We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catcha Falling Star

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Catcha Falling Star to your Saves list
Catcha Falling Star
West End Road | PO Box 3022, Negril, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 90 Hotels in Negril
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

My wife, our teenage daughter and I recently stayed for several days at Catcha, a boutique resort in the West end of Negril, and found it most deserrving of it''s high praise from other revieweers. Our 2-bedroom suite was large and immaculately maintianed with an unbelievable view of the sea. In fact, all the suites at this boutique resort have great views. Mauvette, a manager and reservationist, made us feel welcome in my very first conversation with her, unlike a few of the other priceier resorts in the west end of Negril. And this welcomig attitude was maintained by all the staff upon arrival and during our entire stay. In fact, each of the staff greeted us by name from the moment we arrived. The chefs, Shelley, whose cakes are to die for, and Garfield provide some of the very best meals to be had in Negril (Ivan's Bar and Restaurant are on almost everybody's rec list for Negril restaurants).. The property is not easily described , with different levels and all sorts of neat little nooks and cranniews for sunning, reading or simply hid away on a side cliff by the sea. And the grounds are beautifully maimtained. We visited a few of the more expensive oroperties in the area (can walk to many of them) and would definitely take Catcha as our first choice.Too often web pages go overboard in marketing efforts to attract customers, but with Catcha, the web page actually understates this terrific little propert. About the Negril area and its people: we found the general piopulation of Jamaicans here to be very friendly and helpful with wondefull senses of humor , whether in a store to pick up a couple of items or the taxi drivers or just folks on the street. Unlike some reports by others, we were never hassled or concerned about crime or such thingswhen roaming around (And we are city dwellers who know about crime!). Security on the property , of course, is very good. In our experience, Catcha was just a great stay in Negril, a smaller town in a beautiful part of Jamaica with wonderful people. We loved it and will return.

One mote item: for a great 1/2 or fulll day of touring at reasobal prices, contact Floyd (Pink Floyd Tours). He is a big guy wiht a big heart and a great laugh and a wonderfull attitude who, after a day of touring , will be a new found freind. He is from Negril and knows Western Jamaica well and also seems to know everybody in Western Jamaica, rural or urban. He provided us with an unforgettable experiience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    102
    16
    5
    1
See reviews for
70
440
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

My husband and I have recently returned from our one week stay at Catcha. We have always stayed at all inclusive resorts in the past, so I was a little nervous about this trip. Any anxiety I had about staying at a smaller resort without all inclusive features was quickly forgotten.

Our driver to/from the airport and also for an all day excursion (Dandy) was amazing. He was willing to answer questions, offer info about the area, point out areas of interest, make stops along the way if we chose to do so, and was a pleasure to chat with! All of the staff on the resort was very friendly and accommodating. Everything was "no problem", and it was so easy to relax with having no worries there.

The water was a bit choppy for our days there, but the water off the cliffs was still amazing. My husband loved jumping off the cliffs, and there were lower areas to enter the water if you choose to do so. The pool is on the small side, but perfect for this place. We were frequently the only two in the pool. There are plenty of chairs, palapas, and little tucked away areas if you'd like to sun in some privacy.

The food at Ivans was wonderful, and we had many meals there. We ventured off the resort several times for some authentic Jamaica cuisine, and had some awesome experiences. The Push Cart was amazing (great vibe/people/food - my husband LOVED the Nyammings Platter) as was Three Dives. Kuyaba came recommended by some fellow patrons, but we found the menu overpriced and their driver (as they provide free transportation to their restaurant) a bit rude (the only rude person we met while we were there!). We went to Margaritaville so we could spend an afternoon at 7 mile beach. The beach is beautiful, but the food/service at Margaritaville was awful. Definitely don't go for the food. So happy we stopped at the beach, however.

The other guests at this place were wonderful. Guests ranged in age, but we found so many other couples around our age (late 20's/early 30's) and met some really cool people. It was surprising how many other visitors were from Northeast US! It was so easy to meet people here, and everyone was just so relaxed and nice here.

We stayed in the Sagittarius and it was soooo pretty. The views were the best on the resort in our opinion. It was a very private area with a beautiful outdoor shower (port hole looks out to the ocean while you can shower under the beautiful sky). You could overhear some music from Ivan's next door, but if you shut the bathroom door, it muted it very well. The music ends early, so it was no problem at all. We definitely recommend closing the shutters during the heat of the day and keeping your A/C on to keep it a comfy temp in there. Even with the shutters closed at night, fan on blast and A/C on, you can still hear the waves crashing at night. Amazing.

There is a convenient store across the street where you can pick up snacks, beverages, beer, etc. It was great picking up some items to store in our fridge. You can catch route taxis right outside of the gate, and it's just 100 J's per person per route. Very inexpensive way to get around. Many restaurants offer free transportation as well.

