We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Every Moment of It” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catcha Falling Star

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Catcha Falling Star to your Saves list
Catcha Falling Star
West End Road | PO Box 3022, Negril, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SPECIAL OFFER!! HURRY
Ranked #3 of 91 Hotels in Negril
West Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Loved Every Moment of It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This place is beautiful. We stayed in the Libra room and our views were amazing in the day with the clear water and at night with the starry sky. Great place to watch the sunset from and also for enjoying a nice, romantic dinner during sunset. There is great snorkeling right off of the hotels cliffs, it definitely made the experience even better. We saw parrot fish among an array of small fish, a small stingray, seastars, tons of urchins and other beautiful things right off of the hotel cliffs where you can enter the water. The staff was also very nice and the food at their restaurant, Ivan's, very good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    93
    16
    5
    1
See reviews for
64
427
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

If you are one to prefer the cliffs, you should definately check this out. We gave the cliffs a try and really thought this property was beautiful with an amazing, attentive staff.

Now, a few pointers...some rooms/cabins do not have AC and we suffered our first night but were moved the next day to one of the suites. Still hot (only AC in bedroom) but manageble.This should be a consideration in the hot/humid months.

Restaurant was excellent as well as bar staff. Tried a nice selection of all 3 meals and was always very pleased. Have to repeat that the staff was top notch!

Location is nice as we strolled to Ricks one day but bailed once all the buses showed up. The security guard will help you with just about anything from rides/restaurants/peanuts to crossing the road to go to the store (which came in handy for room supplies).

There are tons of steps going every which way so I was a tad paranoid of tripping/falling and kept the drinking to a minimum. The ocean was fun to jump into but was a pain in the butt to get out on the ladder. After a few trips up the ladder, I decided to just hang out in the pool which is small but a nice alternative.

I would recommend one of the newer suites unless you are ok with the very rustic cabins without AC. If I had to pick, I would pick one on the lower level as the 2nd floor was still pretty hot and the AC had a hard time with the vaulted ceiling keeping the bedroom cool.

We will definately return for dinner as the food/view/service cannot be beat but we are more of beach bums than cliff dwellers...

Hope this helps someone out!

Room Tip: First Floor in the newer building with suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is our favorite spot in Negril! From the chill vibe to the dolphins to the great staff and food we just keep coming back. This time we stayed in Sky - it's a beautiful new room with a fabulous of the sea. Each morning we opened the curtains and French doors to soak everything in before heading down for a great breakfast with Carol and Ordia. Can't wait to return next year (or later this one :-) )

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed at Catcha Falling Star the end of April. We were in Jamaica for a family wedding, and we had no clue where to stay, so we decided to stay at the same place as a family member who had made their reservations based on the advice of a friend. We were in Gemini 2, one of the smaller units, which satisfied all of our needs. The room was clean, the queen size bed comfortable, and the bathroom was perfect. Our view of the Caribbean from our porch was perfect. All of the staff at Catcha are very friendly and helpful. The food at the restaurant is reasonable and very good. The view we had while eating was spectacular. We were able to walk to
We especially liked our taxi driver/guide Dandy. He was so helpful with telling us about the things we saw as he was driving, and also answering all my questions. We went on two tours with him, both of which we enjoyed.
We will certainly go back to Catcha if we ever make another trip to Jamaica.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenmoore, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Hubby and I stayed at Catcha Falling Star in the Libra cottage May 4th to 7th. It is an incredibly beautiful location and we feel so lucky to have discovered it. This was our first stay on the cliffs in Negril, although we have stayed on the beach several times before. Also, our first non-AI. All I can say is WOW! This hotel is just beautiful, intimate, and the Libra cottage is absolutely divine.
There was a wedding there our first night which was very loud, and all we wanted was to sleep after a long day traveling, but they were finishing up by 10:30 so it was not too late. The seas had been very heavy during the day due to a storm out at sea, and we could not get in the water. After midnight, we experienced what we came to call the "blow hole" which was exactly that. An opening from the caves below to the surface. When the seas and the wind whipped up just so, there would be a very loud snort/whistle of the air escaping to the surface - right in front of the Libra cottage. This went on all night long, so no sleep for the weary the first night. In the morning the management graciously offered us a different room to sleep in for the night if the wind didn't calm down enough to stop the noise. We had asked to move rooms, but they didn't want us to miss out on the Libra location and charm since we had reserved that cottage. Fortunately, things did settle down and we did not have much more noise from the blow hole for the rest of the visit!
I loved this small and intimate location. There is small grocery right across the street with just about everything, and I mean everything, you need. The guard will help you flag down a route taxi to get around to other places for meals. We never waited more than a few minutes for a ride. All of the staff were lovely, from the groundskeepers to the wait staff and bartenders at Ivan's. Ben the dog makes an appearance every morning after breakfast so you can get the "dog fix" if you're missing your canine friends at home :-).
We went to Ivan's several times for meals and drinks but there are so many options within a few minutes route taxi ride. My hubby surprised me with the 100 candles dinner for my birthday - and it was set up right in front of our cottage on the cliff overlooking the sea. Delicious and an incredible experience.
We absolutely would go back, and have booked our stay for same time next year.

Room Tip: Loved Libra - definitely worth the price. You don't have to be sea front because there are so ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

After spending a week on seven-mile beach, staying three nights at Catcha Falling Star was the perfect way to end our vacation. No hassle, no noise, no drama! Catcha has a perfect spot on the cliffs with the best views of sunset and of Rick's Cafe (great background for photos, especially with their Jamaican flag). Seating in the bar and restaurant offer one perspective, and climbing down to different levels of the cliff to sit under your private umbrellas offer another. We saw dolphins and sail fish from our private spot, remarking that people pay thousands of dollars to be so lucky. Be careful snorkeling and diving and note that rooms with separate living areas may only have A/C in the bedrooms. Excellent food and exceptional service!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I spent four nights at Catcha Galling Star last week for a destination wedding. The staff was amazing and very accomodating. The food was great. The scenic views are inspiring. We stayed in two different rooms - Leo, a two BR suite, and Star, a two bedroom cottage. I feel in love with the Star. Get a cottage if you can deal with no AC -- it's a great space. This was my fourth time in Negril and first time staying on the West End. Catcha Falling Star was - by far - my best overal lodging experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catcha Falling Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catcha Falling Star

Address: West End Road | PO Box 3022, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#3 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#5 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are many places to stay in Negril, Jamaica on the cliffs... ...but where else will you be pampered at a cliff property unlike any other on the planet... Catcha Falling Star Resort on the Negril Cliffs...Our lovely little Negril cliff resort property overlooks the beautiful Caribbean Sea. Catcha Falling Star is truly the "Gem of Jamaica". Nestled among the tops of the Negril cliffs of the West End with a spectacular view of the sea below will make you want to "linger longer" in Negril, Jamaica! These seaside cliff cottages capture the true essence and ambiance of Jamaica. Now yours to discover. . . A priceless experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Catcha Falling Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catcha Falling Star Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catcha Falling Star, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.