We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to cool down and come back to the roots” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mocking Bird Hill

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mocking Bird Hill to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mocking Bird Hill | P.O. Box 254, Port Antonio, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sizzling Summer Special
Ranked #4 of 19 hotels in Port Antonio
Hannover, Germany
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to cool down and come back to the roots”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Mocking Bird Hill is the best place to be whenever you need to destressed. A very familiar small hotel where you feel to be part of family. Excellent cuisine, excellent service. All staff is very nice to guests and help you to forget hustle and bustle. The surroundings are so beautiful that you only want to enjoy the nature.
The rooms are very comfortable and what ever you need, you can ask the staff at the front desk or the room maids. Also both owners Shireen and Barbara always makes your wishes coming true. Discovering the lovely small town Port Antonio with them is a true island experience. I enjoyed every single day of my stay

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    203
    32
    10
    11
    13
See reviews for
21
133
25
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Jamaica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

You must make a trip here - the hotel is set up in the tree tops surrounded by lush gardens full of birds with amazing panoramic views from the Blue Mountains sweeping down to the coastline - will take your breath away and overall provide that real escapism feel. The hotel is beautiful with carefully designed rooms and that extra special care to attention such as the daily surprise local gifts and the relaxing smell of the oil burner. You must take a wander around the gardens! The top platform provides the perfect spot for a couple to have an intimate meal with amazing views (check out photo).

As a vegan I was overwhelmed with the daily local menu that offered numerous vegan choices whether it be a breakfast full of tropical fruit, almond milk, smoothies and homemade bread or the 3-course evening meals. Each evening there were snacks and appetizers before the meal that were so creative and flavor sensations with every mouthful. All homemade with so much variety, flavor, flair and care to the exquisite food! It was my birthday and they made a special vegan birthday cake which was very tasty! Also - must check out the wine list :)

The hotel is the perfect setting to enjoy exploring Portland and only a short trip from Kingston (we live in Kingston). We enjoyed daily trips from the hotel to Frenchmans Cove, San San beach and Port Antonio.

The knowledge, insight and approach that Shireen and Barbara have in developing this wonderful hotel with its eco-friendly ethos is refreshing and wonderful to see in Jamaica. We can't wait to come back and look forward to what Shireen and Barbara have in store for us!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cane Garden Bay, null, British Virgin Islands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel is very unique and super eco friendly. Perched high in the hills everything is lush and green. Love waking up to the sound of the birds. The views are amazing! The staff was friendly and efficient. ..I have never booked a hotel without a TV before and surprisingly I didn't miss it. The restaurant was good. I did miss having air conditioning but would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montego Bay, Jamaica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

If you have opportunity to travel to port antonio then you must book yourself into Hotel Mocking Bird Hill Hotel. Located in the hills this boutique hotel has the most wonderful panoramic views that take your breath away. Rustic chic in decor with a back to nature feel you get a fabulous sense of tranquility and escapism. Extremely friendly staff to look after you and if you are a foodie then this certainly ticks that box! Fresh local and creative menus along with a great selection of wines and cocktail menu - try a Smatt's Rum Caipirinha to refresh you after an afternoon relaxing by the pool. All the ingredients for a great holiday! Can't wait to go back.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I highly recommend that wunderful place for all who like it individual. It is a small Hotel with 10 rooms and all furnished individually. It is placed at a hill with beautiful view and nice Pool. We had breakfirst and dinner which was both delicious and prepared with local Ingredients . The Service is excellent .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We chose Portland as our destination in Jamaica because of the promises in our different travel guides to experience the 'real' Jamaica. As this was our first trip to the island, we didn't really know what to expect. Our internal images of Jamaica were quite diffuse: sunshine, reggae, some nice beaches... Our expectations with regards to the island and to the hospitality of people in general and especially the staff of the Hotel Mockingbird Hill surpassed our expectations in all aspects.

Taking a taxi from the Kingston airport to Port Antonio already gave us the possibility to admire the natural beauty and richness of fauna & flora of the Blue Mountains area. We could best describe the nature as of the tropical jungle, but without the dangerous animals or plants. Everywhere you can see green hills of forests, palm trees and other exotic plants, interrupted by small villages with colourful sheds of local people, good-looking and relaxed people walking and chatting in the streets, the smell of jerk meat in the air, the sounds of local music and beautiful almost empty sandy beaches with turquoise blue water.

We didn't find any signs of mass tourism and this was a significant relief fafter the 5 days in busy and touristy French Quarter of New Orleans, where we had spent the previous week. The contrast between this loud, cheap and artificial character of the centre of New Orleans and this purely natural, unspoilt and relaxed amosphere of Portland couldn't have been bigger and this was exactly what we had been looking for.

