We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bloody Bay

Bloody Bay
Negril, Jamaica
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 62 things to do in Negril
Attraction details
Huntsville, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Average Beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The water is clear. The vendors are directly on the beach and spend all day there with their kids. There is trash on the sand and in the water. Got bit a few times by sand fleas but not a big deal. Beach closes at sunset, which it should. Dangerous after dark. From shore to water is short...meaning, not a lot of beach. If you are looking at water and head to the right, it is gross. There is a patch of trees and I think it's the vendors bathroom, bedroom and baby changing station.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    75
    20
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Not quite seven mile, and no where near like varadero Cuba ( which is IMO the best beach ever ),but still a beautiful stretch of sea and sand without the constant stream of vendors trying to sell you stuff you don't really want or need, not that there isn't any just not as many as 7 mile...best time to walk the bay is early morning walk that breakfast off....take a stroll to the far end near the club hotel riu there is a fish sanctuary there it's amazing.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Garry's Respect Tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We had booked another company to take us from Bloody Bay to the airport but they wanted to take us 4 1/2 ours before our flight left....Garry was very obliging and we were able to sleep in a little more and have breakfast at our hotel Sunset at the Palms. Garry was very polite and fun and showed us things along the way we hadn't known about (an old fort near Lucea, the bell tower story, etc), and we will check these things out on another trip now. Thanks, Garry, you made the trip home that much easier! Next trip we'll book Respect Tours for a mountain road trip!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Beautiful, clear water, barely any waves and perfect for kids to play in. Stayed at the Riu Negril at the far right of the Bay, but walked the whole bay a few times and found the part in front of the Riu Palace to be better. Fish sanctuary at the Riu Negril, spotted a stingray and starfish, also spotted a stingray in the middle of the bay while we were walking it one day. You will find lots of vendors along the beach, but if you are not interested a "no thank you" will do. The beach is not crowded as there are not as many hotels as on Long Bay, and the beach is just as good here (this is officially part of the 7 Mile Beach (it's about 2 miles long and Long Bay is the remaining 5 miles). Amazing sunsets from the middle to left side of bay (Riu Negril sunset view is blocked by the curved end of bay).

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful clear blue sea!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is a beautiful beach. Perfect for swimming and floating in the sea. Vendors were friendly and entertaining.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bloody Bay also viewed

Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to Bloody Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bloody Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.