We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Green in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mocking Bird Hill

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mocking Bird Hill to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mocking Bird Hill | P.O. Box 254, Port Antonio, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sizzling Summer Special
Ranked #4 of 19 hotels in Port Antonio
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Green in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I went to Hotel Mocking Bird Hill because it's eco-friendly, but that's not the only reason to stay at this fabulous boutique hotel. Here are some other reasons:
1. Fantastic, well-prepared, local fresh food
2. Comfy rooms with awesome views of the garden and ocean
3. Wonderful pool
4
. Deck for watching amazing sunsets
5. Easy access to beautiful, quiet beaches
6. The chance to explore REAL Jamaica that's not packed with cruise-ship daytrippers
7. Tropical bird-watching
8. Just the right amount of luxury without being stuffy
9. Really nice staff and hotel owners

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    203
    32
    10
    11
    13
See reviews for
21
133
25
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Castries, St. Lucia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

ABSOLUTELY beautiful sunsets! The view and the gardens are unspoilt and worth a visit for sure! The rooms were clean & bright and mosquito protection offered (nets, candles) was effective. The rooms are WARM tho, even for a Caribbean girl like me :). I was fine, my husband suffered with only a ceiling fan, over the mosquito net. We had shutters and kept them open even when it rained!
We found the food quite tasty, and creative. The service was very very slow.... despite ordering one hour before sitting for dinner, it would still be another hour before we were served the main course. The mini-courses in-between were lovely, but I was hungry (and cross) by the time the actual meal came.
OVERALL, it is a comfortable laid-back atmosphere, tasty meals in an eco-friendly environment (PLUS PLUS) but a little too pricey for what is offered.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

If you are looking for a stay in beautiful surroundings, with an informal relaxing atmosphere, excellent cuisine, and professional warm-hearted staff; Hotel Mocking Bird Hill is the place for you! My girlfriend and I spent 4 nights here this July, and had a wonderful time. Shireen and Barbara have created a truly special and inspiring concept on several levels; First, they have made a warm and homey atmosphere, which gives you the sensation of being welcome into something more than a hotel. Second, they have a strong eco-friendly profile, and strive to use local merchants and goods. Third, Shireen and Barabara, and their staff, are highly service-minded and truly wish that you have a great stay, and are more than willing to help you out with organizing trips and tours - even drive and pick you up at the beach for free! I would highly recommend a stay here both for families and couples!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I've visited Port Antonio before, but this was my first stay at Mocking Bird Hill. I'd wanted a relaxing mini break and couldn't have picked anywhere more ideal.

The 2hr taxi ride from Kingston was straightforward with breathtaking scenery en route. I liked the hotel as soon as I saw it - it's fresh, airy and open, with verandas and terraces and an enormous garden.

I was immediately made to feel welcome and was surprised by the very generous size of my room. The decor was quietly chic and stylish and I had my own balcony overlooking the garden. Everything in the hotel was spotlessly clean.

I'd intended to eat out but, after having dinner at the hotel on the first evening, I ended up eating there throughout my three night stay. Food was served on the restaurant terrace - which has breathtaking views over the mountains and the sea - and the chef uses fresh, local produce. On my last night I had the best crayfish I've ever tasted.

On my arrival I was given a helpful booklet with information about the hotel, local trips to places such as the Blue Lagoon, taxi prices, best beaches etc. The owners, Barbara and Shireen, and the staff were always helpful if I was unsure about anything.

The hotel organises a free 5 minute taxi ride to the closest beach - Frenchman's Cove - one of the most exquisite spots I've ever seen. Rather than go by taxi, I decided to walk there, which was straightforward and took about 20/25 minutes. It took me through the little hamlet of Drapers San which is really friendly and has a selection of small local shops and bars and a restaurant.

The main town, Port Antonio, is only a 15 minute taxi ride away. It's charmingly unspoilt and laid-back and has an interesting market to look around.

I made good use of the hotel swimming pool, and of the cool, luscious gardens. I enjoyed Barbara's stone sculptures which are very discreetly positioned in the garden, and there is a separate gallery containing her artworks next to the hotel.

I was particularly taken by the owners' genuine commitment to the environment and to the local
community, including supporting a local school. This isn't just superficial - the hotel was designed to be energy-efficient and the garden is a sanctuary for birds and other wildlife. I felt good about staying there and will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

All on a five, would be impossible! No ganja smoking allowed! Perfect place fi hide, nice view, good food, no patois ( i love patois) again very good food not the real jamaican food, worldfood in michellin style

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

From the moment we arrived, inn owners Shireen and Barbara and their warm and very professional staff signaled we were in store for days of pampering and relaxation. The breathtaking views, impeccable tropical forested gardens, top notch service, commitment to green business (and local sourcing), engaging eco-tours, and can't say enough about the sumptuous and wonderfully creative meals offered daily -- all this made for a truly memorable, restful vacation and a venue we highly recommend and look forward to returning to.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

It is the second time we go to Mocking Bird Hill and the experience has been, once again, wonderful.

The staff is efficient, makes a special effort to accommodate our requests, but most of all they are very welcoming and make you feel special. The owner takes time to discuss with you what best corresponds to your wishes.

Our stay was punctuated by nice attentions, like offering to serve us coffee at the swimming pool when we were having a swim at 7am, preparing an extra plate of fruits for our 2 year old, leaving a small gift every day in our room, offering to organize various activities, offering a complimentary drink on the beautiful terrace overlooking the hill when you arrive, etc.

The rooms are cute, very clean, spacious and personal. We immediately felt at home on the entire property. Everything is beautifully decorated, with magnificent bouquets of fresh exotic flowers put on your table every day. There are various 'hidden' spots on the property and in the luxuriant garden where you have the feeling to be completely alone.

But what we most liked was the commitment the owners have made to preserve the environment (solar panes are installed on the roof, the food is local and organic, they offer 2 vegetarian course per night, plus the meatless Mondays), to help the local community (products are made by local people, they support a local school, a reforestation projects, etc.)

It is indeed generally pretty expensive, but the economy room is much cheaper (and still very nice) and the meals cost the same as in Kingston, but are of a much much higher quality!

It is a worthwhile touristic and human experience!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Mocking Bird Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mocking Bird Hill

Address: Mocking Bird Hill | P.O. Box 254, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Port Antonio
#4 Romantic Hotel in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mocking Bird Hill 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jamaica’s Hotel Mocking Bird Hill is a romantic 10-room, eco-chic hideaway with Wi-Fi nestled in 6½ acres of lush organic tropical gardens and trees on a hillside outside Port Antonio.It offers its guests a unique environmentally-friendly setting providing intimate luxury boutique accommodation at a moderate price.This Port Antonio hotel is close to both town and beach and only a short drive from the waterfalls, forests & botanical gardens that distinguishes the North-East coast of Jamaica.With its many personal flourishes and original artwork, this informal laid back hotel in Jamaica combines a contemporary, relaxed atmosphere withan old fashioned traditional charm that instantly allows guests to feel at ease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Mocking Bird Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mocking Bird Hill Hotel
Mocking Bird Hill Port Antonio
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill Jamaica/Port Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mocking Bird Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.