All in all, this was one of our favorite vacations. Everything was so relaxing here, the service was amazing, and the grounds were beautiful. We will definitely be back. Just typing this review is making me sad as I wish we were back there right now!! Definitely go - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

I have spent a good deal of time in Jamaica and avoided Negril in general. My wife really wanted to see Negril, so we opted for the Cliffs and Catcha. Such a great place overall. Its is definately the best of Negril. It has a super mellow vibe and it attracts in very cool folks. We made some good friends and had a blast. The cliff jumping was great! And its an easy place to see a lot of the island if you want to get out and about.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

catcha is amazing. the place is beautiful, the staff is wonderful. I had delicious meals at Ivans overlooking the ocean. we swam over to ricks cafe, taxis are plentiful and easy to arrange. most of all everyone was helpful and made us feel welcome. what a nice staff! I had some doubts about staying on the cliff side of negril but my stay at catcha was so great i don't see a reason to stay beach side again. its private and romantic. Its easy to get to the beach but the water and cliff diving at the hotel is just perfect. i will be back to catcha again and again.

Room Tip: book early, rooms fill fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

We stayed here because the other cliff resorts we were interested in were too expensive. It is a great lower-cost alternative - beds are fine, AC works, rooms are clean, safe. The restaurant (Ivan's) is good too - overlooks the water and is tasty, though a bit overpriced. There are many little niches in the cliffs for you and your honey to sit and soak up some sun and look at the water. Cliff jumping is super fun. Pool is tiny but cute, it has little chairs in it (and a crab or two). The bar is great - the vibe is laid back and friendly.

Room Tip: We didn't get to see it, but the Sagittarius is ALWAYS booked. Must be good stuff :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

My husband and I spent 2 nights at Catcha as part of our Babymoon trip to Jamaica. I cannot tell you enough how much we loved this place!!

RIDE: We stayed at the Hilton Rose Hall Resort in Montego Bay when we arrived in Jamaica. So we booked a cab ride through Catcha to take us to their hotel. Cab drivers at Hilton were charging $110 for the ride to Negril (one way) but Catcha sent their own driver for $80. The drive from Montego Bay to Negril took 1 hr 45 mins but thanks to Wayne, our cab driver, we had a wonderful journey filled with sightseeing and trivia.

ROOM: Upon arrival at Catcha we were welcomed by a smiling staff. Check in was a breeze and Andrea and Wayne escorted us to our room. We had booked Sagittarius which is right on the cliff and has its own veranda / porch and an outdoor shower. We had fun taking a shower under the stars. The room gets a little hot during the day and the air conditioning is not powerful enough for the big room but if you keep all your doors and blinds shut while you are out of the room it helps bring the temperature down. This room has the best view of the ocean and Rick’s café. In the night you are lulled to sleep by the soothing, gentle crashing of waves.

FOOD: The food at Ivans was delicious! We had all 3 meals there and I highly recommend the Jerk Shrimp appetizer, Shrimp Curry and the Snappy Snapper in fruit sauce.

POOL: The pool is very relaxing after a hot day in the sun. They have a few floats that you can use to lounge in the pool. Cabanas and longers are placed all across the property. So you can easily find a secluded area to lie down and enjoy the gorgeous ocean views while getting your tan on.

PEOPLE: Everyone who works here is wonderful. They are a bunch of happy people who made us feel like family and made sure we were taken care of. Special thanks to Carol for being so kind and considerate about my food and drinks while I had a bun in the oven!

NATURE: One night we saw a crab right outside our room door. He was black and orange and spectacular looking. My point is Catcha is a unique kind of resort where you are one with nature – the sea, sun, trees, flowers and even little creatures. So if you prefer something more resorty, Catcha is not the place for you. We were also bitten by mosquitoes but none of this overshadowed the beauty and tranquility of Catcha.

We’ve recommended this place to all our friends and would surely return. Thank you Catcha for making our Babymoon a special one!!

Room Tip: Sagittarius - best ocean view, private getaway
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

This place is the real deal, plain and simple. A mix of breathtaking beauty, phenomenal service, extraordinary food and above all uniqueness. Words cannot capture the beauty of this place!

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 3 days in June (wish it could've been more), having just come from 3 days at the RIU (terrible place) we couldn't have hoped for anything more. From the moment you enter the gate your breath is taken away by the beauty of the flowers/ trees and the uniqueness of the setting. The views over the cliffs are spectacular and there are so many wonderful places to lay and watch the sunset/ stare out into the sea. The people here treat you like family, they remember your name and it is evident that they genuinely enjoy what they do.

The food at Ivan's is phenomenal as well. No need to eat anywhere else. Can't wait to visit this resort again!

Brian and Gabriela

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catcha Falling Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catcha Falling Star

Address: West End Road | PO Box 3022, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#3 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#8 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are many places to stay in Negril, Jamaica on the cliffs... ...but where else will you be pampered at a cliff property unlike any other on the planet... Catcha Falling Star Resort on the Negril Cliffs...Our lovely little Negril cliff resort property overlooks the beautiful Caribbean Sea. Catcha Falling Star is truly the "Gem of Jamaica". Nestled among the tops of the Negril cliffs of the West End with a spectacular view of the sea below will make you want to "linger longer" in Negril, Jamaica! These seaside cliff cottages capture the true essence and ambiance of Jamaica. Now yours to discover. . . A priceless experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Catcha Falling Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catcha Falling Star Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catcha Falling Star, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.