We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to spend the morning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Grande

Rio Grande
Port Antonio, Jamaica
Improve this listing
Visit Rio Grande like an insider
Top Rated
$137*
and up
Frenchman's Cove, Blue Lagoon and Rio Grande Day...
Attraction details
Missoula
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great way to spend the morning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We arranged a last minute float through Carla Gulotta at Drapers San, where we were staying. One of the highlights of our stay in the region. Beautiful river and scenery, and a very original way of floating down the river. Harvey was our captain and if you get a chance to float with him, we would highly recommend it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    42
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Informative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

As our raft captain said, you get out of this trip what you put into it, he wanted us to ask him questions which he gladly answered. The water is fairly low in January so the trip takes about 2.5 hours but it did not seem that long with the relaxing ride and interesting conversation. My husband did some polling, for both the experience and since his bum was asleep!!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Bamboo Rafting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I waited years to go on a bamboo raft in Jamaica, even though I had the opportunity to go many times. I always wanted to wait to try it on the Rio Grande. It was relaxing & beautiful, although the water was somewhat murky, since we were there shortly after hurricane Sandy.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Yor
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“little boring but romantic and cool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

not my favorite thing to do in jamacia, but if you are going as a couple and have a few hrs, its something cool to do

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery, pristine river”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This was the finest activity we did in Jamaica. Our Captain, Wayne, was knowledgeable & extremely competent. Our safety was his first priority.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rio Grande also viewed

Port Antonio, Portland Parish
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Rio Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.