We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fishing in Bloody Bay, Jamaica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bloody Bay

Bloody Bay
Negril, Jamaica
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 62 things to do in Negril
Attraction details
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fishing in Bloody Bay, Jamaica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

If you enjoy fishing as much as I do, you might want to hook up with some of the local fishermen that come up to shore in front of Riu Negril. They can take you out alone or in groups at a flat rate of $60 per hour. Barracuda, Mahi Mahi, Tuna almost anything goes. I had an awesome time with Moon on his boat and had a blast hand pulling in a 25 lb Mahi. There is also a small river just north of the beach that can be rewarding early in the morning.

You can shore cast as well for snapper and the occasional cuda. If your planning on bringing gear, 2 to 4" blue Rapelas and light colored soft minnows seem to get the best action. Minimum 30 lb braid and 12" steel leaders are a must. If you are able, bring a few extras down for the guys... lures are fairly expensive on the island.

You can reach Moon at moonfishingandtours@gmail.com if you are interested in booking something ahead. (also great for touring along the coast)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    74
    20
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“PRAISE TO THE RASTAMAN - man of the earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I have vacationed in Negril on several occasions, after wanting to explore more of the beautiful island of Jamaica. The beaches of Negril are like no other. There seems to be a magic in the air that is indescribable......like the saying goes "once you go, you know". :)

I had the opportunity to get a driver from Point Village to take us at my request to a beach a little less "touristy' a place where i can really feel the Irie Vibe. I was not disappointed.

When i arrived with my two daughters we noticed a Rastaman, the biggest pot of boiling water i had ever seen, a tin barrel which had been cut in half with a fire burning, and other fishing paraphernalia strewn about on the beach. He and two other men were sitting under a palm tree enjoying the day, smiling as though they knew some secret that i wasnt aware of.

Not to be intrusive, my daughters and i went a little further down the beach and enjoyed an afternoon of sunshine, snacks, cold drinks and the distant sound of the sweetest Reggae music. The water was medicinal, like the methodical waves, drifting away all your stress, and bringing back good karma with each new splash!

We were invited in to join the Rastaman and his friends in a feast of fresh lobster and assorted fish they had caught earlier. The girls laughed at how different their lobster was compared to the ones we get back home in Canada. These had small front claws, how bizarre? This lobster meat was so decadently sweet! The salt sea air, Reggae music, and warm local hospitality was truly unforgettable. We arrived as strangers and departed friends.

This day taught me many things about mankind and about stepping outside of the box(or resort, so it is). Dont be afraid to leave the hotel beach bar, get out, visit, explore, be daring....we did, and i learned so much about others and about myself on that day..........

To the Rastaman i am forever grateful,

Ann, Dakota and Madison

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Calm, clear, blue water. Bring an air mattress to float on and look at the fish below you. It was great!!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We were able to walk right in and swim from sun up to sun down everyday. My friend learned how to snorkel, I'm so proud of her.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wade on in.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Bloody Bay is beautiful, lots of BIG resorts on the sand. We stayed at Sunset at the Palms which has the only bit of beach that is not overpopulated. Just past us was an area with local vendors who set up every morning.
There is not a whole lot of swimming, the water is very shallow and if you plan on snorkling you better get on a boat, the water is clear but you dont have access to the reefs from the beach.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bloody Bay also viewed

Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to Bloody Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bloody Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.