We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wi Yard Anna Banana

Wi Yard Anna Banana
7 Folly Road, Port Antonio, Jamaica
876-715-6533
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 29 restaurants in Port Antonio
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Kingston, Jamaica
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Ana is right by the sea The food here was good - pricey in some instances. The staff is quite courteous and pleasant. The live band playing every night added to the great atmosphere of the placel. There were things that were shown on the menu but when ordered they said they didnt have it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

56% Recommend
    33
    37
    32
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bahia Del Sol, El Salvador
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good Local Food and Great Live Music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I went here with some friends for dinner and had a wonderful dinner and live music experience. The seafood is dependably good and the music, (mainly reggae), was head-bobbing good.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Relaxed beach bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We have visited the restaurant durin a rather quiet period in May. The Anna Banana offers a wide range of what we would call "bar food" in a very nice atmosphere, we have seen mainly locals coming to eat here which is always a good sign.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great place for dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is one of the "nice" restaurants in port antonio, and with that said not very expensive ($10-12US for vegetarian dinners). It's right on the beach, so really pretty views. Service was good, we loved our food (good options for vegetarians). We went back another night for a "concert" which in our opinion wasn't that good/kind of cheesy low quality muiscally but still a nice setting.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montego Bay, Jamaica
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Good seafood, mediocre sides.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We had escoveiched fish which was large, well prepared and tasty but the rice and peas which came along with it was tasteless and cold. My brother had steamed vegetables with his fish and was disappointed with the quantity and the taste I tasted it and it was tasteless. The restaurant is well located just out of town and caters to locals and tourists. Our waiter tried but needed better training as he could barely function. Unfortunately the restaurant uses imported frozen fish which despite a good try by the chef will never match the taste and texture of fish caught in Jamaican waters and freshly delivered and prepared. For the price of a meal at this restaurant they need to provide a better product.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wi Yard Anna Banana also viewed

Port Antonio, Portland Parish
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 

Been to Wi Yard Anna Banana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wi Yard Anna Banana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.