We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Good and Bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Westender Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Westender Inn to your Saves list
Westender Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West End Rd, Negril 03277, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
May Day Cabin Special
Ranked #14 of 90 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“The Good and Bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I booked this hotel through a Groupon deal. The Westender Inn is nice overall, depending on what you are looking to do on your vacation. It is far off the beaten path. Although they say they are close to downtown Negril and Rick's Cafe, it is far past them. You will have to take a shuttle that can cost you about $30 for 2 people round trip. The property is well-kept and pretty, and it is very quiet.

There is no beach, although there is water. This is because there are cliffs (aka rocks) instead of sand. While you cannot go out on a beach, the sound of the water is very relaxing.

The rooms were a decent size, and the Direct TV was pretty good. There were certain channels that you could not get at different times (maybe satellite issues).

The weirdest thing was the bed. The king size bed consisted of 2 twin size mattresses on a king size frame. Needless to say, not very fun when you are there with your honey. It forces you both to sleep on one of the beds, which is like only having a twin size bed. The towels in the room were horrible. They were the cheap kind that leave pieces of the towel behind on you when you dry off. I found strands of hair (from the head) from some other person on the towels on two occasions. Yuck!

The restaurant was pretty good. The first day we got there, we went for a late breakfast and they didn't even have half of the items on the menu because they had to go to the market. When they did have the food in stock, it was pretty good. Remember, there are no other places to eat anywhere close! They close pretty early too, so make sure to plan for your dining needs accordingly.

Long story short, this is a great place if you just want to relax with your mate. If you want to get out and explore Negril, you should stay on a hotel that is on the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side near the water so the waves can put you to sleep! Try to be on the top f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westie_Negril, General Manager at Westender Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay at the Westender Inn. We are very pleased with all the positive Tripadvisor comments we received over the years and we work hard to ensure all our guests are just as satisfied. Currently, we are in the process of renovating all our rooms, upgrading linen, landscape, website and the overall hotel appearance. After we are done, we will be sending out announcements.

Negril is divided into 7 miles of white sandy beach and 7 miles of rocky cliffs. This contrast give guest a choice of two distinct experiences. The beach is more touristy and the cliffs is more laid back, relaxing and (I believe) closer to real a Jamaican experience

The Westender Inn is located on Negril cliffs (1.5 miles from Rick’s Café and 7 miles to the center of town). The vast majority of our guests come to the Westender Inn because they prefer a private location that is close to town but not in the middle of all the action. We have shuttle buses for airport transfer and to move guest around town or tours. The cost for Westender Inn local shuttle is 3.50 per person each way. If you do not use Westender Inn shuttle, the cost could be much higher.

Some of our rooms have twin beds combined into a king bed. However, we also have many other rooms with single king beds. I am sorry we did not get a chance to talk before you left. We could have switched your room or change bedding option.

Thanks again your feedback. We will definitely use it to continue improving the hotel and our guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    56
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
36
195
18
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

There was a LivingSocial deal that a friend and I chose to take advantage of to stay at the Westender. From the get go, the staff at the Westender were wonderful. Keith took care of our arrangements and when we arrived, we found out that we were upgraded to an ocean-view suite. Every morning, we would sit and read by our balcony as the waves crashed against the cliffs.

The saltwater pool was a perfect spot to read and enjoy the sound of the waves crashing on the cliffs nearby, and I encourage anyone staying here to get a seaside massage. You'll feel lighter, rejuvenated, and just delighted in general after experiencing Tara's healing touch.

The hotel is more remote than some of the others, but it never felt like we were too far away from Negril proper. We could easily take the shuttle into Negril when we wanted to, or to go out to eat. I would advise to travel with at least one other companion generally if attempting some of the more local thoroughfares versus those associated with tourist spots and hotels.

The staff was entirely wonderful, fully committed to providing the best service to its clients. By the end of the stay, I felt like I had made new friends rather than stayed at a hotel. Staff recommendations for places to eat, what beach to visit, and more were all wonderful. One (of many!) nice thing about the Westender is that it's so small, you get to know some of the other visitors to the island by virtue of bumping into each other regularly.

Two notes: the massage included in the Living Social package was for one massage only, so if there is a second person on the trip, that's an added expense! Also, the Westender staff was absolutely professional, courteous, and respectful, but as we were two women traveling together, I did find that some locals in Negril proper were far more aggressive than they might have been if I had brought a male travel companion along.

I cannot say enough about the Westender Inn: from the beauty of the location to the cleanliness of the room to the terrific customer service provided by all staff members (Colleen, Renee, Jermaine, Chris, Keith, etc.) to just the breath of fresh air the inn provides for one who hadn't taken an overseas vacation in a long time - it was just perfect.

