We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Natural Waterfalls” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reach Falls

Reach Falls
East of Port Antonio, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 attractions in Port Antonio
Type: Waterfalls
Attraction Details
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Stunning Natural Waterfalls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Loved the stunning natural beauty and swimming in the falss at the bottom.
Didn't like the mosquitos as much as they liked me!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    23
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Jamaica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing natural beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

While we were there, a school trip was going on so it wasn't as quiet as we had hoped. But by the time we got comfortable, we forgot all about them and we submerged in the beauty

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Br Careful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The falls are beautiful but the guide who took us up the falls was looking after far too many people and that made it dangerous.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“This is better than YS falls and Dunns river falls, by far.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Smaller than the two aforementioned waterfalls in Montego Bay but here you don't get rushed (Dunns river) and there is a clear area for a proper swim (unlike YS falls).

You get the chance to actually swim here, the water is deep enough and there is space to chill, without being crowded. In the main area you can jump from the cliff and go into a cool little cave under a waterfall. The floor is rocky, so water shoes are recommended.

The guide that is kind of assigned to you (you don't really need one around the main area) can take you further upstream to an underground cave, it is absolutely beautiful. I would have loved to have just chilled in there for a bit, or done it twice, but the guide hurried in and out a little. If you are going up there with the guide, I'd recommend water shoes as the walk to the cave around 5-10 minutes and can be pretty treacherous going and the cave needs to be climbed into.

They have changing rooms near where you pay, but there is little else. The only downside was the lack of lockers as we were concerned as to what to do with our bags when we walked to the cave.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Do the tour with a guide!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

If you're fit enough the guides will take you back along the river into an underground cave. It's nothing short of amazing!!! The water is clean and oh so refreshing. Go in the middle of the week to avoid crowds and bring water shoes and waterproof camera if you plan on taking the tour back. Remember to tip your guides ;)

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reach Falls also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 

Been to Reach Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reach Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Reach Falls to your Saves list