We have travelled a lot all over the world and consider ourselves individual tourists looking for adventures and trying to soak up as much as possible into the country's culture, cuisine and lifestyle, but at the same time we don't want to miss a bit of luxury and retreat as for the accommodation on our holidays.

The Mockingbird Hill Hotel offered us the perfect mix of all this. It is located on top of a hill all covered by greens and gardens of fruit (which later land on your breakfast plate!), with loads of rare species of birds (you can even observe hummingbirds sittinng on the balcony!) and butterflies, all this giving a bit of a 'jungle safari' experience. The view from the balconies is just breathtaking - you can see endless ocean on one side and eminent Blue Mountains on the other. The constantly changing sunlight gives the chance to experience completely differently-coloured landscapes.

The hotel itself is very pleasantly arranged, wigth well chosen and tasteful colonial style furniture (and also everything is 100% of natural materials!), a nice pool, quiet rooms and within a walking distance from a beautiful beach called Frenchmen's Cove (and the hotel provides free shuttle to the beach back and forth!). But you definitely reccomend also other beaches around (Winnifred Beach, San San, Boston Bay), as each of them has its own character and we can assure you, that if you have ever wondered if beaches from the holiday brochures really exist, the Portland beaches are the proof that yes!

The staff of the hotel is well trained, respectful and very friendly. Anton, who seemed to have all qualifications - from the watier to the tourist guide ;) fulfilled all our wishes before we could even pronounce them. The food, whish is always one of the main reasons for our travels, was more than delicious and the most amazing part was that almost all the ingredients came from the hotel's garden or from the local suppliers, giving some of the poor locals a chance to make their living (therefore it was the first fair trade hotel we've ever been to!).

The owners explained to us the aspects of their eco-friendly business model and we could experience it ourselves - they live according to this philosophy in 100%, running the hotel not only to make money, but also to make a difference and contribute to the world.

All in all, one of the best holidays ever spent in a perfect place.

PS. We had read a few stories (Internet) about the risks of being robbed in Jamaica. We met a lot of people every day and night (in the streets, on the beaches, in local bars) but at no time were we under the impression of needing to be more cautious than in any South European town! In fact, they were one of the friendliest people we had the chance to meet during our travels - very open and cheerful and usually very eager to help and give tips.

Ya man!

Room Tip: we had a room with garden view from a nice balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

While we did not stay at this property (though we wish we had! we were visiting from Ocho Rios). We spent a lovely afternoon lazing about admiring the beautiful tropical gardens while soaking up the beautiful vistas on the terrace at Mocking Bird Hill.

We heard rave reviews about the food (& environs) from friends who have stayed there (#10 I hear is the place to stay), but nothing compares to experiencing it yourself!

Oh it was absolutely wonderful! Fresh baked breads such as pita bread & baguettes, freshly prepared food seasoned with real herbs and spices (veggies & herbs grown in their own back yard!) A gastronomic delight! You cannot go wrong with anything chosen on the menu and the best thing is it's never the same thing every day...unless you request something simply because it was too scrumptious to only have once!

We feasted, and enjoyed bottle after bottle of exquisite wines from Sicily, Switzerland and Italy (yes we had quite a bit!), some we weren't familiar with as they were from smaller vineyards but were highly recommended by their staff and again - you simply can't go wrong!

Special thanks to Inn keepers Barbara & Shireen and their staff (Kerri & Antwon in particular) who were very warm, attentive & entertaining.

We'll be back soon and this time we're staying for at least a week! :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Mocking Bird Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mocking Bird Hill

Address: Mocking Bird Hill | P.O. Box 254, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Port Antonio
#4 Family Hotel in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mocking Bird Hill 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jamaica’s Hotel Mocking Bird Hill is a romantic 10-room, eco-chic hideaway with Wi-Fi nestled in 6½ acres of lush organic tropical gardens and trees on a hillside outside Port Antonio.It offers its guests a unique environmentally-friendly setting providing intimate luxury boutique accommodation at a moderate price.This Port Antonio hotel is close to both town and beach and only a short drive from the waterfalls, forests & botanical gardens that distinguishes the North-East coast of Jamaica.With its many personal flourishes and original artwork, this informal laid back hotel in Jamaica combines a contemporary, relaxed atmosphere withan old fashioned traditional charm that instantly allows guests to feel at ease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Mocking Bird Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mocking Bird Hill Hotel
Mocking Bird Hill Port Antonio
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill Jamaica/Port Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mocking Bird Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.