We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and accomodations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catcha Falling Star

Save Saved
You added Catcha Falling Star to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Catcha Falling Star
West End Road | PO Box 3022, Negril, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SPECIAL OFFER!! HURRY
Ranked #3 of 91 hotels in Negril
Crystal City, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food and accomodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We love Jamaica and places like Catcha are the reason why....beautiful gardens, private nooks and accommodating staff make this hotel a delightful getaway. The restaurant Ivans is very popular due to it's amazing food so we were pleased that it is only open to the public during the evening hours....thus allowing us to enjoy this quaint property during the day without feeling crowded. Another bonus? Free blue mountain coffee in the AM.....without a doubt we will return to Catcha Falling Star!!

Room Tip: Book the Sky Cottage---soooo comfortable and beautifully crafted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    538
    92
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
61
415
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seymour, Connecticut, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying here for 3 nights. The staff was wonderful, bar served great drinks especially the big bamboo, be sure to ask for it. The bartenders were out of this world and it was a fun place to hang out at night. We celebrated my birthday here and the staff was really into making it an experience I will never forget,

Rooms were very nice and the place is clean. Very good food as well.

We also did check out some of the local places in the area and had a good time every where we went.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We just returned on 4/12/13 from a weeks stay at Catcha. Everything people have written about this place is true. The rooms were clean and spacious (stayed in the Moon and Star), the food at Ivan's was excellent, there wasn't a meal that we didn't enjoy (the Calypso trio was one of our favorites). I have to say outside of the beautiful property it's the staff that made this vacation so memorable. They go above and beyond to treat you special (from remembering your name to what you drink and like to eat). Thank you Bradley, Carol, Tinisha, Kinisha, Kevin (knows every word to every song), and all the staff that I can't remember their names (sorry). We will be returning next year for sure, I think we found our paradise away from home.
Just a note there is a grocery store just across the street where you can pick up cold beer, munchies, fruit and anything you might of forgot to bring.

Carolynn & Al

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Loved the place. Perfect place to just sit around, relax...and do absolutely nothing. Here are some tips for first time travelers (like ourselves):

-Bring cash!! small bills for tips.
-Stop somewhere between the airport and the resort to get beers, snacks, waters, etc. Fridge are provided in the rooms. Help save $$ and very convenient.
-Get a map of the resort layout first so you know exactly where each cottage/suite is located in relation to the bar, kitchen, main way, etc. If privacy is your top priority then Sagi is probably ideal for you. (good luck booking it though)
-If you want the newest suites than the Coral or the Sky is your best bet
-Be aware that room services are free (for those who want to eat in the privacy of their unit)
-MUST try the soursop smoothie
-Free coffee are provided until 11 am. Coffee maker is provided in the room, so you can brew your own coffee if you want to
-Check the prices of the food so that you can budget accordingly.
-I wouldn't go outside of the resort alone.

Room Tip: My husband and I stayed at the Coral suite, which is one of the two newest suites (the other one is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This hotel is in a beautiful spot, as all of the reviews attest to. The room we stayed in was spacious, clean and comfortable. The hotel staff were extremely warm, friendly and helpful. The food and drinks were great. The grounds are beautifully kept. However, given the cost to stay there, I would have expected several details to be attended to. First, towels were not available by the sea/pool. Second, during a rain storm in the middle of the night, water dripped through the ceiling. Finally, despite this hotel being cliffside, life-saving devices were not available, and two hotel employees drowned during our stay. I know this has been difficult for hotel staff and management, however, I would expect any hotel in such close proximity to the sea and particularly one as expensive as this, to provide access to live-saving equipment for guests and staff alike.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catcha, Manager at Catcha Falling Star, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear LizzieCO32,

Thank you for mentioning the positive aspects of your visit, especially your comments regarding the staff. We are addressing all the issues you have mentioned. The loss of two of our team members was a terrible accident due to rough seas. Our staff and long time repeat guests suffered a sad loss and we are doing all that can be done for the staff and the families of Tristan and Damian. It is indeed inherently dangerous by the sea and the hotel has life saving measures that are inspected twice annually . We have since made several additions to our safety program that go beyond the requirements. As a small hotel, we were all deeply affected and are pulling together to get through this very sad period. We would like to thank all the past guests who have sent their condolences and kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

