We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What exactly IS a full-house?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Woody's Low Bridge Place

Woody's Low Bridge Place
East of Port Antonio, on the main road. | Between Trident Castle and Frenchman's Cove, Port Antonio, Jamaica
1 876 993 7888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 37 Restaurants in Port Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“What exactly IS a full-house?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

It wouldn’t surprise me if Woody’s full-house burger is the best burger in Jamaica. It is a _Jamaican_ burger – if you want a burger exactly like an American burger, then this won’t be it – for example, the full-house burger includes fried plantains. Also, be aware it’s not an American-sized burger; or rather it’s an original-sized American burger, before everything in the US got stupidly super-sized. However, it is a delicious burger (and the fried plantains really work). Note: There are other burgers on the menu too, including veggie burgers.

The shoestring fries are also quite perfect.

There is a full bar. If you haven’t tried an Appleton & Ting, ask Mr. Woody to fix you one, as he did for my husband. Mr. Woody’s homemade (non- alcoholic) ginger beer is awesome – that’s what I chose. Enjoy it as an aperitif or as palate-cleanser after – it deserves to be appreciated on its own.

Two things prevent me from giving this establishment five stars: (i) We weren’t sure of the opening times; we’d driven past on a Sunday lunchtime and found it closed. [Mr. Woody, if you’re reading this, please would you include a phone number so that next time we can telephone ahead to confirm your open hours.] (ii) More patrons: we had a very nice meal but it would have been fun if more tables had been occupied.

Mr. Woody is a very gracious host. We enjoyed chatting with him. He told us why it’s called the "Low Bridge" place. I won’t tell you here. Stop by, enjoy a burger, and ask Mr. Woody for yourself.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    33
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cayman
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“amazing surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We were finishing our tour and were looking for some nice local vegetarian place. Asked some locals by the road and they recommended Woddy's.It's a very small place but the the owner Cherry and Woddy have a big heart. After a few minutes spent there we felt like we've known them forever and Ms Cherry is like a mom who brings to table homemade delicious food. We tried some of her rum punches made of fresh fruit. And I had plantain burger yammy. My friend who is vegetarian ordered veggie burger and after a couple bites she ordered one more saying thats the best veggie burger she ever had. And she really has been around. We also wanted to try some ackee and saltfish and Ms Cherry promised us some for next morning. My friend couldnt resist and also ordered two other veggie burgers for the next day to go.
Woody's It's a little hidden treasure with amazing people. It's a must to try

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providenciales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“More than burgers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We picked up some takeaway veggie burgers and fries for a quick meal on our first night. The burgers were good but if you want a real treat then call the night before or the morning of and ask them to prepare you a special meal with your choice of beef, chicken, pork or fish, depending on what is available. We did this on our last night and it was the best meal of our trip! Cherry cooked us an excellent 3 course meal of vegetable soup, Mahi Mahi in coconut sauce with all the trimmings (coleslaw, plantain, fesitivals, rice & veggies) and coconut cake for dessert. After dinner we had a beer and chat with Woody who serenaded us with a couple of songs! Great place and Woody & Cherry are a lovely couple.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great quick fix burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stopped here for lunch one day as we really wanted a cheeseburger. Pleasantly surprised that what we got was a Jamaican style burger with plantains, de·li·cious! Our portions were not very large, but it didn't matter because this place is great value too. We went back to kitchen and ordered a second round of burgers and fries!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portmore, Jamaica
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wow! the best burgers ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This place looks so 'simple' you would never guess that the burgers are so great. I would recommend the blended fruit punch. The homemade ginger beer is great too (if you can stand that much ginger.) lol The place is clean, well-kept with funny signs all around. What a great little place!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woody's Low Bridge Place also viewed

Port Antonio, Portland Parish
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 

Been to Woody's Low Bridge Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woody's Low Bridge Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.