We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jamaica” 3 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Negril

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added ClubHotel Riu Negril to your Saves list
ClubHotel Riu Negril
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Bloody Bay Beach | Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Your first gift: 500 pts
Ranked #46 of 86 Hotels in Negril
Halfway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Jamaica”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We had stayed at the Riu Tropical Bay (now the Palace?) 10 years ago and absolutely loved it. We wanted to stay there, but they had no vacancies. So, we choose The Club Hotel Riu Negril since it is the same chain. It was clean/nice. The beach was gorgeous but a little rough at the end of the property. The water is pretty, but once you get out very far in the ocean it is mud and not sand. The employees were nice, but not as interactive as they were on our previous stay. No beach parties (like previously) and the nightly entertainment was not that impressive (although we didn't watch every night). They had a band/singer at the outside bar one night which was very good. The food was average and lots of it. We didn't starve by no means. The room was very clean. The TVs are a little obsolete, but we only watched it late at night anyway since we were outside all day. We had a good view of the garden/ocean from our room. Luckily, our room was close to everything, but if you stay in building three or four, you would have a pretty long walk to restaurants, lobby, pools, etc. Had a massage which was wonderful.

Room Tip: We had a good view of the garden/ocean from our room. Luckily, our room was close to everything, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smpcards15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Woodstock, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Had a wonderful vacation here in March 2011. Beach was great. One of the few that we have been where we were able to snorkel all week long. Very protected bay was calm every day.
Food was actually pretty good. Better than I would expect at a club hotel. Nice grounds and buildings, regular buffet had more variety than I have found at other all inclusives. A la cartes were decent with my favourite being the lamb dinner at the French restaurant. Favourite snack at 2am was pizza at Luigi's with self serve Red stripe. If I wasnt always looking for somewhere new to visit, I would have gone back there on my last five trips. Only complaint would be the red wine. Completely undrinkable. And I am not a wine snob by any means!

Room Tip: You are in Jamaica mon. Dont stress over it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JC2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I spent 1 week here, and actually was a very good stay.
Nice and clean rooms, good pools and a wide variety of restaurants.
The food was good mainly meat (fish is not the best think in the caribbean), although the fruit was a deception (but this is due to the fact in Jamaica all fruit is imported).

The hotel staff was very very friendly, always smilling (as all jamaicans) and engaged in giving their best to keep us enjoing our vacation.

The beach right in front of hotel is private and is incredibly beatiful.
You can also walk to the beach on your left hand side, (public beach ), where you will find natives. This walk will take 15 min until the other Riu (free access)
Just let you feel involved in the real jamaican spirit during this small walk. :)
The main jamaican attraction points are a bit far away (1h, 2h), but you can find organized trips in the hotel.
Recommend 9mile, black river, Dunn's River Falls ,YS falls and of course the sun set at rick's cafe.

All in all I recommend this hotal for all who wants to have a good stay in Jamaica, without luxuries, but with all that Jamaica can offer to you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NunoRato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We have been staying at all inclusives for 8 years now. 3 times in Jamaica and 5 times in Mexico. Stayed at the Riu Negril the end of Feb. 2013 with 5 other couples. We had a good time and I do believe every vacation is what you make of it. Lots of reviews say the beach isn;t great but we thought it was great. Where we sat everyday was soft sand and where we went into the ocean it was fine...an occasional rock on the bottom. Drinks were Very Strong!! I am not real fussy but had a hard time finding something that I liked. The guys usually drink beer but the beer was never cold...always warm. So drinks were an issue for our group. Food was good...it's buffet. If you can't find something to eat, you are WAY TOO PICKY!! One of the biggest let downs our group of 12 had was that we could not get into any of the ala cart restaurants for our entire stay! The reservation system for the Riu's is Terrible!!! A group of 20 came in after us and they had no problem getting into a restaurant for one night. Our whole group was very dissappointed! The rooms are adequate...nothing fancy but we did not pay for high end either and we understand that. Our fridge was stocked everyday, maybe because we tipped. Room was always clean and we always had clean towels. We went on the "One Love Bus Bar Crawl". This is alot of fun and we all would reccomend it. Not much going on at this hotel at night. Entertainment at night is cheesy. Also, our whole group had LOTS of bug bites which we think came from sand fleas. We were told the fogger to get rid of these was broken. Now, I usually am not one to complain but we will not be going back to this resort or to any RIUs in the near future. RIU, you need to change your reservation system for the ala carts! Buffets do get old...even if it is one night that you can have a sit down meal that you order off a menu.

Room Tip: Building 1 or 2 have the best location
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newtraveler70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I am going to be as objective as I can on this as it might give the impression the hotel is not a nice hotel.

Firstly let me start by saying the staff are excellent, happy, attentive, polite and always willing to help.

Hotel.

The hotel is well set out with really nice gardens and is very, very clean all over.

The Beach.

Is ok, not soft sand so wear your flip flops/shoes to walk around on it, also in front of the hotel gets very busy on the beach, we stayed outside our block which was block 4, nice and quiet and only had to move now and again as this is where weddings are held.

