We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful long-stay at Rayon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rayon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rayon Hotel to your Saves list
Rayon Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 90 Hotels in Negril
Val-des-Monts, Quebec (Canada)
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Another wonderful long-stay at Rayon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Just came back from our yearly 2-month stay at Rayon. Once again everything was just perfect. Ms. Pansy did many renovations since last year and they are all very nice. This year there was a new cook that was just great. Mr. Rayson, one of the owners, hosted a BBQ with all the trimmings while we were there. All the long-term guests were invited. It was just great. Ms. Pansy, the other owner, cooked everything on the grill herself. It was just delicious. Had lots of fun meeting new guests. We always have the same room in the back overlooking the morass with a beautiful balcony. We even booked a longer stay for next year! Staff is great and security is one of the best.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    22
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
56
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chelsea, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Went back to the Rayon this year and we had asked for and got a room in the back of the resort with a view of the moras and the mountains. Ideal to watch the sunrise and the birds. Just great!. This area of the resort is away from the pool, bar, and road, so is nice and quiet, just the way we like it.

The restaurant is very pleasant. Had breakfast there most mornings.
Try their patato salad. It's so good!
We also arranged for a group super of Curried Goat with friends who are also staying at the Rayon. We enjoyed a drink at the nice and friendly bar before and after supper. The best curried goat so far!

We were there for Valentine's Day. Miss Pansy invited the guest to breakfast with Mimosa and Bailey's for the coffee. The ladies were presented with a rose. Nice touch!

I'm not a pool person so I can't comment on it. But the grounds are well cared for, lush, and tropical with a good variety of trees, shrubs, flowers (saw a few humminbirds!)

The staff is friendly and happy to welcome back returned guests.

The WiFi is available everywhere, the signal is good and it's free.

Security is tight, there is always a guard around, with a chain and a closed gate blocking any vehicle entry.

Planning to return to the Rayon for many years to come

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Paul, MN
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Great staff is what stands out here. It's a friendly, safe & homey vibe. Service and food at restaurant were excellent . The restaurant is on the upper level providing a great view of the grounds. Poolside bar is great for relaxing and playing cards. Ran into a lot of repeat guests - that's a good sign. Hotel is located directly across 7 mile beach. Sun Beach has full services, staff will help you with anything you need. Their food is fantastic and fun crowd. Plenty of dining choices , including great Jerk at Best in the West next-door to The Rayon. Definite return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at The Rayon. It's a very basic, no frills, inexpensive place to stay across the street from the 7 mile beach. Staff is friendly, grounds are lovely. Standard rooms are small with a nice patio. My bed was a little too hard but after indulging all day and night it wasn't much of an issue thankfully. Little Bar by the pool is a fun place to hang out at night but not open during the day. Did not eat at the restaurant so can't comment on the food. Sun beach across the street was full of super friendly people and their bar/restaurant had great food and super friendly staff. Next door is Best in the West Restaurant for great takeout Jerk, or you can hangout there. If you're looking for action or luxury this is not the place but if you want a small hotel, with good security and a home vibe I'd recommend The Rayon.

Room Tip: If I went back I'd upgrade to a suite if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We ended up here for one night due to changes in flight plans. I wanted to love this hotel so much more than I actually did. When we arrived, we were in the middle of a downpour, so the reception suggested we hang out in the lobby until it calmed so they could properly escort us to our room and stay relatively dry. They immediately offered us free Red Stripes and the front desk reception didn't even want to accept a tip. Extremely friendly and helpful staff, we noticed this from check-in time, through our quick stay. The grounds are beautiful and very well-kept. The bar and restaurant are both convenient and you see hard-working staff here, as well. We ate both dinner and breakfast on the property and the food was wonderful. Our breakfast was complimentary. Wide variety of options for both. It seems that every room has a balcony, and the property is nice and small; not difficult to navigate. The beach across the street is very accessible, although we noticed the clientele definitely differs from the 4-5 star resorts we've stayed at in Negril and elsewhere (although this is not a direct reflection of Rayon). Rayon provides soft, clean blue towels to borrow for your time at the beach.