I will certainly be visiting again, and will encourage all of my friends to do so as well!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Westender Inn is at the far west end just outside of Negril, near Rick's and the Lighthouse. If you want to park yourself in an all inclusive resort, this is not for you. We had a rental car and were glad we did-all except for the driving part :-). The staff is very friendly and the food is great. We were steps from the water, although during the time we were there the waves crashing on the rocks made the little beach unswimmable.

Room Tip: There are four rooms in our buliding - two on the first level and two on the upper that have great v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Westender Inn has to be the most beautiful hotel/inn in Negril. The place looks exactly like the photos that they have posted on their website

The view from the rooms are gorgeous! You have your own spacious private balcony with a hammock!! Most of all the service is great!

Big thank you to Renee. I called in advance and told her what I wanted and she recommended the room. When we arrived and she walked us into the room my mouth dropped! The room was absolutely amazing!

I will definitely be returning to the Westender whenever I am staying in Negril!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Westender for our second year anniversary. We decided to stay there based on the reviews. All I can say is that the Westender is more than what people write. There is nothing like experiencing it for yourself. The people there and in the rest of Negril are the nicest people that I have ever met in my entire life.As long as the Westender is there, I will be back!!!! My new home!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape cod, MA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Out of the chaos of the resorts, bars, etc. the Westender is like being on your own private estate. Extraordinary views, lovely salt plunging pool, soothing veranda outside our room, not to mention the most wonderful and fun employees ever! My two daughters surprised me with this trip for my 80th birthday....what fun! Great restaurant, bar, full fresh water pool! And when we wanted to see the action off we went to watch cliff diving, shopping, new restaurants, snorkeling beaches....etc. The employees make the difference making a visit warm and fun and inviting instead of just another resort. Try it!! You'll love it!!

Room Tip: we loved ground floor facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Westender in March thanks to a great deal with Living Social. The location of the Inn is at the end of the West End of Negril (thus the name) and is very isolated from the action in the city. This makes it an ideal spot for those folks who want to get away from it all and unwind. When we travel, we typically rent a car. However, because of the insurance requirements, we chose to forgo this and have the Inn pick us up instead (the current charge is $80 for two people one way). Be very careful if you choose to rent a car. Check your insurance. We checked both our own car insurance and our credit card insurance. This is one of the few countries that neither would insure, which means you need to purchase the insurance offered by the car company. By the time you add this cost, it was quite expensive. In addition, the hotel offers a shuttle for a very reasonable fee ($3.50 per person per one way) and will take you anywhere you want to go. So we ended up saving money by not renting the car.

The property itself is small. There are rooms on both sides of the road, but if you want a view ask for a room on the ocean side. If you are there on a Living social voucher, see if they will upgrade you to one of the suites for an additional cost. They are much nicer than the regular rooms and have just as good a view. This is their slow time so they aren't very busy right now.

The room we were assigned (#4) had a great view. It has a porch with hammock and chairs. The room itself is very small, but adequate. The furnishings are dated (it reminds me of a low-cost American chain) but clean. The bed was comfortable. The air conditioning is marginal and it tends to get warm at the end of the day.

Our voucher included daily breakfast, and this was consistently very good. They offer quite a range of items and you will find all the traditional American types of breakfast foods. We weren't quite as happy with the other meals we had at the facility and found them to be ok but not great (with the exception of the fried chicken which was great).

The service provided by EVERYONE was exceptional. To a person the staff was courteous and friendly. Another big advantage of this hotel is that you won't be bothered by people walking the beach trying to sell you something.

In terms of snorkeling, you can go right off the rocks, but the sights are marginal at best. We went further down in Negril off the cliffs which was some better, and you can also take a boat off the 7 mile beach which is probably the best snorkeling around that area. However, my husband did see two large sting rays right off our room on the last day who hung around and swam with him for a long time. That was thrilling!

Another big treat was the massage that was included in the voucher. It was done by Tara Hayles under the trees just a few feet from the ocean. Awesome. it was also one of the best massages I have ever had, anywhere. Her email is hayles.tara@gmail.com and you can find her on Facebook at Healing Touch Massage.

Overall this was a great getaway and we look forward to returning.

Room Tip: We had Room 4 which was only about 25 feet from the water and had a great overall view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westender Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westender Inn

Address: West End Rd, Negril 03277, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Negril
#12 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#20 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Westender Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westender Inn recently completed three new ocean front luxury log suites. There is something rustic yet stately about log construction and many people love the antique look with modern finishing. Come stay in one of our new ocean front luxury log suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Westender Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westender Hotel Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westender Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.