We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real taste of Jamaica...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrise Club

Save Saved
You added Sunrise Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunrise Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Norman Manley Blvd., Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 91 Hotels in Negril
Milan, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The real taste of Jamaica...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

There's a extraordinary place, with real and extraordinary People, that they are waiting for You in Negril. In this relaxing and familiary place You can spend one of Your best holiday...with sun, sea and understanding for real the Jamaican Life.
This is the SunriseClub. Thanks to the Boss Mr. Luca, to Valeria and to all their Staff!
Hoping to see You soon next Year. Andrea

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    34
    14
    7
    4
See reviews for
14
59
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toledo,OH
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

Everything is relative in Jamaica, more than usual. Luca has put together the most inspired architecture and general layout that could be put in such a small area creating an ecclectic intimacy that any "big" place would kill for. The food is good as is the service. This is not a hurry-up and eat thing, plan to relax and enjoy a nice Italian dinner.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2009

Upon arrival at the airport, we were greeted by Riley, our Rastafarian guide for the week. He was so friendly and made our trip very memorable! He was always around at the Sunrise to get us whatever we needed or to drive us around. We stayed at the Sunrise from Feb. 13th-23rd 2009. There were 6 of us travelling together and 2 more joined later in the week. We did not go all inclusive. We all thought that the rooms were very clean and perfect. We never saw any bugs in our rooms either. The maid staff were kind and sweet and they work very hard so tip well!!! The shower pressure was low at times but if everyone in the resort is showering at the same time, that tends to happen. The only complaint was the LOUD music every night at the club or pool hall next door-be prepared if you are wanting a nice quiet night in your room-won't happen-it is best to nap during the late afternoon. MAKE SURE to get a room in the back part of the resort--it is much quieter!
We loved the continental breakfast every morning and we miss Anika and Serena very much-they were fantastic waitresses and so friendly. We only ate supper or lunch at the resort a few times because we were always out and about the beach and town. Beware of WAY OVER PRICED places like MARGARITAVILLE where a burger and fries, nachos and 2 pina coladas cost us $63 Canadian-WHOA!
We were located right across from the beach-which was the perfect location to just zip across the street to the beach every day-just be careful crossing the streets here-crazy drivers!!!! We frequently dined on the Jamaican patties at the little place on the resort-they are so good-make sure to try them.
Be careful at the beach as everyone wants to make a buck--just politely say NO THANKS and they will leave you alone. Drinks at the beach aren't cheap -we brought a collapsable cooler to tote beers around. We actually bought a blender mid week to make our own Pina Coladas in our rooms!! They were great!!
At night, we mostly stuck close to the resort or near by with some of the locals we had met. It is best to make local friends to take you to the clubs or whatever-you will feel safer! If you get the chance to let them cook for you-Jamaica jerk chicken or whatever-go for it-we did and it was awesome--thanks CASH MONEY AND DOLLA BILL!! We also had supper at Kuyaba a few times-it is very good-beautiful atmosphere-but not cheap!

Beware or the sea do renters on the beach-prices change by the minute with them-be firm!! We went on the Sunset cruise to-very nice but not worth the $75-the meal was less than amazing but still a great experience and amazing sunset! All in all--a super fun and amazing vacation! Our driver took us to the Mayfield falls--it was ok-I enjoyed the drive up there more than anything-you really get the chance to see the "real" Jamaica outside of the tourist areas.
Overall a great vacation and going for 10 days-not all inclusive was cheaper than a 7 day all inclusive tourist trap trip!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dream7713
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Sunrise Club in Negril for one week. The first night wasn't so great, we got dropped off at Sunrise late and first off, the office was hard to find (it's past the bar). After we found the office, we got brought to our room. It wasn't up to my standards, although the room was very clean and neat, the only problem was the room was located in a bad spot of the hotel (near the road) and it was hard to sleep at night. The next day I spoke with the management (it's important that you are nice, this is a family owned hotel, and they STAY at the hotel). I asked nicely to be moved to a room in the back that was further away from the road, this was not a problem. By the time we got back from the beach, the room was ready and switching rooms was no problem. If you stay here, do not get a room in the front of the hotel, unless you stay up late, this is the same with ANY hotel in Negril, the road gets loud at night!

Our new room was VERY nice, it was more up to date, large bed, new AC/fans, cool bathroom. I would highly reccomend room 14C, this is the room we stayed in, and it was very quite and private. We loved the property, the flowers, plants and palm trees made you feel like you were really in the tropics! The hotel is small, you dont see too many guests, which was fine by us, felt even more private. There is NO pool/hot tub... we didnt mind because we used other hotels hot tubs and pools (if your a tourist, you get away with just walking into other resorts, its not a problem).

When you are at the Sunrise Club and you want to get to the beach, just cut across through Burbon Beach, just turn right out of the hotel, cross the road, and you are right on the beach! You dont want to walk on the road too long, the beeping from the taxi's get annoying.

Lastly, the food was very good, but a little pricey. I would reccomomend our friend Audley who owns a roadside stand (walk out of the hotel turn left, you can see his cart right after the bike rental shop. He makes fresh squeezed orange juice for you (on the spot) and REAL jamaician food, VERY cheap plus he's friendly, we learned a lot from him that week.

Overall, we loved staying at this place, its NOT Sandals or any place like that, we liked it because it was more private and no one bothered us, very romantic... hard to get at a larger hotel.

  • Liked — That it was private and romantic
  • Disliked — after the first night it was great!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2007

when my friends and i got to JA for spring break i really didnt know what to expect... first off we had problems with our agent who placed us at sunrise we didnt mind... when we got there the owner told us he had no room available next to each other for the six of us that was there.....after we argued with him he instantly found two rooms next to each other than that the staff was very friendly and helpful too us we had air conditioned rooms cable tv and running hot and cold water ,no pool but staff cleaned every day but if you dont tip them your sheets werent getting changed the towels were average at best i brought my own so i didnt mess with those, outside of all the mess at the hotel I HAD A GREAT TIME IN JAMAICA

Stayed March 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2007

We had a wonderful time at the Sunrise club, they really do create a
"home from home "atmosphere", great ambience there, we felt very welcome.

The owner lives at the hotel, so he is easily accessible and very helpful, food good, great breakfast every morning or lunchtime after a late night. Clean sheets, and towels daily, also beach towels available. It was a perfect base to experience Negril. Hope to return
there one day.

Also recommend a taxi driver Winston Gunter based at Times Square very honest, reliable and knowledgeable about Jamaica.

  • Liked — Home From Home Atmosphere
  • Disliked — Mainly italian food would have preferred some jamaian dishes also
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2007

We stayed at the Sunrise Club Hotel in Negril, and we had a nice time. The environment is friendly and nice, I thought we had the best Pizza in the US, but we were really surprised how it tasted( the best ever). We will be there next year.

  • Liked — The room was cleaned.
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunrise Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Club

Address: Norman Manley Blvd., Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Negril
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#34 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Club 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entering the Sunrise comes with a magical synergy, a feeling of tranquility and safety that passes through you and puts your mind at ease from the 1st step across the entrance and lasts with you throughout your vacation. The "unique" atmosphere, the relaxing ambiance, the tropical gardens, the friendly and knowledgeable staff, the heightened awareness of sounds and smells comes with up close experience, making your vacation a memorable and unforgettable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Venere, Tingo, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Sunrise Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Club Hotel Negril
Sunrise Hotel Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunrise Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.