We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solitary, peaceful, eco-indulgence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mocking Bird Hill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mocking Bird Hill to your Saves list
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mockingbird Hill | P.O. Box 254, Port Antonio JM, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Port Antonio
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Solitary, peaceful, eco-indulgence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was our first visit to Jamaica - after waiting so many years for the opportunity; it was definitely worth the wait! We normally like to take self catering holidays as we normally prefer the freedom and solitude you get from these places, however after spending a week at Hotel Mockingbird i can honestly say that no other hotels we have stayed in come close to how well treated and looked after we were. Nothing is too much trouble - all you need to do is ask and Shireen, Barbara or one of their staff and they were always happy to make our stay as comfortable and relaxing as possible. After booking the 6 days for 7 deal, which was an added bonus in itself, we were pleasantly surprised to find that also included in the offer was a cooking session with Barbara and her chefs. We prepared a wonderful 3 course lunch, complete with traditional flavours and influences. If this was a feature to other hotels where the food is held in as high esteem then this would tip the scales in deciding where to go. I disagree with an earlier posters comments about it not being a hotel for birders. The six and a half acres that you are free to roam around in has a plethora of plants and wildlife to indulge anyone interested in birding and wildlife. Plus the tours offered (at an extra cost) allow for the more seasoned of the birders or twitchers among you. Our guide had extensive knowledge and experience to answer any of the questions we had whilst we were on the tours. Food was amazing and carried wonderful Jamaican and indian influences to give a flavour filled palate that always left you wanting more. The only slight criticism is the cost: we knew coming from the UK that budgets were always going to be larger for a holiday to Jamaica but it'll be a long while before we have saved up enough to visit again - which we sincerely hope to do. One final suggestion concerns transfers: Flights either land in Kingston or Montego Bay. If you are unsure on which airport to land in i'd recommend Montego Bay as, although the drive is longer than coming from Kingston, you have the opportunity to pass through a large number of the islands parishes and get the opportunity to see the diverse and varied communities set to the backdrop of a tropical climate. If you want a shorter journey then try and find flights to kingston - although we couldn't find any direct flights from the uk to kingston.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    32
    11
    12
    13
See reviews for
27
143
27
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I am a Jamaican living in Florida for the past 12 years and wanted to go back home for some rejuvenation and relaxation. I previously had heard about Mockingbird Hill and how environmental friendly the hotel is and was highly recommended to me by friends who had spent a long weekend there. Needless to say, all my expectations were met and superseded. The property is breathtaking, with views of the blue mountain surrounded by lush gardens, and chirping birds. We slept with our balcony doors open with the Caribbean breeze keeping us cool....it was like sleeping under the stars...so peaceful and relaxing. We relaxed in the garden with a bottle of wine and then enjoyed the best gourmet organic meal, ever, craftfully prepared and presented. The service and attention to detail that owners/operators, Shireen and Barbara and their staff provided to us made us feel like we were in our personal Chateau. We are already planning another trip to Mockingbird Hill, in beautiful Port Antionio for next year and will be bringing a few friends with us.

Room Tip: Deluxe Rooms are spaceous and quiet and private with spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This hotel is well published to the birdwatching world, but my experience shows this hotel to NOT be a lodge worth visiting if your interest is in birding. Over priced and over rated describes it well. If you want a luxury holiday then this is a great place, but my review is especially for birders. There is no resident bird guide, although they can set you up with one. There is no one to tell you what is around and you will receive no help from the staff. If your looking to pay a lot of money and then be asked to pay even more for a coffee with your dinner, then that shows you just how penny pinching they are.
If you are a birdwatcher then please check out the many other accommodations in the Port Antonio area as you will save money, hopefully get treated better and certainly see all the same birds.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms looked good but I was in a room by the stairs and seemed like it was under the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmbhpot, Owner at Hotel Mocking Bird Hill, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Our hotel has one economy room. It is described as our smallest room, by the pool without the views afforded by the other rooms. This is the room that this client selected. Had he selected another room he would have received it. We do not advertise a resident bird guide, but we can arrange for excellent guides on request. We know of no hotel in Jamaica with a resident bird guide.Our staff are keen to show visitors the birds if they are aware that there is this special interest and in fact our server seems to have a special relationship with our resident Jamaican Owl and has shown it to many guests who have managed to take wonderful photographs of it. The hotel can also provide a birding checklist and we have Ann Sutton's Birds of Jamaica which we are happy to lend to our birding guests on request. With regards to paying for coffee with dinner. Is it not normal to pay for what you order in a restaurant? A basket of complimentary homemade breads, flavoured butters and olive oil with dinner, an amuse bouche before dinner, this is penny pinching? I have eaten in many restaurants all over the world and have always had to pay for my after dinner coffee, so am not to sure why this guest finds this unusual.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Mocking Bird Hill is the best place to be whenever you need to destressed. A very familiar small hotel where you feel to be part of family. Excellent cuisine, excellent service. All staff is very nice to guests and help you to forget hustle and bustle. The surroundings are so beautiful that you only want to enjoy the nature.
The rooms are very comfortable and what ever you need, you can ask the staff at the front desk or the room maids. Also both owners Shireen and Barbara always makes your wishes coming true. Discovering the lovely small town Port Antonio with them is a true island experience. I enjoyed every single day of my stay

