We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrise Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sunrise Club to your Saves list
Sunrise Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Norman Manley Blvd., Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 87 Hotels in Negril
Ontario
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nicely located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at Sunrise. Perfect location walking distance from downtown and the cliff side of the island. The beach is across the street from the hotel. You can enjoy long walk on the 7miles beach.

The room are nice, clean and comfortable. I stay for 2 nights and will book there again when I return to my room #2. Value for the price is excellent and the people are very nice and friendly.

Room Tip: Their is a little snack resto/bar in front of the hotel so it can be noisy at night. I recommend a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SunshineLove40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
torontohappy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

I stayed at Sunrise Club in November 2011 which was right across the street from the beach. I enjoyed my stay the staff was wonderful and the owner Luca was very pleasant and great to deal with. My room was spacious and clean with a great view of the wonderful garden surrounding. In the morning I would wake up and go to the restaurant and be greeted with wonderful smiles by the staff, My breakfast, lunch and dinners at the hotel were perfect the food was fresh and always made with such great taste, One of my dinners that I enjoyed the most was lobster linguine and fresh grilled lobster it was made just right. I highly recommend Sunrise Club Hotel for the experience of a great stay.

Room Tip: Room 14a or 14b
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TorontoHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

Luca, his family & great staff makes this place. It's not on the beach but right across the road, which makes for a more quiet stay. Everyone was more than friendly. Excellent Italian food, but a bit pricey. Lots of local eateries & good bars within a 5 minute walk. The beds are excellent. Clean place. Stayed for 1 week & would return.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dvantorre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

There's a extraordinary place, with real and extraordinary People, that they are waiting for You in Negril. In this relaxing and familiary place You can spend one of Your best holiday...with sun, sea and understanding for real the Jamaican Life.
This is the SunriseClub. Thanks to the Boss Mr. Luca, to Valeria and to all their Staff!
Hoping to see You soon next Year. Andrea

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndreaMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo,OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

Everything is relative in Jamaica, more than usual. Luca has put together the most inspired architecture and general layout that could be put in such a small area creating an ecclectic intimacy that any "big" place would kill for. The food is good as is the service. This is not a hurry-up and eat thing, plan to relax and enjoy a nice Italian dinner.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stoanf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2009

Upon arrival at the airport, we were greeted by Riley, our Rastafarian guide for the week. He was so friendly and made our trip very memorable! He was always around at the Sunrise to get us whatever we needed or to drive us around. We stayed at the Sunrise from Feb. 13th-23rd 2009. There were 6 of us travelling together and 2 more joined later in the week. We did not go all inclusive. We all thought that the rooms were very clean and perfect. We never saw any bugs in our rooms either. The maid staff were kind and sweet and they work very hard so tip well!!! The shower pressure was low at times but if everyone in the resort is showering at the same time, that tends to happen. The only complaint was the LOUD music every night at the club or pool hall next door-be prepared if you are wanting a nice quiet night in your room-won't happen-it is best to nap during the late afternoon. MAKE SURE to get a room in the back part of the resort--it is much quieter!
We loved the continental breakfast every morning and we miss Anika and Serena very much-they were fantastic waitresses and so friendly. We only ate supper or lunch at the resort a few times because we were always out and about the beach and town. Beware of WAY OVER PRICED places like MARGARITAVILLE where a burger and fries, nachos and 2 pina coladas cost us $63 Canadian-WHOA!
We were located right across from the beach-which was the perfect location to just zip across the street to the beach every day-just be careful crossing the streets here-crazy drivers!!!! We frequently dined on the Jamaican patties at the little place on the resort-they are so good-make sure to try them.
Be careful at the beach as everyone wants to make a buck--just politely say NO THANKS and they will leave you alone. Drinks at the beach aren't cheap -we brought a collapsable cooler to tote beers around. We actually bought a blender mid week to make our own Pina Coladas in our rooms!! They were great!!
At night, we mostly stuck close to the resort or near by with some of the locals we had met. It is best to make local friends to take you to the clubs or whatever-you will feel safer! If you get the chance to let them cook for you-Jamaica jerk chicken or whatever-go for it-we did and it was awesome--thanks CASH MONEY AND DOLLA BILL!! We also had supper at Kuyaba a few times-it is very good-beautiful atmosphere-but not cheap!

