We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ah Paradise Found!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Geejam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Geejam to your Saves list
Geejam
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   San San Po Box 7312 Drapers | West Indies, Port Antonio, Jamaica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Port Antonio
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ah Paradise Found!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Geejam is a tranquil paradise located in laid back Port Antonio, Jamaica. We arrive on June 26 and are leaving July 4, reluctantly. If you want to find an uncommercialized, luxurious hideout, this is the place.

We came here so my boyfriend could record in the amazing Geejam Studio. We stayed in the amazing Drum and Bass room just below. I can't imagine a better place to work! Dale the producer is amazing. He arranged the entire production process and the music that was created is of the highest quality.

In addition to recording, I enjoyed our balcony which overlooks the sea, the private hottub and the quiet environment. The food at the bushbar is healthy and tasty, and we had breakfast and lunch delivered to our room every day.

The rooms are clean and beautiful. All of the staff is kind and goes out of their way to please. Nick our driver took us around and we had a great time buying Jerk, visiting the Castle (an amazing property now managed by the Trident Group) and drinking local coconut water.

The villas are all set on a hillside in the lush vegetatation-the views to the sea are amazing.

If you are seeking peace, privacy and a tailored experience, this is for you. Steve the co-owner made us feel like we were guests in his luxurious private home- what more could you ask for?

Room Tip: Drum and Bass is incredible, with a large balcony overlooking the sea- fantastic because the studio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    9
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
44
173
10
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Cayman
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Currently waiting in Kingston airport for our flight after a fabulous long weekend in Geejam. I can't recommend this place highly enough and we are already planning our return trip in November. We stayed in the Mento "hut" which was perfect - the room was beautiful, lots of white draping and dark wood, Apple TV pre-loaded with lots of movies and great music, a stunning bathroom with an oversized shower and a large balcony with a hugely comfortable double lounger, hot tub and hammock. Each of the rooms are set in their own private space in the rainforest for maximum privacy, we couldn't see any other rooms from our balcony, just the beautiful view over the bay. As one reviewer noted, the bedroom itself is small but really that is just the room for sleeping, the living area is the balcony where you'll spend your time if you are hanging out in the room. I'm also not sure why one reviewer thought the rooms were old, ours felt like it was brand new - ten times nicer than our room at home!
The atmosphere in Geejam is really unique, very chilled out and friendly with great mellow tunes playing from the Bushbar to give the perfect soundtrack to your holiday. The service is incredible, the staff are so friendly and manage to make you feel completely at home and well looked after without ever being overbearing or intrusive. The food is very good, particularly the seafood, (and food is a big deciding factor for us on whether we like a place), but please be reasonable and don't come expecting a mind blowing culinary experience - it's not San Fran! Huge thanks to Jason, Teddy and Nigel for making our rainy days and evenings in the Bushbar so enjoyable!
Port Antonio and the surrounding area is spectacular, chill out on Geejam beach which is a perfect private little cove for hotel guests only, go rafting on the Rio Grande and take in some jerk at Boston Bay (the chicken and sausage at Little David's jerk shack down the end is great). Geejam have drivers to take you wherever you want and who will bring you on a few detours along the way to show you all the pretty spots in Port Antonio (thank you Bentley and Nick!). To try to sum up, Geejam have managed to create a very special and luxurious place without losing the Jamaican vibe.
I should also say that we stopped into the newly reopened Trident (Geejam's swanky big sister hotel) last night for dinner and were blown away. Trident is better than anything I've seen in Miami and for those looking for seaside luxury rather than hilltop retreat, think about staying here rather than Geejam (or even better split your time between the two!). Trident is going to put Port Antonio on the map for the A listers again so get in quick before the prices go up at the end of the year!

Room Tip: We loved Mento. We also saw the living and pool area of the 3 bedroom villa which looked stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Le must de notre séjour en Jamaïque! . Even if you have travelled a lot and in luxuous places, you can't find such a preserved, confortable , costibié chic hôtel in the luxurious nature.The place is wonderful and incomparable as the recording studio gives you the feeling of being a reggae star , the cottages are top and view on the bay is amazing. Port Antonio has many natural treasures that Geejam's team will help you discover: ask Lloyd for rafting on the Rio grande river, you explore the wonderful area on a confortable bambou raft and let your guide rowing for you, UNFORGETTABLE !llast but not least, ask Khaly as driver: he is just top and you will understand how wise the Jamaican peuple is.

Room Tip: Drummond and bass suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We have just returned from Geejam where we got Married. It was everything we had dreamed of and more. The staff were wonderful, nothing was too much trouble. A totally relaxed vibe throughout the hotel, we stayed in Drum and Bass and loved the privacy/tranquility of the room and the views were spectacular. From the drivers, servers, bar staff, cleaners, gardeners to guest services everyone was focused on providing us with the best experience . A special mention goes to Shevanise our wedding co-ordinator and Mary-Anne the Spa Manager who both ensured we had a day to remember and that everything ran smootly, they made us feel so special. When we did have any small problems and we spoke to Keneisha, the guest services manager she dealt with it flawlessly, going over and above to ensure it was resolved and that we were happy. The food was excellent, we ate in Geeham and Trident lunch and dinner each day and although it is a little pricey in no way distracted from the experience. I read a previous comment from a review that the menu was limited and although at first seeing the menu you make think this, the staff offer to adapt dishes and arrange any requests. The chef in both restaurants prepared options for us on a number of occasions that weren't included on the menu. Travellers should bear in mind that it is a 2.5 hr drive from Kingston airport and should consider the helicopter if they have an early departure time. We will remember this hotel with fond memories and plan to return next year.