You do get people trying to sell you stuff but it’s a polite no and they leave you alone, one of our main problems was the amount of people trying to sell you drugs on the beach, people trying to sell you a shell would suddenly ask if you wanted cannabis!!!! This also related to the lads in the boats who take you out fishing, they tried to sell you this stuff just in conversation about a fishing trip, this should be stopped.

I went on a fishing trip with one of the lads, Marcus Garvey the boat was called, total waste of $110, for 2hrs, for 1hr he tried to get one of his 3 lures fixed so we caught nothing at all.

Food.

Had one really good meal in the 2 weeks, the rest of the time it was just ok food, very repetitive, Pork & Turkey most nights with some chicken thrown in now and again.

The Lord Anthony Restaurant was the good meal and the Steak house again was ok for a change.

Drinks.

No problem with the drinks, the bars had enough staff and you could always get served, people behind the bar where excellent, look out for the 2 Paul’s in the lobby bar, one is an excellent singer and starts about 8pm.

Rooms.

No problem, quite nice but the TV was about 20 yrs. old but did the job, optics are a good idea, but found sitting on the balcony with a drink sometimes a problem with all the cannabis smoke coming from other rooms.

The Problem

The problem was the people staying there, this is an American party place and to be honest some of them across all ages where a disgrace, dropping glasses on the floor and walking away leaving it for other guests to move the glass off walkways, throwing cigarettes all over the place when they had ashtrays everywhere but they didn’t use them, talking too and treating the staff appallingly, no please or thank you, this holiday has totally changed my view on Americans which is sad.

Would we go back, sadly no

Room Tip: If you want it quiet, block 4 is the best one, people say its a long walk to the main building but w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mario2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed at the Clubhotel Riu on 22nd December - 6th January 2013. What a lovely hotel and resort, I have stayed at the ClubHotel Riu in Ocho Rios and this is a very similiar resort.
The rooms were spacious and clean, I had emailed in advance and requested a room in Buidling 1, which was honoured. The resort is large and building one is very close to everything, so if you like to be close by then request a room in this building.
The resort had everything you needed for a nice beach holilday, wifi is available for free in the lobby, but for only 90 mins per day per device. which to be honest is enough, I mean you are on holiday!
I travelled with my 12 year old son, who had such a great time and made so many new friends.
I hardly saw him as there is so much for the kids to do here.
The food is plentiful and you really don't want for nothing, we mainly did the buffet restaurant as rarely were we up at the crack of dawn to queue up to book one of the gormet restaurants. We managed to book once during our 2 week stay and it was nice to have your food served, but to be honest we were not fussed and could have taken it or left it. Don't forget the jerk hut on the beach at lunchtime ... deelish!!!
Drinks/cocktails were great too, whatever you want the bar staff will accommodate.
The entertainment staff are fantastic and really make this hotel, they are going from about 9am - midnight, very talented and keep things going. I really don't know how they do it ... but they definately keep you entertained.
The beach is lovely and the water is warm, you also have free non-motorised watersports to keep you occupied, kayaks, pedalos, and windsurfs.
We were there for christmas and new years and the hotel put on a great show for both events, gala dinners, champagne receptions, live bands, a great new years eve party and Santa even turned up on christmas day by a speed boat! it was great.
The hotel was fully booked at one point during our stay, due to it being the holiday period, but never once did I feel like the place was overcrowded or experience food running out, so well done Riu.
Also another tip, don't book a cab with the hotel as they overcharge a complete rip off, just go out to the gate and hail a red plated taxi, you can negotiate and pay at least 50% less than what you would going with the hotel!
Would I stay here again, definately.

Room Tip: building one is close to everything and I would email in advance to request a room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DeeliciousDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed at the ClubRiohotel for two weeks for a family wedding/holiday. Had a great time, all staff were helpful and accommodating. Beautiful beach resort, plenty of activities, jet ski's,catamaran cruise, entertainment staff keep you laughing. Wedding was very well organised, we travelled with Thomsons, they did very well to keep all our rooms within the same block (there was 70 of us), great time, sister hotel is a short walk along the beach, downside is you cant eat or drink alcohol, at just soft drinks.

Room Tip: A seaview room is best, and staying in block 1, 2,3&4 are a further walk to to the main building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MirelleR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
5.3 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
77.0 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
#14 of 40 in Ocho Rios
4.0 of 5 stars 7,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
31.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
3.5 of 5 stars 4,866 reviews
0.9 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#12 of 86 in Negril
4.5 of 5 stars 3,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Negril

Address: Bloody Bay Beach | Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Negril
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#39 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Negril 3.5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Newly renovated in November 2015 * Located on Jamaica's west coast in Negril * Located on the beach front * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Main building and four 2-story annexes * Surrounded by 45,000 m2 / 56,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * 9 km / 5.5 Miles from Negril's West End * 7 km / 4.4 Miles from various shops * 80 km / 48 miles from Montego Bay airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Hotel Negril
Rio Negril
Riu Negril Jamaica
Riu Resort All Inclusive Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing