We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many happy returns” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Grape Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Negril
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Grape Villas
Save
You added Sea Grape Villas to your Saves list
West End Road, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Negril
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Many happy returns”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

When I met my husband 15 years ago, he had never traveled outside of the States. I am a travel agent and felt it was my duty to introduce him to Jamaica. And so our long time love affair with Sea Grape began. We have traveled all around the Caribbean but always return to Sea Grape. We love the privacy, convenience and security of this Jamaican paradise. We have stayed in all of the Villas and they all have their own unique personalities. The staff makes you feel right at home...Juicy will take care of all your needs and makes the best fried chicken ever..Christine is the sweetest woman on the island and keeps the place spotless, and Bentley is a master gardener and security guard. When we first discovered Sea Grape we wanted to keep it our little secret, but after showing pictures of our trips to friends...the secret was out. We are looking forward to our next happy return.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    9
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
16
40
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Over the past 10 years we've stayed at SeaGrape Villas probably 10 times...it is one of our favorite places on the cliffs. We haven't been back the past two years because it has been booked during our annual November trip, but we have always had great stays at SeaGrape.

We've stayed at all of the cottages and even taken over all 3 cottages with friends a few times. My favorite thing about SeaGrape is the privacy...it cannot be beat by anyplace on the cliffs and certainly not on the beach. You are in your own little private oasis once you enter the gates and it is lovely. The views from the two main cottages (SeaGrape and WildGrape) are fantastic, we often see dolphins going by and the occasional turtle as well. You have your own private sunning decks at the cottages and down by the water. Water access is good and my husband loves snorkeling around there, I like floating. Wish they had a pool! All the cottages have kitchen facilities, which is fantastic...though Juicy (the manager) makes wonderful dinners he'll deliver right to your outdoor patio. He also brings you a nice tray of morning coffee and bread with jam...yum!! The price is a little steep, but you pay for the privacy and spaciousness of the cottages. They all have the sweetest outdoor shower areas....we love them so much, we installed an outdoor shower here at home.

You can't beat the privacy (love how the staff rings a bell before they come down your path), the views and the spaciousness of the cottages...it has been our favorite place on the cliffs for years. SeaGrape is a bit rough around the edges these past few years, but it is an older property with all the charm of an older property, including gorgeous foliage and landscaping that Bentley has worked so hard on all these years despite the storms.

WildGrape is our #1 favorite because of the big verandah and outdoor sunning areas and outdoor living...but SeaGrape is also a favorite because of their sunning platform out at the edge of the cliffs. BigGrape is the best priced and has its own charm as well.

It isn't luxury, but it is heavenly. We'll definitely stay again!

Room Tip: WildGrape and SeaGrape are our favorites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, NH
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

My wife and I have been staying at the Sea Grape for the last four years and cannot wait to get back this next Spring. We always stay at the Wild Grape villa, as that is our favorite of the three villas located on the property. The location up on the West End cliffs is perfect. There are plenty of restaurants and places to visit around the Sea Grape, but once you go through the entrance gates, you feel like you are in your own, private slice of paradise. The Wild Grape is a nice, two bedroom villa with a kitchen attached. The kitchen is great to have, as you can buy some food and drinks for your stay to cut down on costs. If you do not feel like cooking, just have Juicy (security guard/awesome cook) whip something up for you. If you want something special for dinner, just tell him that morning and he will go buy everything to make the dinner of your choice. He is a great cook and we always look forward to eating his food while watching those famous Negril sunsets from the outside landing. We also enjoy Bentley (groundskeeper) and Christine (housekeeper) who are always friendly and great to talk to. And we always look forward to seeing our favorite Jamaican pet--Blackie! She always watches out for us and keeps us company. We also love the water and the snorkeling right outside of your room. The location, setting and people cannot be beat and we cannot wait to get back to our home away from home.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

If your idea of luxury is to wake from one of the most peaceful sleeps of your life by diving into glittering ocean water, and then tuck into an unbelievable home-made breakfast on a private terrace surrounded by flowers, you will love Sea Grape. To stay here is to let everything that is beautiful about Jamaica wash over you. It is worlds away from the all-inclusive, buffet-style horrors that litter so much of the island. The property is stunning, the water is perfect, Juicy's cooking is spot-on (I still dream of his rice and peas), Bentley and Christine are delightful... what more could you want? I plan to go back as soon as I can.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We have stayed at Sea Grape for the last 3 1/2 years and have been 5 times with 3 more trips reserved. We feel as though this is our home in Jamaica complete with our watch dogs, Blackie and Whitey, that follow us down the path regularly and hang with us while we are there. Although the cottages are a little rustic, you cannot beat waking up and opening up the whole front of your house and having the sea right in front of you as you enjoy your coffee that Juicy has brought for you. Juicy is also happy to prepare you any meals, food is excellent and prices are reasonable. You are secluded but feel safe due to Bentley who is on the grounds 24 hours. He also has your chairs placed and clean for you before you even wake in the morning. He keeps the grounds in beautiful condition.Christine comes to the house daily to tidy the house and is eager to fullfill and special requests such as laundry. It is an easy walk to many bars and restaurants and also right across from a little grocery store to keep your "must haves" close at hand. We love the beach and take a route taxi daily to get our fill and to visit our many friends we have made over the last 22 years. The sunset at Sea Grape cannot be beat. We call this our little house in Jamaica and count the days until our next trip.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Beautiful views, comfortable villas, great staff, privacy, great swimming, epic sunsets. All the shade, all the sun, all the sea I could have wanted. Easy walk to bars and restaurants. Great feeling of privacy and casual comfort. Older buildings, well maintained, but nothing fancy. The rooms are simple and clean, all with ceiling fans (I never turned on the A/C). The grounds have a lush, natural feel, with trails meandering down to the little cliffs for diving into the Caribbean. The water was perfect and no sand! Little terraces near the water with lounge chairs and reed umbrellas. The veteran staff has it down -- they've all been there a long time. Juicy, the chef, is reliable and can prepare a broad range of cuisine, Christine keeps the place tidy, and Bentley watches over the grounds and security. They made us feel so well taken care of. Any need or desire or delivery from the outside world was easily met. And there was even a great little dog to shadow us around the grounds, just in case. I don't think I've ever been so comfortable on a vacation -- it felt like I was moving out of my own house when it was time to go!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Seagrape has 2 main cottages right on the ocean--1 smaller and 1 larger--I have stayed here for the last 6-7 years in both cottages, enjoying the larger one much more when available. Both have 2 bedrooms, airconditioned and with ceiling fans, small kitchens, indoor and outdoor showers, and plenty of sunning areas on the cliffs with ocean access via ladders (and diving platforms!) The cottages are older, rustic, but the location and privacy trumps everything here. The larger one has a king size bedroom, with two twin beds in the other bedroom, lots of patio space outside and clear views of the Jamaican sunsets every night---a detached kitchen next to the outdoors shower, and an area down by the ocean with thatched shade and loungers for relaxing along with a fresh water shower for rinsing off after swimming naked in the Caribbean ocean (if you want---This is Jamaica!) Juicy, the manager, will cook for you if needed, for good value and good taste! Lots of close by restaurants if you want to experience the real Jamaican
food and drink away from the Americanized all-inclusives on the beach.....
Definitely recommended by a longtime visitor!
Irie Ites!

Room Tip: Negril Cliff Resort, privacy, Wild Grape Cpttage
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Grape Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Grape Villas

Address: West End Road, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Sea Grape Villas Hotel Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Grape Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.