We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High stress people stay away. The Westender is a place to chill...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westender Inn

Save Saved
You added Westender Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westender Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West End Rd, Negril 03277, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 91 hotels in Negril
Toledo, OH
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“High stress people stay away. The Westender is a place to chill...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We were married in Jamaica on the 29th and decided to spend a few days off the beaten path to get to know Jamaica before going to the hotel we were getting married at. We chose the Westender based on Tripadvisor and like every other review, we were taken back at first by the drive to the property. Once you've spent some time in Negril and experience the noise, intrusions, traffic and hetic pace, you'll begin to understand what makes the Westender a really cool place. Please read this next part carefully: If you have come to the Westender to get beach crazy and go nuts, go to the beach and get nuts. The rest of us came to the Westender to experience a non-spring break type vacation. If the food at the restaraunt was terrible, then maybe you might have a beef...but the food is just great. Breakfast was included in our booking and the meals at lunch and dinner were great. There was a guest chef the week we were there so we enjoyed a price fixe menu our 2nd night there, just out of the blue. I hear a rumor there might be $50 all you can eat lobster coming too!. Right next door is Jackies on the Reef, where I had an insane massage. Nightime at the Westender is laid back and chilled out. I can't say enough about Kaymar and the rest of the staff who just wonderful. It took us a few days to get into the Jamaican groove, and we were more than thrilled to have begun our new lives together at the Westender. Take a chance and get out to the country. Once you've stayed near the beach or the highway and then experience the quiet of a night at the Westender, you'll be sold. Don't stay there and then complain that it wasn't near anything. Thats its charm. You can be where ever you want to go in 10-20 minutes and they'll come bring you home. Meanwhile, you get the peace and quiet at night that you can't experience in the thick of it all. Much respect to the Westender and their staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    231
    46
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
32
175
17
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Just got back from my second stay at the Westender. As on my first trip, the staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. And as before, the food was very good. My room faced the ocean and was cleaned regularly. I was fortunate enough to be there during the week that a guest chef/musician cooked a couple of outstanding meals and provided entertainment.

If you are looking to be close to the Negril action, or on a sandy beach, do not choose the Westender as you will be disappointed. However, if you want to spend your vacation in a laid back environment with gorgeous sunsets at your doorstep; you can't go wrong with the Westender. I went for regular walks on the area roads and never encountered panhandlers that can be a nuisance on Negril Beach. There is frequent (& reasonably priced) shuttle service to the beach and the resorts on the cliffs.

I hope to make this a regular trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

WOW! We just got back from our second vacation at the Westender Inn in Negril, Jamacia and we are ready to book again for next year, (January 16-26). The staff at the Westender were perfect hosts and went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect. We had a great time! The rooms are comfortable and the view is great! Johnny Mo "The Singing Chef" was a blast and the food was amazing.Thank you to everyone at the Westender for some great memories....again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