Room Tip: Drum and Bass was exquisite. Private with spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights and loved it! We stayed in a room called Rocksteady and had a stunning view over the lush jungle of the sun rising over the sea, we woke up at sunrise every morning to watch it from our bed.

Geejam is extremely chilled out and private, so if you want to escape and relax in a stunning natural space we really recommend it. Unlike the last review we found the staff great, they couldn't do enough for us. We found using the mobile to ask for things and for info really convenient and obviously had a very different experience to the last reviewer. Any little issues we had were sorted out straight away. The vibe is super cool, we grabbed some of their reggae playlists and one of the barstaff even burnt us a CD.

The Geejam drivers will take you to some local beaches for free but other trips are charged. If you want a more interesting time try hailing a cab on the street. Look for the red number plates, they are licensed taxis and you get to meet some really interesting locals that way - it's a lot cheaper too.

Frenchmans Cove is a gorgeous private beach, the food the takes ages but its really good and pretty cheap too, it's 10 mins walk or a quick ride from the hotel. And we have to mention Woody's too, a local gem. Home made burgers that are out of this world and the loveliest people, again just 10 mins from Geejam.

We had an amazing stay...
Geejam rocks. We to go back soon!

Room Tip: We stayed in rocksteady- awesome views and a great view of the sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I made a return trip to Geejam with my family to celebrate my 50th birthday at the place that I have so far enjoyed best in all my travels. It really is a unique vibe set on a hillside amongst the rain forest overlooking a private beach with my favourite swimming place in the beautifully warm & blue Caribbean sea.
We stayed in Sanwood a three bedroom villa, with its own private pool a minutes walk through the lush vegetation to the Bushbar where the staff were not only friendly and engaging but a Geejam Team Member organised our daily excursions with our own driver every morning at breakfast after I had worked out in the gym with my two sons and enjoyed a stretch session. There is so much to do locally, we went rafting on the Rio Grande, had Jerk at Boston Bay,went to the marina and local market in Port Antonio as well as chilled on the decadent red four poster double beds on the Geejam Beach - where else would you find these and a full length mirror on a beach?
We thoroughly enjoyed the Spicy Lobster Pasta at The Bushbar whilst watching the in-house Mento band, The Jolly Boys on my birthday. The staff went the extra mile which really made it a special evening in a special place.
They have have just opened another hotel The Trident which has a totally different vibe, being a more elegant seafront hotel, still with the friendly engaging staff. Again we had another incredible night at Mike's Supper Club whilst being entertained by the in house Jazz band.
Geejam is unique, it's informal relaxed vibe may not be for everybody, it's not cheap, but worth every penny.

Room Tip: Sanwood is ideal for families with three double bedrooms and its own pool whilst the cabins are more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed 10 fantastic nights at Geejam for our honeymoon. We flew from the UK to Montego Bay, then took the private charter to Ken Jones Aerodrome which was a great experience in itself. We stayed in Ska cabin, which had fantastic views over the rainforest to the sea, and across to Port Antonio.

All staff at Geejam were phenomenal. From the housekeepers who kept our room absolutely immaculate, to all the guys at the Bushbar, the fantastic drivers and the owners themselves, we were made to feel very welcome.

There were many activities on offer, but equally we found the surroundings of our cabin so nice it was great to spend time in the hot-tub and relaxing at Bushbar. The tour of Port Antonio with Bentley was a highlight, and we loved spending time at Frenchman's Cove and at the private Geejam Beach, as well as a memorable rafting trip on the Rio Grande.

A definite benefit was having use of the facilities at the immaculate Trident Hotel, including another fantastic bar, spa and some great nights at the restaurant enjoying fantastic sushi whilst listening to the resident jazz musicians.

Lasting memory - the Jolly Boys - COMING STRAIGHT INTO YOUR FACE!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Geejam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geejam

Address: San San Po Box 7312 Drapers | West Indies, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Port Antonio
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port Antonio
#3 Romantic Hotel in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Geejam 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Geejam, an insider escape, is located in San San, close to Port Antonio, in the parish of Portland, on the pristine shores of north-east Jamaica. Achieving a stylish equilibrium between ultra modern technology and the intrinsic grace of the natural island landscape makes this the Geejam signature trademark. The property features seven double rooms, a state of the art Recording Studio, Healing Spa, Swimming Pool (Sanwood only), Gym and the Bushbar, forming an exclusive universe within the natural beauty of the grounds, which stretch down to its own private beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Geejam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geejam Port Antonio
Geejam Hotel Port Antonio
Geejam Jamaica/Port Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Geejam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.