Beware or the sea do renters on the beach-prices change by the minute with them-be firm!! We went on the Sunset cruise to-very nice but not worth the $75-the meal was less than amazing but still a great experience and amazing sunset! All in all--a super fun and amazing vacation! Our driver took us to the Mayfield falls--it was ok-I enjoyed the drive up there more than anything-you really get the chance to see the "real" Jamaica outside of the tourist areas.
Overall a great vacation and going for 10 days-not all inclusive was cheaper than a 7 day all inclusive tourist trap trip!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveltheglobe1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dream7713
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Sunrise Club in Negril for one week. The first night wasn't so great, we got dropped off at Sunrise late and first off, the office was hard to find (it's past the bar). After we found the office, we got brought to our room. It wasn't up to my standards, although the room was very clean and neat, the only problem was the room was located in a bad spot of the hotel (near the road) and it was hard to sleep at night. The next day I spoke with the management (it's important that you are nice, this is a family owned hotel, and they STAY at the hotel). I asked nicely to be moved to a room in the back that was further away from the road, this was not a problem. By the time we got back from the beach, the room was ready and switching rooms was no problem. If you stay here, do not get a room in the front of the hotel, unless you stay up late, this is the same with ANY hotel in Negril, the road gets loud at night!

Our new room was VERY nice, it was more up to date, large bed, new AC/fans, cool bathroom. I would highly reccomend room 14C, this is the room we stayed in, and it was very quite and private. We loved the property, the flowers, plants and palm trees made you feel like you were really in the tropics! The hotel is small, you dont see too many guests, which was fine by us, felt even more private. There is NO pool/hot tub... we didnt mind because we used other hotels hot tubs and pools (if your a tourist, you get away with just walking into other resorts, its not a problem).

When you are at the Sunrise Club and you want to get to the beach, just cut across through Burbon Beach, just turn right out of the hotel, cross the road, and you are right on the beach! You dont want to walk on the road too long, the beeping from the taxi's get annoying.

Lastly, the food was very good, but a little pricey. I would reccomomend our friend Audley who owns a roadside stand (walk out of the hotel turn left, you can see his cart right after the bike rental shop. He makes fresh squeezed orange juice for you (on the spot) and REAL jamaician food, VERY cheap plus he's friendly, we learned a lot from him that week.

Overall, we loved staying at this place, its NOT Sandals or any place like that, we liked it because it was more private and no one bothered us, very romantic... hard to get at a larger hotel.

  • Liked — That it was private and romantic
  • Disliked — after the first night it was great!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank dream7713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.1 mi away
Pure Garden Resort
Pure Garden Resort
#40 of 87 in Negril
4.0 of 5 stars 142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bar-B-Barn
Bar-B-Barn
#58 of 87 in Negril
3.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hidden Paradise Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Coral Seas Garden
Coral Seas Garden
#59 of 87 in Negril
3.5 of 5 stars 260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Travellers Beach Resort
#25 of 87 in Negril
4.5 of 5 stars 804 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kuyaba Hotel & Restaurant - Negril
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Club

Address: Norman Manley Blvd., Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Negril
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#21 Family Hotel in Negril
#34 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Club 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entering the Sunrise comes with a magical synergy, a feeling of tranquility and safety that passes through you and puts your mind at ease from the 1st step across the entrance and lasts with you throughout your vacation. The "unique" atmosphere, the relaxing ambiance, the tropical gardens, the friendly and knowledgeable staff, the heightened awareness of sounds and smells comes with up close experience, making your vacation a memorable and unforgettable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Sunrise Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Club Hotel Negril
Sunrise Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing