We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and chilled” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Citronella

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Negril
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Citronella
Save
You added Citronella to your Saves list
West End Road, Negril, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 90 Hotels in Negril
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful and chilled”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Citronella is a small and lovely place - far enough from Negril to be isolated and detached and close enough by car to get to the beach anytime you like. This property is on the cliffs outside of town and is set-up as a series of bungalows each with its own design, water access and sea-view. There's a wonderful breakfast/dinner area which is also a library and wifi-access point. There's no regular restaurant but if you want something cooked just for you, there's a fantastic chef who will do whatever it takes to make your dining experience memorable.

This place is deliberately laid-back and peaceful. The water is a bit rough so its not a leisurely walk out to the water. If anyone were drunk or otherwise impaired, this could be a dangerous location. You're high enough above the water and rocks that if you fell in it would be challenging. This is definitely the wrong place to take kids and not the place to go if you want long-beach walks outside your door. I totally loved it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    14
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
26
108
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Technically Jan 2013 but I have just started going back on my reviews

Found this place online booked and honestly I think they undersold themselves as I was a little concerned my wife may want a tad more luxury.

We stayed 2 nights, we both wished it was longer. This place will be high on my global list!

Great team sharing a name with there son helped break the ice a bit !, the privacy of the accommodations options is impressive, I booked the only option remaining the lowest price option warned to be rustic, it was still a phenomenal experience, perched right on the cliffs, which topped off our circumnavigation of Jamaica.

The food on site was most impressive, great breakfast! Really I struggle to find any concerns, unless you like big all inclusive resorts with pools, if you don't try this place

Highlight really as simple as being alone on the cliff with some red stripe and local produce... Watching the sunset and hearing the music from Ricks a couple of headlands away, a fabulous place to stay and connect. Try the restaurant around the corner, be prepared for a load of weed smoking friendly Rastas. Ask the staff for the Jerk place we went to I cannot remember its name but it was tops of all we tasted in Jamaica, he is the brother of the guy featured on the amazing race or something.

Swells was a bit up that Jan inhabiting snorkeling direct in front but I imagine when calm it's as per the pictures.

We plan on staying here on any future chance we get to visit Negril,

Room Tip: Anything on the cliffs and you will be laughing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Maine
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

It's hard to understand how the best could get better, but it has. I had a brief respite at Citronella recently, & it has gone from my favorite place in Jamaica to my favorite place in the Caribbean. Every aspect of the experience has been enhanced through the wisdom and experience of the owners and their family - and the incomparable natural gifts that only the cliffs of Negril offer are among the great wonders of the world.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windham, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We thouroughly enjoyed Citronella, the cottages are all beautiful, perched on the cliffs above the blue ocean. We stayed in the Cave House which is built on top of a water cave in the cliff so the sound of the waves is very soothing and hypnotic inside the house and on the porch. We ate several breakfasts and one dinner in the restaurant and enjoyed them all. I certainly prefer the atmosphere on the cliffs compared to the beach strip and Citronella felt personal and private. Snorkeling was pretty good off the cliffs but it is a little difficult climbing out of the water onto the ladder as the sea surge can be pretty significant and there is some sharp coral right next to the ladder. Took home a little souvenir of sea urchin spine in my big toe - ouch! Only downside to the location is proximity to Rick's Cafe. The noise of the bar was very audible from Citronella.

Room Tip: Cave House does not have a kitchen but with such great food in Jamaica you won't want to be eati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I can't say enough about this place! We went with 6 people, (one being from Jamaica) who got the recomendation from a local. Views are stunning, staff very friendly (love Millie!), great area of town. I would pick Citronella over an all inclusive 5 star resort any day!!! We stayed in the A Frame and Round House over Thanksgiving weekend. We will definitely be making this an annual trip!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Truly a paradise and the owners Cathy and Jon really made it worth our while. Even returned a phone to one my friends who left it behind. Trevor who is there on the premises will ensure that any need is taken care of. Such a wonderful way to get away from the daily routines of a big city. Tranquil, peaceful, and very private. The views last forever and watching the storms and stars were breathtaking! Having your own cove to snorkel and swim, you really feel like its yours and yours alone! Plus, being close to Rick's is a good thing, but the food is better within Citronella's grounds or right next door at the local restaurant.

We will definite go back every year!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This is the second time my friends and I have stayed at Citronella and plan to make it an annual occurrence after visiting for the first time last year for a bachelor party. Cathy (the owner) and Trevor (resort manager, head of security, caretaker, concierge, etc.) are both awesome and very friendly. Even the dogs that live within the fully gated property are great and very friendly. Trevor, who has managed the property for 25-years helps out with everything we need (beer, water, ice, etc.) and is a primary reason we'll keep coming back. Each cabana/house is very private with spectacular views and private cove access that puts you directly into excellent snorkeling water. There is a chef on-site that makes excellent meals (breakfast, lunch and dinner). Really no reason to venture outside the gated property unless you want to. Can't imagine us staying anywhere else in Negril. One of us left a cell phone at the property and Cathy promptly mailed it back to the U.S. Cathy and Trevor - thanks again for the hospitality. See you again soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Citronella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citronella

Address: West End Road, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#5 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#19 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our very private and secluded cottages provide a unique experience for Jamaica travelers who need a lot of space and privacy. Located in Negril and beautifully carved into volcanic cliffs that sit 50ft above the Caribbean Sea, this very secluded resort offers three acres of lush tropical landscape with sea breezes, quite caves, secluded coves, grottoes, and most of all privacy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Citronella Hotel Negril
Citronella Resort Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citronella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.