So i thought that after my first stay at the westender inn i would have a hard time topping that vacation. I WAS WRONG!! When we checked in on january 19th 2013...oh wait, when we got thru customs, the driver, Nelson, was there waiting for us with a big smile saying "hey mon" like we were just there yesterday. He remembered us and that our first stop had to be jerkys for some chicken and a red stripe!! When we got to the resort the entire staff was the same way. From The smallest detail to anything we wanted they came through. The rooms were clean. The food was even better than i remembered.( dont miss breakfast with kamar.) We still loved the remote location. It is located just outside downtown negril so you dont have to deal with the traffic and hustle and bustle of the city. Quiet nights, unless you dont like songbirds and roosters at daybreak with a gentle breeze...sunrises, sunsets, both incredible. My wife and i renewed our vows for our tenth anniversary and rene lined everything up. The pastor, the flowers and the photographer. All at a reasonable price i must say. Skip the big resorts and come to the westender to really be pampered. Another vacation i will never forget.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I just happened to be thinking of my recent trip, in Mid-December of 2012, to The Westender Inn. Boy, do I miss it...What a perfect, 40-th birthday gift to myself!!! I've been to Jamiaca several times. It's a favorite destination of mine. I've had the pleasure of staying in Montego Bay, and Negril, 95% of the time, in an all-inclusive of some sort. So, going to the WestEnder Inn, was going to be a first, for many things to come. This was a last minute trip, so I ended up travelling alone, with the mindset of, I was just going to be turning 40, so go for yourself. For those of you that may or may not know Negril, the property is about a 10 minutes away from Rick's Cafe, in a quiet, beautiful, REMOTE area, off the rocks of Negril. For you beach lovers, this is not the ideal spot, BUT, No Worries, Jermaine provides the transportation to, and from the beach, which is just through town. (or anywhere else for that matter) The property itself has a relaxing area, off the water, to get your tan on! There's also a saltwater pool, off the rocks, which was a first...nice! As well as, a regular pool, across the way. The weather was approx. 85 degrees and gorgeous, 4 of the 5 days I was there. With only a half day of rain, which was still relaxing, with a drink in hand, staring out at the waves, slam up against the rocks, from my hammock. Room #9, if you're interested!! Literally from the moment I made my reservations, which Trevine bent over backwards to make this happen, to the moment it was time for me to unfortunately leave, Trevine and Renee, at the front office, were nothing but, helpful and accomodating, to whatever they could do to make sure I was happy, and, comfortable. I have to say, compared to "all inclusive" resorts, you got a different feeling when I was greeted by Trevine, when I arrived, you can tell she genuinely cared. Thank you. The bedrooms, and, grounds are very well kept and maintaned, and, you ALWAYS walk out of your room, to fresh saltwater air, and,a smiling face. My bed was very comfy, and, room was always nice, and, cold with the AC on. One night I just fell aslleep, with my windows open,listening to the waves slamming up against the rocks. RELAXING!!! Thats what this proerty is. It's a break, away from noise. Im from New York, so I can appreciaite this. There's a nice, quiet restaurant on the premises, with a great selection of choices...when in doubt, ask Anthony, cooking up the delicacies in the kitchen, he's always a pleasure to talk to, and, makes you feel welcomed anytime you see him. Kemar, and Sheldon, will serve you up some nice cold drinks, or nice, ice cold beer. If you have any "dancehall" reggae cd's, bring them down, Im sure Sheldon would love the gesture. For the sports fan in me, (football), there is a property nearby, that has the NFL package! Make sure to look up Elmer (Giants/Raiders fan), and, his band, "the Drunxxx". These guys really made my trip FUN!!! If you REALLY want to experience Negril and it's culture, spend an evening with Elmer, Bill and Steve for a very fun, and unique night(s) out in Negril. I cant thank them enough, for some great laughs, and, once in a lifetime experiences, showing me life in Negril, and meeting some awesome people along the way. This is something you wont find in that tourist guide! And, come back to your quiet room, and, pass out to listening to the waves. Just a personal observance, I witnessed two weddings, held there...really nice. Once again, I saw Renee, make sure, to do whatever necessary to make those newlyweds, as happy as can be. VERY attentive, and, such a plesant person to be around. You can tell she takes alot of pride in her work. And, it's all run, and managed beautifully by the owner, Keith. I hope you have the pleasure of meeting, and, talking with such a gracious,mild mannered, gentleman. All in all, he made my trip happen for me, and, I've never come home from a trip, as relaxed, as when I stayed at The Westender, and, that's no lie.Thank you Keith, and your humble and great staff. So, this property is a PERFECT place if you are really looking to get away from everything. No "tourist traffic". Time to reflect, time to relax, time to just spend with someone, enjoy an AMAZING sunset evening. and soak in Jamaica, at the Westender Inn.
PS...I'd also like to throw out there, this would be a great place to bring the WHOLE family, or group of friends. It's not a huge property, and by that I mean, Im sure you can make an arrangement with Keith, the owner, to take up a building of rooms, or the interconnecting suites they have, I believe #15. Really nice, with livingroom,kitchen, balcony, facing the ocean. Whatever your need, Im sure they can accomodate you. I cant wait to go back, and, just relax with some good people.
Mark M.
Bklyn, NY

