We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Survival Beach Restaurant

Survival Beach Restaurant
24 Allan Ave, Port Antonio, Jamaica
384 4730
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 31 Restaurants in Port Antonio
Restaurant details
West Coast
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We went to this restaurant because we read about it in a travel guide. There were three of went to lunch, but they only brought food for two of us. Yet they charged us for at least three of us. The food was very good, but the man who was smoking marijuana close to our table was very distracting. It was too bad because we enjoyed the food, but we would not recommend this restaurant to others unless you don't mind not getting what you ordered, being overcharged, and inhaling second-hand marijuana smoke.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Awesome Ital Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This was a great place for home-cooked ital (vegetarian/vegan) food. There's no menu, but the chef threw together what he had on hand (and said he tries to prepare different meals each night). It was a nice-sized portion of food and inexpensive, and the tables sit right on the beach. There's no beer or alcohol at Survival Beach Restaurant, but Wi Yard Anna Banana is right next door. We also enjoyed the walk to this place.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Non-touristy delicious local food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I saw a review for someone who clearly wanted neat tables and perfect servingware. Non-relevant for this wonderful place by the sea. We love Oliver's cooking and we call ahead to make sure he is ready with enough food for our little group. For people who want the local ital experience, go to Survival Beach!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
“Beware - No menu/prices, with stray dogs and ganja smokers - but with a nerve to charge more than Anna Banana!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Being vegetarians, we wanted to like the place. The place is a shack - in fact, shack is an understatement and even the daredevil would not try dinner at this joint. Probably the worst environment to eat, even by a 3rd world country standards. The 'decor' was a little scary, but I convinced the wife and kids to be adventurous at least when it's bright outside. So we went for lunch.

I should have been cautious when I actually didn't see the menu with prices. But the nice rasta guy, who was the owner and chef was eager to cook up a good meal for us and we agreed to sit. I was there in Port Antonio for 3 days and we were probably the only folks who ate there.

We wanted to eat some plantain, and the guy said 'no problem mon' and said he will cook a good meal for all of us. The food itself was not bad. It was not hot and I can't imagine them actually cook in a tin room 6'x6'.

There were stray dogs around our table and the beach behind this restaurant was an open latrine. There was an elderly guy smoking weed the whole time we were at the place.

In spite of all this - to top it all off, I got a sticker shock when I saw the bill. It was more than the price we paid for a dinner for 4 at Anna Banana next door. What a ripoff! Read my review of Anna Banana - I would have eaten there EVERYDAY instead of trying other joints in Port Antonio.

Port Antonio itself does not have many places to eat -- be safe and stick with Anna Banana

How is this dump even on tripadvisor?

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“such a rip off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The place was a dump-cracked and dirty plastic tables and chairs were the only seating available at this run down shack. He was such a cheat. He just randomly came up with the price only during payment. They didn't have a menu, either. He says he will make anything for you. The food was terrible and the people were very rude. Gave us plastic spoons, forks, and knives instead of normal silverware. After all that, they actually had the nerve to demand $37.50 USD for the meal. Hole in the wall compared to the place next door, Anna Banana, which only charged us half the price for ten times the quality. Even refused to give us plantain.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Survival Beach Restaurant also viewed

Port Antonio, Portland Parish
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 

Been to Survival Beach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Survival Beach Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.