We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have asked for more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westender Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Westender Inn to your Saves list
Westender Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West End Rd, Negril 03277, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$99 (USD)
Ranked #12 of 90 Hotels in Negril
Silver Spring, Maryland, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't have asked for more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

The Westender Inn is the epitome of Jamaica. They are very service oriented and I was hard pressed to get a "no" out of anyone.The entire staff had a smile and the phrase of the week was "no problem". I feel like i made some lifelong friends and i did not want to leave them. Want your hair braided? They have someone who can do that for a tip. want a massage by the beach? They have someone there that can do that too. My wife said it was the best she ever had.
This is not an "all inclusive resort" so be sure to budget your money accordingly. I wouldn't call this a bad thing because you don't get that feeling of needing to get as much out of the resort as possible which can sometimes keep you on the resort instead of being able to leave and explore.
Speaking of exploring they have their own taxi service to take you anywhere you want and if he is not available they will call someone reputable for you.
The food was great and i never left feeling hungry. We had the best sunsets i could have asked for, as soon as it crested over the horizon you could hear audible clapping and hooting from the others staying at the resort. I watched everyday from my hammock located right outside my room door. Which incidentally was the best place to sleep at night. The waves lulled me to sleep and i didn't even want to sleep in my room. Not that there was anything wrong with the room, i just couldn't help myself. The rooms were neat and clean. The water pressure was good and the closet was dare i say "walk in" size, which worked well for my wife and I. Over all I had the most wonderful experience i could have asked for and we look forward to making the trip next year and we may start celebrating our Anniversary there.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    48
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
35
179
17
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

The rooms overlooking the sea are good value. You hear the waves breaking against the rocks. Facing south, so the sun rises and sets over the water in winter. Excellent food from the hotel kitchen, open dining area. Good jogging on flower-lined roads and in the hills nearby, with with almost no traffic. Small salt-water pool where the waves splash in. Medium size pool nearby. Rooms clean. Everyone (staff and guests) friendly. Cons: no beach and, if surf is high no swimming. It's about a 20 minute van ride to the Negril beach, 10 minutes to the main West End restaurants, Ricks Cafe, etc. The Westender provides low-cost and convenient van rides.

Room Tip: The "garden villas" are in a separate building, across a very quiet road from the sea; thu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

We stayed here for a few days before a wedding. I REALLY enjoyed that it was away from all the tourists. It was very secluded and private. The view from the seaside room is AMAZING!!

This place would not be for everyone... because it is more low key, less party that many other hotels.

The coral beach is very beautiful and it was fun to pick around the coral.

We had lunch and dinner at the resturant. I wasn't a fan of the jerk pork, but the dinner we had was AMAZING!!!

We meet one of the owners (dan i think) he was very friendly and so was the entire staff.

If you want a nice relaxing spot, this is the palce for you. We hope to return one day.

Room Tip: i forget which room we were in, but the sea side room (where you can see the bar on the cliff) was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montville, NJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

When I first arrived, I was slightly disappointed - Westender seemed a LONG way from Negril, the swimming pool was small and across the road, and the restaurant partially overlooked a grassy parking lot.... but then it happened - I fell in love with the place - it's SO gorgeous, serene, with a 180+ degree view of the sea - no pretense, its just you (and your party!), the rocks and the sea! Add Keith (manager/owner) and his staffs' genuine warmth and caring, and this is what creates the karma of Westender!

In my opinion, the Westender is ideal for those who are:
- looking for a quiet, natural, remote, seaside (rocky but not sandy) location (NO hustlers here!) but still within a 10 min drive to Negril
- adventurous, but wanting a comfortable stay (rooms are clean, and have wireless/AC/TVs).
- seeking to avoid all-inclusive or built-up "disney-like" sites.
- runners/walkers - there are miles of very lightly traveled roads to hike and run (check for local conditions)
- divers/snorkelers - coral reef close by is excellent, and diving was good even when all other locations in Negril were closed due to rough seas.
- couples, solo travelers or family with older kids.

