We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food and great cocktails” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rockhouse Restaurant

Rockhouse Restaurant
West End Road, Negril, Jamaica
1.876.957.4373
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 166 Restaurants in Negril
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Delft, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and great cocktails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We went there for lunch, the food was great, one of the best restaurants I have visited in Jamaica. We order some cocktails as suggested by the waiter they were delicious with healthy amount of alcohol :) food is rather expensive but worth every penny and service was great. The view was fantastic.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    147
    50
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Delicious Food - "Soon Come" wait period for it's arrival”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I had an impromptu reception dinner at this location. The view was beautiful, the food was great, but we waited FOREVER to get our meal. Granted we walked in with no reservation and a table of six, which they were kind enough to accommodate. I will say this though, the portions are not that big for the money you are paying and the long time (over an hour) that we waited. Our bill ended up being about $100 per person and my husband stopped to get something else to eat on the way home. Its a must see however. At sunset, it is absolutely stunning.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food, bad service!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The food was great with lots of flavor, but our waiter never came to refill our glass of water or drinks. Never asked if we needed anything. I would try it again though because maybe it will be better next time.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place for dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

First thing to know is that the view is gorgeous. The food and service are stellar. We only had dinner and we thought it was the perfect place for dinner, I would recommend it to anyone who wanted quality food, service and an outstanding ocean view

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This was my place of early morning coffee and reading most mornings on my stay. We did eat few breakfasts here as well. The price was a bit higher since it was at a resort...much more value can be found at the places off the resort property, but the convenience of having it right there with known posted hours were a plus in my book. Food was sort of "Americanized Jamaican" - better than the breakfast food I would have been consuming at home...by far!! Atmosphere was wonderful!! A great view!!! Able to totally relax over a cup of coffee and a glass of freshly squeezed OJ (what could be better). The service was very attentive and everyone was super friendly!! Try the banana bread!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rockhouse Restaurant also viewed

 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to Rockhouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rockhouse Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.