Room Tip: I stayed in Room #9, faces water, has a hammock, leads out onto the sunning area. If you're a gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We had been wanting to take a nice warm and relaxing vacation for a long time but could never afford it until we saw a livingsocial deal for the westender inn. The deal was too good too pass up and included a 5 night stay with breakfast included. So we purchased it and went in January. The weather was amazing, the local people were great, food was good and the beaches to die for. However, the Americans who ran the hotel and all of their buddies who were staying there were awful. The owners daughter was there for the 5 days and she was the worst of them all. She made no attempt to welcome us, in fact she made us feel so uncomfortable and unwanted that we would never go back. Im not sure if she knew we were on a livingsocial deal but she made a comment about us being cheap while at dinner. My boyfriend took a liking to the jamaican brandy which was not popular there so it was a cheaper drink. We were at dinner, she was sitting at a table next to us talking with the manager. We started a conversation with another american couple on vacation and my boyfriend mentioned how much he enjoyed the brandy. At that moment the daughter leaned over and loudly whispered to the manager, "ya because its cheap". We felt so embarrassed. She and her other friends, or friends of her fathers, smoked weed everyday anywhere even at the tables of the restaurant while we were eating it was incredibly disrespectful. We never felt invited to this place by them, they treated their staff (the local jamaicans) like dirt and they overcharged our bill many times yet when we mentioned it nicely they acted annoyed as if we were lying or cheap. The hotel itself was decent, the sheets in the rooms are hard, scratchy and unbearable but overall it was okay. Like i said, the locals who work there are amazing and they cook delicious food. If you want to go here and not get treated like dirt, i would recommend bringing plenty of cash to spend.

Room Tip: we stayed in a deluxe room oceanview but our view wasnt great and i wouldnt consider it to be deluxe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westie_Negril, General Manager at Westender Inn, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
The Westender Inn consistently to maintain a high quality product (98.7% approval rating) in a clean, safe and friendly environment. I am the General Manager of Westender Inn and I am Jamaican as well as my entire staff. I agree with you, Westender Inn staff is doing an excellent job with guest service and the food is delicious.

I am very sorry if you left feeling uncomfortable or unwelcome in anyway. I always try to encourage guests to talk about their experience while on property so that I can address any issues while guests are still on property. I sincerely wish we had the opportunity to talk before you left.

During your stay, the owner's daughter was here for a short time with close family friends as well as long time repeat guests and after speaking with her, I honestly think this was a case of misunderstanding. The Westender Inn staff and owner's family are customer oriented and we are very pleased with all the positive Tripadvisor comments we received to date. We will continue working hard to ensure all our guests leave just as satisfied.

Thank you for your feed back but I wish really wish we had a chance to
clarify this misinterpretation before you left.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We spent four nights at the Westender in December 2012, to celebrate our 10th anniversary. As a little background, we have been visiting Jamaica for 10 years and are primarily beach people. On our 2011 trip, we did the One Love Pub Crawl and one of the stops was the Westender. We stepped off of the bus and immediately fell in love with the property. I knew then that we would be splitting our 2012 trip, part on the beach and part at the Westender.

From my very first inquiry, Keith handled my questions, changing dates, and more questions with humor, grace and helpfulness. That customer service extended to our entire interaction with all of the staff at the Westender. They not only went out of their way to make you feel they were happy you were there, but also went out of their way to ensure that you wanted to come back! The staff was truly exceptional, from Renee (shout out for the Iowa connection!), to Kumar, to Collin and Korinne, to Sheldon and Germaine - everyone was wonderful.

The property is gorgeous, secluded and private, and even when there are other people there, you can always find a quiet spot to yourselves. The pool was well maintained and a welcome respite from the heat on the cliffs when the sea was too choppy to get in. The on-site restaurant had a nice variety of options on a given day/night, and the food was very, very good. We also really enjoyed the Sunday Night Bonfire, but lesson learned - make sure you go early if you want to eat! We arrived a little late and most of the food was already gone!

The room was well-appointed and the bed was super comfortable. I really loved that there is a walk-in area off of the bedroom with the armoire and some shelves so that you could really put things our of the way. Korinne's towel art was fun and different each day we were there! We absolutely loved sitting on the patio with a Red Stripe, watching and listening to the sea. I can only imagine how nice the suites are!

Although the resort is a bit off of the beaten path, the staff make it SO easy to leave the resort and explore. The shuttle is always available and is at your disposal, for the most part. Very stress free and reliable as well as reasonably priced!!!

All in all - we truly loved our visit to the Westender and are already planning our return stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westender Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westender Inn

Address: West End Rd, Negril 03277, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Negril
#7 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#9 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Westender Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westender Inn recently completed three new ocean front luxury log suites. There is something rustic yet stately about log construction and many people love the antique look with modern finishing. Come stay in one of our new ocean front luxury log suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Westender Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westender Hotel Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westender Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.