We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and peaceful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Grande

Rio Grande
Port Antonio, Jamaica
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 17 attractions in Port Antonio
Type: Bodies of Water
Attraction Details
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice and peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

A very nice and peaceful experience. Also recommend the lunch, some of the best food we had in Jamaica. I can warmly recommend Albert as a guide, he was very insightful and treated us excellent. We got hold of him through the Ivanhoe's hotel.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    31
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alameda, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Rafting on Rio Grande”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Very skilled raft captains and stopped for food at a location on the journey for some great food cooked over wood fires.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Relaxing rafting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

A very relaxing way to spend a few hours. Think white water rafting and then think of the opposite. You are on a bamboo raft being 'punted' along and steered and gently travel down the river. There are a couple of tiny rapids, but nothing to be of concern if you are worried. We stopped half way down for some great local food as well. I'd recommend the trip.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“A relaxing float trip!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Rafting on the Rio Grande is a very unique experience. The Rio is situated in the Blue Mountains, which provide a gorgeous back drop. Our Captain was very friendly and eager to share his knowledge of the river and its history. There is a stop along they way where you can buy food along the river and take a dip in the water to cool off. We learned from our captain that during the full moon, they run raft trips at night when the "moonshine" lights the way -- we wish we had known that earlier so we could try it out.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Really fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Wow, this is really breathtaking and fun to do, a must when visiting Port Antonio. The guides are very cheerful and know how to interact with you.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rio Grande also viewed

Port Antonio, Portland Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 

Been to Rio Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.