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

You must make a trip here - the hotel is set up in the tree tops surrounded by lush gardens full of birds with amazing panoramic views from the Blue Mountains sweeping down to the coastline - will take your breath away and overall provide that real escapism feel. The hotel is beautiful with carefully designed rooms and that extra special care to attention such as the daily surprise local gifts and the relaxing smell of the oil burner. You must take a wander around the gardens! The top platform provides the perfect spot for a couple to have an intimate meal with amazing views (check out photo).

As a vegan I was overwhelmed with the daily local menu that offered numerous vegan choices whether it be a breakfast full of tropical fruit, almond milk, smoothies and homemade bread or the 3-course evening meals. Each evening there were snacks and appetizers before the meal that were so creative and flavor sensations with every mouthful. All homemade with so much variety, flavor, flair and care to the exquisite food! It was my birthday and they made a special vegan birthday cake which was very tasty! Also - must check out the wine list :)

The hotel is the perfect setting to enjoy exploring Portland and only a short trip from Kingston (we live in Kingston). We enjoyed daily trips from the hotel to Frenchmans Cove, San San beach and Port Antonio.

The knowledge, insight and approach that Shireen and Barbara have in developing this wonderful hotel with its eco-friendly ethos is refreshing and wonderful to see in Jamaica. We can't wait to come back and look forward to what Shireen and Barbara have in store for us!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cane Garden Bay, null, British Virgin Islands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel is very unique and super eco friendly. Perched high in the hills everything is lush and green. Love waking up to the sound of the birds. The views are amazing! The staff was friendly and efficient. ..I have never booked a hotel without a TV before and surprisingly I didn't miss it. The restaurant was good. I did miss having air conditioning but would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montego Bay, Jamaica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

If you have opportunity to travel to port antonio then you must book yourself into Hotel Mocking Bird Hill Hotel. Located in the hills this boutique hotel has the most wonderful panoramic views that take your breath away. Rustic chic in decor with a back to nature feel you get a fabulous sense of tranquility and escapism. Extremely friendly staff to look after you and if you are a foodie then this certainly ticks that box! Fresh local and creative menus along with a great selection of wines and cocktail menu - try a Smatt's Rum Caipirinha to refresh you after an afternoon relaxing by the pool. All the ingredients for a great holiday! Can't wait to go back.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mocking Bird Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mocking Bird Hill

Address: Mockingbird Hill | P.O. Box 254, Port Antonio JM, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Port Antonio
#4 Romantic Hotel in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mocking Bird Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best eco boutique hotel in Port Antonio, Jamaica. Set on a hilltop on Jamaica's northeast coast between the majestic Blue Mountains and the Caribbean Sea, Hotel Mockingbird Hill is Jamaica's foremost 'green' hotel minutes from the most romantic Frenchman's Cove Beach. A tranquil, serene, sanctuary with breathtaking vistas, laid back luxury and world class cuisine, Hotel Mockingbird Hill is the ultimate, authentic Jamaican experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mocking Bird Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mocking Bird Hill Hotel
Mocking Bird Hill Port Antonio
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill Jamaica/Port Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mocking Bird Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.