We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a vacation should be!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Citronella

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Negril
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Citronella
Save
You added Citronella to your Saves list
West End Road, Negril, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 90 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lutz, FL
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“What a vacation should be!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Citronella for my husbands birthday, at the end of May and beginning of June. Because the place is already so popular, we stayed in 3 separate rooms during our stay, The Cave House, the A-frame, and The Conch House. We loved each of them! It would be difficult to pick a favorite and we look forward to returning again. JT and Jamie are a lovely couple and do a wonderful job with breakfast and making you feel at home during your stay. They also will put a quiet dinner together for you, either at the Great House or on the front porch of your cottage, which I would definitely recommend. Citronella is a true gem and we can't wait to go back again next year!!

Room Tip: The Cave House has a lovely outdoor shower by the water that is very secluded. The Conch House would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citroJA, Manager at Citronella, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
We here at citronella are so glad to see you have truly enjoyed your stay with us. It means so much to us and our staff. We love to hear about your stay and see that all of our hard work has payed off. We thank you for your business, and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    14
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
28
118
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We just celebrated our 20th anniversary with a week at Citronella. It was one of the best weeks we've ever had!
At first we were concerned by the "rustic" comments made by others, as well as the lack of air conditioning. Within the first hour of our arrival, we knew our fears were without merit. While it was hot outside, and not a five-star hotel, it was the perfect getaway, and escape. We quickly forgot about not having AC when we sat down on the porch of the Cave House, and took in our view of paradise.
John, Trevor, JT, and the rest of the Citronella staff were very accommodating, and made sure we had everything we needed to enjoy our week with them. We had assistance when we needed it while enjoying privacy and seclusion.
While we were still there, we started planning our return, and our plans to bringing others... We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citroJA, Manager at Citronella, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your review on Citronella. We are so glad that your 20th anniversary was spent with us and that you were able to enjoy the beauty of our property. We love to keep our guest happy and we are glad that you both had a great time. We hope to see you again soon and bring as many guest as you would like. Peace, Love, and Happiness
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I didn't believe it until I was there... the house was right on the cliffs, overlooking the water! The upstairs bedroom opened to the view. Beautiful!!! You can walk down to swim in the crystal clear water... or jump off the cliff if you prefer! :) The place is right next door to LTU (great restaurant) and Rick's Cafe. We will stay here again as soon as possible!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citroJA, Manager at Citronella, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your review on Citronella. We are always glad when our guest enjoy Citronella as much as we do. We hope to see you back again. Peace, Love, and Happiness. Citronella Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed in the A-Frame for a portion of our honeymoon (we also stayed at Tensing Pen). We loved both resorts very much, but Citronella really seemed like the place for us. The A-Frame has a breathtaking view of the sunset and has a close (but not too close) view of the divers at Rick's Cafe and the hopping patio at nearbly pub LTU, which was perfect for us when we were trying to make plans for the evening. Every night we fell asleep to the sounds of the waves crashing 30 feet below our doorstep and every morning awoke to the pleasant sounds of birds chirping. The attached outdoor shower gave just the right amount of privacy while providing a beautiful view of the gardens and the sounds of the ocean as you bath, very relaxing and romantic!! Don't be afraid of the local wildlife including tiny lizards and bats at dusk, they ensured we did not have a single mosquito bite or see one ant during our entire stay at Citronella. The meal that JT prepared for us was one of the best we had during our entire time in Negril. The entire staff and the other guests at Citronella were friendly and laid-back. We will be back!

Room Tip: We adored the A-Frame and it is perfect for a couple, two singles traveling together or a even young...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We could not have enjoyed our stay in Negril anymore than we did at Citronella. The property is absolutely gorgeous. It is lush and green. We even ventured out to see other properties and nothing was as nice. Citronella just gave you the feel of Negril. From the individual cottages to the green lawns, private water access, cliff jumping, all of the beautiful plantlife, and I can't forget to mention the unbelievable staff. The staff could not have been more accommodating or sincere. I not only highly reccommend Citronella to anyone who is looking to vacation in Negril but I insist that you stay at Citronella. The cottages could not be more private and the atmosphere could not be more serene. We could not have been happier.

Matt
http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/matts-pantry/id469484338?mt=8

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Spent a long weekend at Roundhouse in May and it was amazing. The Roundhouse was exactly as it appeared in pictures, but the amount of privacy was not expected. Grass area with shade and plenty of chairs was really nice. We used the snorkeling equipment multiple times and did not do much except sit around all weekend.

Best part of the trip was food and company from JT and Jamie. Breakfast was amazing and dinner was best food in Negril; far better than Rockhouse restaurant. Rick's and LTU pub do not even compare. Besides being great people, JT makes a mean Tuna dinner and Shrimp appetizer. They don’t charge much, but bring cash to pay. Wish we had more so we could eat every meal "in house."

Great place to stay. Extremely relaxing and beautiful views. Have recommended Citronella already and will do our best to get back in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citroJA, Manager at Citronella, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us here at Citronella and we want to thank you for your wonderful review. The restaurant selection in Negril is not the best, but we are glad that JT could take care of you! We hope to see you back at Citronella soon. Peace, Love, and Happiness
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willis wharf
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

If you are looking for a stress free vacation this is the place. Life just doesn't get any better than relaxing under the cabanna, fishing off the coast, snorkling in the reefs. or just hanging out with good people, good food, and good drink. Definately make this your next vacation retreat.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Citronella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citronella

Address: West End Road, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#5 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#19 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our very private and secluded cottages provide a unique experience for Jamaica travelers who need a lot of space and privacy. Located in Negril and beautifully carved into volcanic cliffs that sit 50ft above the Caribbean Sea, this very secluded resort offers three acres of lush tropical landscape with sea breezes, quite caves, secluded coves, grottoes, and most of all privacy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Citronella Hotel Negril
Citronella Resort Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citronella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.