We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute little find on the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rainbow Arch Restaurant

Rainbow Arch Restaurant
Norman Manley Blvd Next to White Sands, Negril, Jamaica
Improve this listing
Ranked #87 of 155 Restaurants in Negril
Cuisines: Jamaican
Restaurant details
Altoona
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Cute little find on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We were waiting here for our taxi and wasn't too sure what we would find. We wondered in and was greeted by a very pleasant woman. We explained that we were waiting and she invited us to sit in the shade and relax. I was getting hungry and asked if the were open for service and she handed us a menu. I was surprised of all the choice and the reasonable cost. What caught my eye was the egg and callalou sandwich plate. I was not disappointed. My husband had soup and two beers. Although, we didn't order a big meal the items quickly satisfied our hunger and was very tasty. With a healthy tip for the kindness and service, the bill was under $20 usd The place might be over-looked, since the hotel that is in front of the restaurant is rebuilding, but I encourage you to wonder in and give it a try--very warm, interesting and kind people.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    6
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edson, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best jerked chicken”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

During our last visit to Negril, I had jerked chicken at about 10 different restaurants. My favourite was Rainbow Arch. Friendly service, absolutely delicious jerked chicken. Can't comment on any other menu items, but it's a great little restaurant, and it has a book drop, in case you're in need of something to read, or a place to leave a book behind when you're finished it. We will be back during our next stay on the beach.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Authentic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Thank you Denise for the awesome experience AGAIN. LOVE your jerk and curry chicken. So welcoming. True Jamaican experience.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Laid-back Beach Lunches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We love this place for a laid-back lunch on 7 mile beach. We always get the jerk chicken so that's all I have ever had but it is reliably good jerk, reasonably priced and lots of good sides like calaloo and breadfruit. We usually get a few drinks from them and lay out front of their restaurant and find this to be a good central beach spot.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“tasty Jamaican food right on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Rainbow Arch, between White Sands and Charela, is a very casual, friendly little spot on the beach serving very good Jamaican dishes (mostly chicken and fish). Everything is cooked to order, which means you may wait a while for your food (as opposed to jerk stands, which always have meat already grilling, making service quicker…. most of the time). The thing to do - if you can - is to stop by earlier, place your order, and tell them exactly at what time you will arrive. Prices are pretty typical of casual restaurants in the area - generally between $J800 and $1200. Rainbow Arch has a tiny little bar right at the beachfront entrance, so if you choose to not place your order ahead of time, you can always get a drink, sit and listen to music (with the ladies frequently singing along as they cook) while your food is prepared.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainbow Arch Restaurant also viewed

 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to Rainbow Arch Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainbow Arch Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.