There are a few problems with the hotel. They do provide A/C window units, although we did not use it. It was cool enough at night to leave the balcony door open (there is a screen door to leave closed). If we had chosen to turn on the A/C, there was merely a bedsheet for covers. The front desk may hve been able to provide us with blankets had we asked, but we just opted for no A/C. There is an overhead fan, which made things more comfortable. I got up in the middle of the night to use the bathroom, and saw a roach near the sink. We saw a dead one near the door the next day. I know it's a tropical climate, but I did not see any roaches at the other property we stayed at (a big, all-inclusive). We're from the north, so roaches are not a typical sight and make me squeamish. Others may feel differently. The shower definitely could have been cleaner. There was mold near the drain and the shower curtain (incl. curtain covering the window to the walkway area) both looked drab and moldy. Otherwise, the room was very clean. There was a closet area, not sure if this is useful to other travelers but it certainly wasn't for us. The property is located next to some sort of farm or places with chickens, and the rooster was crowing at 4 am. I guess if you have the A/C on, you probably wouldn't hear that. The bed is pretty small (queen) and a box-spring style mattress that was not comfortable, but not uncomfortable either. There are windows that look right out to the walkway; they're covered with curtains but that gives the hotel more of a motel feeling. All in all, I'd say this is a great place to stay if the occasional roach doesn't bother you, and if they provide blankets at night. The pool looked pretty and relaxing, although we didn't see anyone using it (we were only there one day, though).

Again, I can't rave enough about the staff. Everyone was friendly, helpful, and polite. That goes a long way! The staff are 5 star!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Due to circumstances out of our control, we changed a reservation from another resort to the Rayon in November for the December holidays. We have always stayed on the beach side (this was our 21 st reach to Negril); but had heard good things about the Rayon that we decided on staying there. The location is still across from the best part of the beach, near Sun Beach, Sandy Haven, and the CocoLaPalm. The rates are considerably less than the properties on the beach for the holidays.

We were not disappointed!!

We had a Deluxe Room which is a small room, due to the lateness of our reservation; but it was immaculately clean with a Queen bed, A/C, ceiling fan, small fridge, TV, and 2 balconies, one facing east and one west. We were in the back of the resort which allowed us to watch the sunrise over the mountains behind us. Awesome! This area of the resort is away from the pool, bar, and road, so is nice and quiet, just the way we like it.

The grounds are well cared for, lush, and tropical, the bar was nice, and the pool was clean. The staff made us feel so welcome, everyone there was out to make us feel at home.

The WiFi was strong most of the time we were there and is free. There are 2 WiFi systems and occasionally we had to switch from one to the other to get better signal.

Security was tight, there was always a guard around day and night, with a chain and a closed gate blocking any vehicle entry.

The day before we were to go home, we checked with our airline and discovered that our seats on our return flight to Atlanta were canceled. After dealing with the airline for several hours, the soonest they could get us out was 3 days later. Pansy, the General Manager at the Rayon Hotel, was so accommodating. We didn't have to switch rooms and she said not to worry, that she would give us a good rate. What she did was give us a great rate for the extra 3 days that we had to stay, especially for that time of year. Pansy went out of her way to make us want to return again.

I am already making plans to return to the Rayon Hotel for the 2014 holiday season and experience the exceptional customer service and accommodations at the Rayon Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the resort are quiet. There is no coffeemaker in the rooms; but there is free c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Property..Awesome! Service..Great! Location..across the street from 7 Mile Beach..a quick walk across the street as you follow a walking path to Sun Beach.. Lounge chairs and regular resin chairs..first come first serve .. Great place to spend your day for lunch and drinks..1.50 Red stripe!.. Rayons pool.. sparkling clean everyday..pool bar has a relaxing atmosphere with music and a cook to order anytime menu... Food is awesome! Rooms are beautiful.. We got married in Negril in january 2013, we booked a few rooms for our guests at the Rayon who joined us in Jamaica..all had not one complaint! The night before wedding Miss Pansy threw us a buffet style wedding celebration dinner..decor as if it was our wedding day! Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rayon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rayon Hotel

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#25 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rayon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rayon Hotel features 21 rooms surrounding the lush tropical gardens and fresh water swimming pool. All rooms at Rayon Hotel are tiled with private bathrooms, air conditioning and ceiling fans, some rooms feature the old world charm of four-poster beds. Our friendly staff will be glad to assist you with any special requests or requirements you may have. We are footsteps from the beach, with beach access across the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Rayon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rayon Hotel Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rayon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.