We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and Delicious food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rockhouse Restaurant

Rockhouse Restaurant
West End Road, Negril, Jamaica
1.876.957.4373
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 169 Restaurants in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Doing business, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Jamaica
2 reviews
“Excellent and Delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was my third time here,Mother's Day was a treat for myself and my son,stepping into the restaurant was first class treats for us,the welcome was that I welcome you to be here,Shawn was our waiter he was the best,never had to call, as there was always someone checking to see if we were ok.I had the steam snapper with rice/peas,garden salad,my son had the jerk chicken with vegetables and roti I think (can't remember now)but I tasted it and it was great.Overall it was an amazing evening and I enjoy.Keep up the good work.Inese I had a great time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    156
    53
    19
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We liked Rockhouse restaurant - probably had our best tasting meal there in Negril - can't remember the name, which was complicated, but house seafood speciality. There is great underlit seaview and we enjoyed our visit. Criticisms: tables too close together, staff less friendly than elsewhere, loos pretty primitive, asked to reserve outside but was told they don't - found us a table there eventually. Good - but preferred Pushcart & Ivan's for ambience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afton, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“a favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed at Rockhouse last year. Would've returned there this year, but they were sold out. No surprise! Fantastic value, great location, completely full-service although a small boutique property. Wonderful staff, food, drink, setting, accommodations. Simple but very well-appointed.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afton, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We ate here at least 6 times when we stayed at The Rockhouse Hotel last year and never had a bad meal, whether breakfast, lunch, or dinner. They have a wonderful spot for a romantic, candle lit dinner if you're visiting as a couple.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Romantic & affordable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We like good restaurants and the Rockhouse was the only one we visited twice.
It was low season, so we had no trouble getting seats right over the water, with a magnificent view of sunset & dusk over the sea, and later the blue waters swishing in a floodlit grotto below.
Our meals were delicious and artfully presented. The servings were not so large as to leave us bloated. With cocktails, the cost was surprisingly affordable (by US standards).
After dinner, one can recline on a luxurious couch in the bar area and enjoy a Cuban cigar (if one is inclined).
The service is prompt and attentive (a bit of a rarity in Jamaica).
The decor is subdued and elegant, blending well with the cliffside locale.
The Rockhouse Foundation assists local schools with badly needed infrastructure & educational materials. Kudos to the owners, and keep up the good work.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rockhouse Restaurant also viewed

 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to Rockhouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rockhouse Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.