Finally, we rented a car during our stay, however, it was stressful driving, and difficult to find some of the hidden waterfalls/blue holes, etc (no good signs!!) . Next time I will consider using their guides/tours/shuttles.

We definitely will return!!!

Room Tip: Get the larger rooms, if possible- the smaller rooms (we originally had #5) do have king size beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed here for a week during the christmas holiday and it was christmas every day!The staff was very helpful in orgainzing any activites we had planned.The food was great! We ate at other resturants and still felt hungry but not there ! You get want you pay for. Cant wait to go back!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Stayed here for 1 week. It is a small and quiet hotel, more to relax and enjoy the beautiful nature of the country. We went here at December, and the weather was almost always sunny and warm.

Rooms:
Most rooms have great ocean view. Very clean and layed out conveniently. Bed was very comfortable, tv and ac worked very well all the time. Always had hot water without any problem. The only negative i can say is-flushes are not as strong as in US, so it is better not throw any paper and still it does not work very well. I think this can be improved.

One quick note, rooms are right in front of the ocean so during the nights you may most likely hear rough waves, this did not affect to my sleep though.
Wireless signal was poor at the beginning but it got ok shortly,i think they just arranged a new wireless system so that was the reason. We used a wireless card to connect to the network and each time you need to enter the pin and access code.

Staff:
Very friendly staff, always did their best to help our needs. Special thanks to:
Jermaine--you have been always on time, never rejected our requests to stop by the market or a restaurant to pick something. Always patient. Gave great advice on where to go around.
Kemar--We will remember your great smile, nice drinks and service...oh and the good reggae music you played all the time :)
Keith and Tamesha, and all the rest--Thanks for being friendly,helpful and responsive to all our requests.

Restaurant:
Food was delicious. Whatever we tried on the menu, we liked it. For breakfast Spanish omellette, and ackee and saltfish was our favorite. They have great Jamaican coffee.
For lunch and dinner we tried snapper rundown, steamed fish, curry chicken and curry goat, and we loved it. Lunch and dinner prices ranged from 12-28, average was 15 if i am not wrong. Most of the menu consisted of local homemade type of food which was great, do not look for fast food here. Only thing is, it took kind of long to get the food ready. Even we called in advance to order, we usually waited at the restaurant for a good 15 mins or more. It may be a good idea to order and ask them to give you a call when it is ready. But at the end, it was always very delicious and served nicely.

Sea/pool:
It has a small private cliff beach(no sand). We never got the chance to get in the sea from the hotel because it was really rough. We heard it is sometimes really calm, but it was not during our stay, maybe at another time of the year it is.There is a nice pool though. So most of our week we went to the 7 mile beach which is like 15-20 mins from the hotel where the sea and beach is amazing, so it was not a big deal for us.

Transportation:
We did not rent a car. Hotel shuttle took us to the beach and restaurants around for $3.5 one way, so we were able to drink, and also the roads we took mostly did not have signs so it was better to let someone who knows the area to drive. To see the close by attractions, we took a tour from Nelson to YS Falls and Black River, which was like 1.5 hours away from the hotel. I recommend you take a tour from Nelson to these places or any other place around, he is a very good tour guide. He knows everything about the area. He would stop by the road and get us some ackee fruit from trees or pimento plant. He explained us everything we saw around, type of the houses, buildings,history and anything you may want to learn about the local lifestyle at country side. He also has a good sense of humor, challenged us with his funny riddles and would honk to everyone he saw on the road and say something funny to them. We stopped on the road to get some freshly caught shrimp and tried delicious pumpkin soup. Again he took us back to the airport for $80.

Overall, we had a great time here and it was one of the most memorable vacations! Thanks again to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011 via mobile

Spent a month here and would have stayed longer. Will be back. The folks here are great. Its comfortable and relaxing

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westender Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westender Inn

Address: West End Rd, Negril 03277, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Negril
#12 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#15 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Westender Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westender Inn recently completed three new ocean front luxury log suites. There is something rustic yet stately about log construction and many people love the antique look with modern finishing. Come stay in one of our new ocean front luxury log suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, T4B, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westender Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westender Hotel Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westender Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.