If you are looking for a place to just to relax with a loved one and have wonderful views, great food and drinks, want to sit back enjoy the sun, sand and sangria and forget about work, stress and daily hassles, You must come here!!!
The best staff all around!! (They will go out of their way to make this vacation the one you will never forget!) from Mauvette and Andrea at the front office, to Carol at the bar and everyone at Ivan’s GREAT FOOD & JERK SAUCE and MANGO DRESSING!
Mr. Jamaican man- Jackie!! and to everyone at the front gate who got me and the car out safely every time!
If you are going to rent a car…remember.. left left left side driving!!! People and animals are always in the streets (very narrow with large potholes on county roads).. but I have to drive and see the sites!!!
Great rooms, beautiful grounds, great music, 7 Mile Beach was beautiful, YS Falls was breathtaking even in the rain!!! …Jamician me crazy!!! LOL
Thank you to everyone who made this one of my best trips with my sister!! I will return!!! 

Room Tip: I love the cottages and 2nd floor rooms all have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Wow! We plan on returning -- which is not our usual vacation plan -- but this place is outstanding.

Kudos to the staff -- they all were friendly and with amazing memories of what we liked, making it very personal. I can't mention everyone (partly because my memory for names is awful) but people who stand out:

Mauvette at the front desk was always helpful.

Tanisha at the restaurant remembered what we ordered after one time and gave great service.

Tara came from offsite (Oya was gone) and gave my wife the two best massages she ever has had -- perfect pressure, came early and stayed late -- went way over the time we booked her for

The site is beautiful - it's a small property but lots of levels to it so you can have privacy if you want. The pool really is tiny but adequate -- my pool loving wife was satisfied and it gave a nice place to cool off.

We stayed in Aries. Water pressure was great in the shower, he ceiling fan was fine for the kitchen area, loved ac in the bedroom. There is a water shortage in Negril now so water pressure in sinks everywhere is a bit low but perfectly adequate. The view was amazing. The bed is harder than I like.

There is not much to do in Negril -- lots of little store fronts selling cheap stuff and the craft market with the same -- so if you love shopping this may not be your place.

Most of the restaurants are closed for lunch which was a surprise -- though Ivan's has a good lunch. Xtabi and rock house were open though in my opinion not worth it. Out of town patties and just natural and I think LTUs are open and supposed to be good. Sips and bites looked good but at 1215 they were only ready to serve breakfast. Check out Ros Roddys for a cool lunch experience.

You can walk to all the restaurants worth eating at in the area in a mile or less. We felt very comfortable walking on the road though you have to be aware of traffic and ready to get out of the way

We ran almost every day -- Catcha is at one end of things pretty much and after a mile the road was very quiet. That means I wouldn't recommend a woman run alone there -- we saw the occasional pot smoking local and they probably were harmless -- we never felt threatened -- but you could encounter people in pretty isolated spots.

If you can bring your own towel it's kind of nice -- there were times in the am there weren't any out yet. It was worth keeping one a few days once you got it.

Someone brought inflatable tubes which was a great idea -- to float in the ocean or pool.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Catcha Falling Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catcha Falling Star

Address: West End Road | PO Box 3022, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#2 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#3 Business Hotel in Negril
#7 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are many places to stay in Negril, Jamaica on the cliffs... ...but where else will you be pampered at a cliff property unlike any other on the planet... Catcha Falling Star Resort on the Negril Cliffs...Our lovely little Negril cliff resort property overlooks the beautiful Caribbean Sea. Catcha Falling Star is truly the "Gem of Jamaica". Nestled among the tops of the Negril cliffs of the West End with a spectacular view of the sea below will make you want to "linger longer" in Negril, Jamaica! These seaside cliff cottages capture the true essence and ambiance of Jamaica. Now yours to discover. . . A priceless experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Catcha Falling Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catcha Falling Star Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catcha Falling Star, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.