We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Negril escape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Negril Escape Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Negril Escape Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Negril Escape Resort & Spa
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   The Cliffs, West End Road, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 37 Negril B&B and Inns
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Negril escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Negril escape was a beautiful stay. The ocean view and rooms were beautiful. Best sunset in Negril! Stayed in Bamboo ave. my room was clean and relaxing, every building has a different theme so make sure u get the one that suits you.

Room Tip: You can get a diving.lesson at the scuba center located on property
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    37
    12
    8
    12
See reviews for
26
54
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Best way to experience the island life for the first time! Be warned, it's definitely not a Sandals or Beaches. Which was fine for me because that wasn't what I wanted. For a real time get away from it all vacation, the Negril Escape is your best choice. Slow down, have a rum punch and enjoy the sunsets!

Updated, February 2013 - returned to Negril Escape for another week and was extremely impressed with all of the progress that's been made. The pool has been redone, there are more little spots to relax, updated aircon units, and much more. They also have the nicest staff on the island! Being a smaller resort, you get to know everyone from the housekeeping staff to the front desk, and the restaurant staff will greet you by name! Kudos to the Wallace family for staying true to their roots and not losing that special family vibe as they update the facility. Looking forward to another visit in 2014.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

In February 2012, I submitted a review of Negril Escape entitled “a superb cliff location & an enjoyable and peaceful place to stay”.
My husband and I stayed once more at this hotel for three weeks in January, 2013. We thoroughly enjoyed being there again. As usual, the management/owners and staff were very friendly and accommodating to our needs. Our room was comfortable and clean and we loved sitting on our balcony with such a panoramic sea view and incredible sunsets.

We feel that Negril Escape offers great value in a beautiful location and we wonder why the hotel is not always occupied to capacity.

Another reviewer noted in February 2012 and I quote: “This is a Jamaican family run hotel on a good scale, near Rick’s café, and all the amenities of Negril, and yet it is often under-occupied, like many of the individual hotels. Why? Because, the airlines and tour companies now only promote the multinational enormous all-inclusive resorts. These discourage people from leaving the resort, exploring on their own, buying real goods and eating in the restaurants run by local people. The under-occupancy means Escape, like many such hotels, can look a little shabby, compared to the newer gigantic resorts down the road ”.

We totally concur with this reviewer’s comment. However, we also know from just being there, the owners are continuing to upgrade/renovate facilities, e.g. the pool and pool area were recently renovated and there are now many new lounges with good showers adjoining – a great place to relax and soak up the sun. Each day, we walked into town or to any of the small Jamaican-owned restaurants along the road and had only good experiences with friendly people and no hassles. Other guests staying at the resort also had the same good experiences.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed here for 6 days for my birthday getaway. The hotel hosted a welcome dinner for my guest on the first night of arrival which was perfect. They catered to our every need and I appreciated it. They also hosted my birthday Luau for about 30 guest and decorated to go with our theme and I was very impressed. This resort is on the cliff side on Negrils West End and boast the most amazing sunsets you will ever find. Each building has a theme and is decorated to enhance the theme. We stayed in Passage to India, Jamrock and Romancing the Kalbash and all rooms were great. All rooms had fresh flowers, very spacious, a patio with chairs and hammocks to relax, television, air conditioning and bathroom amenities. The staff is very friendly. The owners are very accommodating. The property is a beautiful place to host any type of event...birthday, weddings, yoga retreats even concerts. We saw Dolphins swimming by during our stay, a few even went snorkeling. If you are looking for affordable rates, beautiful sunsets, friendly staff, great food and a great laid back property, Negril Escape Resort and Spa is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean view room so you can see the ocean in the morning and also enjoy the sunset in the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massillon, Ohio, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

If you're looking for seclusion during the off season, this place has it. We figured out quickly that we were the only two people staying here, which was ok, but lonely at times.

Upon our arrival the pool was being worked on, so that was a little disappointing. The sea is rough that time of year (not a good idea to jump in around the cliffs!), so our only option to get in the water required taking a taxi up to the beach.

As far as Negril goes with service and accommodations, I would give this place 2.5 or 3 out of 5. (You should keep in mind that even the "4 star" places in Negril are nothing like NY or Vegas, as Negril is not a ritzy place in general).

Our room didn't quite feel secure, but since we were generally alone, we didn't worry too much. We didn't have hot water while we were there, but we also didn't ask about it, since we were only staying a short while.

We did enjoy the free breakfast every morning and the low prices at the bar. Wifi worked decently, that was a plus. This was more of a place for us to crash when we came back from other activities, so it served it's purpose.

Wanting to check out a few places in Negril, we only stayed here for part of our trip. Based on the other place we stayed in the same area, you may be better off to spend an extra $10 per night for a better atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

This resort is not on the beach, but right on the cliffs. It is possible to swim in the sea from the cliffs. There is good snorkeling right from the resort. We saw even some dolphins. There is no beach on walking distance. In morning there is one free shuttle to the seven miles beach about 7 km from the hotel, which returns in the afternoon. The resort exists our of a number of buildings each with 2 rooms downstairs and 2 up-stairs. Those rooms with sea view are slightly more expensive. Many have a sea view. I spent most of the time enjoying the sea and view from the balcony and reading a book in the hammock. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were there out of season in May and it was very quiet. The rooms could be improved by screens to keep the few insects out and to be able to sleep with a cool sea breeze rather than using the air conditioning.

This place is great for snorkelers, divers, couples and for families with children that are able to swim well. I do not recommend it for young children, neither for those who love the crowds and want to party.

Breakfast isn't great. The resort restaurant is a bit pricey, but opposite to the exit, a bit to the right, there is a small local eatery were they can prepare good local dishes at budget prices. Hygiene standards might not be as you are used at home, but we never got sick. If you want something special you can order in advance. You should not be in hurry as the service is very relaxed.

Because my son was diving we were able to bargain a sea view room for the price of normal room. The dive centre made a professional impression on us and the dive masters were very friendly.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for a room with sea view. These are also further from the road, which might give a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Nice looking campus on the cliffs. Spoiled by poor attitude on the part of management. They seemed resentful I was there. This is off season, so lots of options. I should have left the first day. Lots of petty conflicts over small issues. Finally I moved to another hotel, where everyone was very friendly.

The hotel is not fancy, but is right on the cliffs. Lonely Planet puts it in the luxury category, which is clearly a major exaggeration. But I do not need fancy. What I did not like was the almost hostile attitude.

The dive shop, which is at the hotel, was very nice. Dive masters were friendly and competent. Clear water, Diving not the best in the world but good enough, as one of my friends likes to say about almost everything.

Use the dive shop but don't stay in the hotel.

Room Tip: The front rooms have the best view but are more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Negril Escape Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Negril Escape Resort & Spa

Address: The Cliffs, West End Road, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Negril Escape Resort & Spa 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique resort Located on the cliffs in Negril. Offers a natural, holistic environment. Gardens and paths winding through the limestone to the sea. Swim, snorkle, or scuba dive-(Negril Scuba Centre is located here!) enjoy a message in our spa on the edge of the cliff, or just relax by the pool. 10 cottages- each reflecting the rich,vibrant cultural heritage of Jamaica,from India to Africa, Asia to Europe. Service personalized to the guest's individual wishes. Come Escape, relax, and rejuvenate your body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Negril Escape Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Negril Escape Hotel Negril
Negril Escape Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Negril Escape Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.