We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visited on a rainy day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Reach Falls

Reach Falls
East of Port Antonio, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 Attractions in Port Antonio
Type: Waterfalls, Outdoors
Attraction details
Panama City, Panama
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Visited on a rainy day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We arrived at Reach Falls on a cloudy day and it rained when we were down by the river..it's quite tranquil area and lots of plants and birds.besides another couple we're the only tourists visiting..business is way down in Jamaica..

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    31
    8
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“paradise in the jungle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

the little falls, the pools, the swimming, the jumping of the falls. Don't take the touristic route, but ask a local guide!!!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Off-the-Beaten-Path Trek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Ok so apparently there are two ways to see Reach (Reich) Falls: one is to take a car to the entrance of the government - run park, and the other is to hike from below, through a series of gorgeous, Eden-like forested pools with a guide.

We were staying at Great Huts and saw an advertisement for Leonard, a local guide, who would take us to the Falls for $5. Great Huts contacted him for us and made the arrangements. We took a route taxi to Reach Junction, then a private taxi toward the Falls, and met up with him. We were prepared for the former experience mentioned above and had sturdy hiking shoes and a pack of supplies. Leonard told us to take off our shoes and give him everything we didn't want to get wet - at this point we realized that we would be hiking through the pools and small falls below Reach Falls to get to the ultimate destination, not hiking on trails to the state park.

We spent the next few hours wading, climbing, swimming, sunning our way up a series of small falls to reach Reach. Funnily enough, arriving at Reach (which we saw from below but did not approach) was almost anticlimactic after the beautiful adventure we'd had reaching it.

I would definitely recommend asking to find a guide to take you to Reach from below versus entering the park through the paved steps right at the Falls...if you are in shape and comfortable climbing and wading. Everyone in our tour group was 50 or under but there is no reason an in-shape, sure-footed person of any age couldn't take the more adventurous route!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful and peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Was not very crowded when we went.People are super friendly and ask for some OTT apples from the tree up front and one of the guys will get some for you. Great visit.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beautiful Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Reach falls was the highlight of our trip! We took our driver (Pete from Port Antonio--Highly Highly Recommended) and our guide at the falls was Kenton. The parking and facilities are well appointed and ready for tourists. Right at the entrance, there's a jamaican apple tree, and the guard got some apples down for us. Then you walk down to the falls, which are awesome. The guide then takes you up the river behind the falls to one of the most lush and beautiful places I have ever seen. Going with the guide is a "must do." In our case, our driver Pete, helped us through, while Kenton took photos--great photos, I might add. The kids will remember this adventure for a long time. Pete suggested getting there early, which was spot on. We were the only people there for the first 30-40 minutes or so. From PA, it's about a 40 minute drive, but totally 100 % worth it--stop at Boston Bay for a late lunch afterwards! The whole experience was top notch.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reach Falls also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to Reach Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reach Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.