the owners and the staff. They put together an excellent package of excursions for us and we also appreciated the complimentary taxi and entry to Frenchman's Cove which has to be one of the most picturesque beaches in the world.

The Hotel is spotless and the room provided all we needed. The food is varied and imaginative but we don't have huge appetites and we did sometimes have a problem with them wanting to over feed us!! We were on the meal plan which is very generous and should we return I think we would go for room only as it would probably work out cheaper for us. If you're a hearty eater, however, the meal plan represents excellent value.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbhpot, Owner/Manager at Hotel Mocking Bird Hill, responded to this review, December 11, 2009
Thank you for your comments. We'll definitely try to make those portions smaller the next time around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

Having visited 7 Caribbean islands now we cannot recommend Hotel Mocking Bird Hill highly enough. It lies close to the unspoilt Port Antonio on the north east coast of Jamaica and, without doubt, this is one of the best small hotels we have ever stayed in. The rooms are simple but tastefully decorated and the food in the Mille Fleurs restaurant is nothing short of sensational. The breakfasts were fantastic (where else would you get 7 different types of cheese on offer alongside a fruit platter, museli, homemade yoghurt, fresh fruit juice, 5 different breads, unlimited Blue Mountain coffee or tea PLUS a cooked breakfast?) and the dinners absolutely sublime - I have never before had 8 crayfish for a main course which followed a pre starter, then a starter and was followed by a pudding and homemade sweets).
The owners are delightful as is everyone who works there. All the staff went out of their way (in an unassuming but friendly manner) to make our stay so enjoyable. Trips were organised by the owners if you so wished.
Please go and experience this non touristy and virtually crime free part of the island. There is much to do: visiting coffee plantations, rafting down the Rio Grande etc. or just relaxing on the deserted beaches - once frequented by Errol Flynn and his "entourage". If the economic climate improves, Port Antonio will probably get a "facelift" and become popular........... Go before this happens!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mocking Bird Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mocking Bird Hill

Address: Mockingbird Hill | P.O. Box 254, Port Antonio JM, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Port Antonio
#4 Romantic Hotel in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mocking Bird Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best eco boutique hotel in Port Antonio, Jamaica. Set on a hilltop on Jamaica's northeast coast between the majestic Blue Mountains and the Caribbean Sea, Hotel Mockingbird Hill is Jamaica's foremost 'green' hotel minutes from the most romantic Frenchman's Cove Beach. A tranquil, serene, sanctuary with breathtaking vistas, laid back luxury and world class cuisine, Hotel Mockingbird Hill is the ultimate, authentic Jamaican experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Mocking Bird Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mocking Bird Hill Hotel
Mocking Bird Hill Port Antonio
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill Jamaica/Port Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mocking Bird Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.