We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymooners” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Merrils Beach Resort III

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Merrils Beach Resort III to your Saves list
Merrils Beach Resort III
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Seven Mile Beach, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 90 Hotels in Negril
North Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
“Honeymooners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed at the Honeymoon cottage at Merrils 3 with has a jaccuzzi which was phenomenal after a nice busy day at the beach.
We love the buffet style food as we can select what and how much to eat.
Also, we both like the Jamaican music entertainment.
We have told our friends about it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    22
    31
    12
    14
See reviews for
11
35
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

Great place, great, location, great staff what else do you need, rooms a little dated but how much time do you spend in your room. Food was good not the same variety as you would get in a 5 star but what they have is fresh and good (no line ups). Staff were great and because this is a smaller resort there is a personal touch everybody remembers you. I would highly recommend this resort if you want fun, a great beach and reasonable price. We will return for sure.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

We would stay again if we got another good deal. The rooms are dated, but clean. They have air, cable, closets, dressers, safes, tile floors, and balconies. The air worked most of the time and we had hot water most of the time. The safe costs $3 a day and they do not provide blow dryers. The maids did a great job cleaning every day. The staff was great. The bartenders were awesome. The food was good. We never ate anywhere else. We spent lots of time at Merrils II becasuse they had the better beach chairs. You have access to all three Merrils, but the food is the same at all three. Plenty of places to hang within walking distance. The alcohol selection at the bars isn't good. Appleton Rum is the best they got. The beer is draft. Good thing for fun bartenders. Hey Fitz and Atoll!! We had great weather and a great beach. Miss it already!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

When i visited there, there was a trouble. But the manager was a person of resource.
At that night my friend visited me. But the reception lady clicked her tongue and she talked to my friend I couldn't understand what she was saying, and so on. It was front of me!!! Of course I understood what she was saying. My look is not Jamaican. But I have a degree. What made the reception lady called me names?
After that the night manager came to the reception. She had her wits about this case.
The reception lady was disrespect!
If they keep her they couldn't offer good customer service.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

My parents are from jamaica, and we have visited several times, and when travelling to Europe we stayed in hostels so I'm not a tourist that must have a 4* room when traveling abroad. To say that this hotel was a disappointment would be an understatement. Our first room had an a/c unit that didn't work, which in humid Negril is just unacceptable. The bathroom was dirty and in need of repair. Since we arrived late we requested a new room the next morning. After looking at what was available, we chose the cleanest of the lot, and a functioning a/c unit and moved our own luggage to the new room. Unfortunately when it was time to take a shower we discovered the lack of water pressure and were forced to rinse off in cold water that came out in dribs and drabs. We were there for a wedding, so while I usu wouldn't worry about pressing clothes, imagine my shock to find that there is only 1 iron and board shared for the entire resort!!!!!!!! The food was disappointing. How could a jamaican "resort" not have typical jamaican dishes available.... my entire trip no ackee and saltfish/curry chicken etc.. I don't come to jamaica to eat pasta with spaghetti sauce. Because there are 3 assoc resorts you are able to eat at any of them if you're willing to take the time to walk to all 3 and check out the menus, b/c it would be to sensible for them to provide that info in the lobby daily. It wasn't all negative, fortunately they have a good beach location(not private) and your drinks are included. so after awhile, if you drink enough you manage to gloss over the negatives and enjoy yourself. I must also compliment the waitstaff and barenders, they were all super nice and really helpful.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

Very nice place just by the beach. Good service and very friendly. Can recommend this very much!

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

We just returned from one week at Merrils II and loved it (see Merrils II for that review). We were originally scheduled for Merrils III but when we showed up they only had a one-bed room for our family of four and at first did not see why this would be a problem. They had given our room away to a group of three who had booked a one-bed room but changed their mind at arrival. Luckily Merrils II had a room so we walked down the beach with our luggage to check in there (the 3 Merrils resorts are near each other along the beach). In the end it was the best thing to happen as Merrils III we found out later from the staff is where they put all the spring break college kids. While I was sorting out the room situation my 16 and 10 year old went to look at the beach and were offered both alcohol and pot by some of the students! There is a large club right next to Merrils III and the music was blasting all day. Families who were unfortunately staying at III wandered up to II to use the beach. We did eat there one day and although the other two Merrils enforced a loose dress code for meals (shirt or coverup), anything went at Merrills III. Overall, unless you are a college student, avoid Merrils III in the spring and opt for one of the other two.

Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Merrils Beach Resort III? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merrils Beach Resort III

Address: Seven Mile Beach, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#37 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Merrils Beach Resort III 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel will be accepting guests as of December 20, 2004. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Merrils Beach Resort III reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merrils Beach Resort Iii Hotel Negril
Merrils Beach Hotel Iii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merrils Beach Resort III, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.