We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Negril

Save Saved
You added ClubHotel Riu Negril to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Negril
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Bloody Bay Beach | Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Special Offer
Ranked #45 of 91 hotels in Negril
Lancaster PA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We just returned from here and after reading some reviews I was a little concerned,but it was a great 5 days. The shuttle ride is is interesting as you pass thru several towns and probably stop at a bar for a red stripe! The food was good. I was really surprised by the quality of snorkeling just off the beach. If you can swim out to the island it is even better....but really it was great right of the beach.. Bring your own gear and you will be glad you did. The pool bar is fun and lots of seats around.. We did the catamaran to Ricks Place thru the scuba center. Worth it for sure! Also the beach to walk on is great...we walked every day, takes about 45 minutes to go down and back and you pass about 5 other hotels. This hotel is at the end of the beach, so there are less walkers. we felt safe the whole time. our room was clean...not pampering with fancy sheets and stuff, but just fine. Plenty of beer in my fridge and I never used the bottles of booze they have on the wall. It is not 5 star but they do not say they are...a real strong 3 star. Unless you really expect pampering and awesome , you will like it here....but then you know you pay a lot more for it too! We were in the far end of building 2, but if you are a good walker maybe even a further building would be better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,485 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,160
    1,220
    592
    301
    212
See reviews for
753
1388
41
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (705)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mason, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

WE just came back from spending 6 nites RIU NEGRIL. We had a group of 4 of us and we all loved our experience. This was our 5th time staying at this same RIU and it was fantastic. We thought the food was good, service excellent, and great jerk chicken on the beach. We look forward to staying at the same resort as the people get to know you and we love the locatoin. We get up every morning and go for a long walk along the beach past the other resorts to see those pools and amenities. We get to meet lots of the locals selling shorts, shirts, necklaces, etc on the other side of the beach and great bargains. Great entertainment this yr as the Michael JAckson show was really good. You need to book your dinner reservations 2 days in advance if you want to have a sit down dinner; however we thought that the buffett had a great selection every nite. Also, make sure you bring insect spray for the sand bugs that come out at sunset.

Room Tip: We liked BLDG 4 ocean front. IT was out of the way and ocean front rooms are so pretty. It was wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Entertainment team was amazing- talented, lively, hard working, and love their jobs. The meanest woman I've ever met works at their front desk and was rude and ignored us when we checked in. She gave us an awful room in the fourth ( furthest building) on the top floor (no elevators- only stairs). We were on our honeymoon and had to complain to get moved mid way into our stay. Listening to traffic on the highway before they finally moved us was just sad. Every other worker was sweet and hard working- writing to RIU specifics on evil front desk lady whose name is Deseree or something close to it. Hide from her and have anyone but her help you. She doesn't like young white women no matter how nice you are to her. Can't believe she works the front desk. Wow. Maids do not change the sheets so your sheets get sand, aloe, oils in them and there's no changing them. Gross. We spent over $3400 for a week all inclusive here and could have gone to hawaii and paid for all our meals and been so much happier for the same price. Food was ok and drinks were too but the way they don't care for the animals or the people are so incredibly impoverished I just won't support this again. Entertainment and live reggae bands kept me from crying from how disappointed I was with the room and front desk. I hear minimum wage for working 8 hours a day 6 days a week and working your butt off gets you paid $ 50 US dollars there. Tips are supposedly included but i felt bad and tipped a lot anyway. If you don't like to be around cigarette smoke- don't go as most of the Canadian and European vacationers do smoke. And a lot. Riu palace las America's in cancun was top knotch and a true four to five star but this place is way over rated in stars and should be advertised appropriately.. If you go, good luck. Blue hole and ricks cafe by catamaran are must dos.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Just retured from Riu Negril and had a wonderful stay. Staff are very friendly and the beach was quite nice. A few things we wish we knew before booking:

1) Rooms - very clean and comfortable. The beds in many of the rooms are 2 doubles pushed together and not 1 king. This means 2 comforters and sets of sheets - not like at other places where they "hide" the fact that the bed could easily be converted into 2 separate beds. This was a little less romantic than we had hoped.

2) The property is a long retangle where the wide end is along the beach. No matter where your room is located, the beach is very close. We were at the far end of building 3 and it was about a 5 min walk to dinner etc but after all the drinking and eating, a long walk is not so bad. Also - the pools are small and unimpressive. You are really paying for the beach.

NOTE for Seniors (I have elderly grandparents) - If walking is a concern for you and you are not using any type of assistance than this may not be the resort for you. This is especially the case if you cannot guarantee getting building #1. Also - there are no elevators.

3) Food - I am usually a more difficult person to please at buffets, but honestly the food was quite tasty at the main buffet. There was always an abundance of choices - hardly any repition at dinner over the 1 week we were there. Try the food at the little Jamaican table - it is great!! The a la carte restaurants were ok but they filled up quickly. The best one was Sir Perry although many people liked the steak house. I personally thought that they made better red meat at the buffet.

Overall the resort is nice. It is best for couples or young families who are looking to relax. If you are looking to party or meet other young people then you might be better off going off the property at night. There just isn't a lot going on in the evening and even during the day it is not really a party atmosphere.

Room Tip: I wouldn't pay for the Oceanview upgrade as many rooms are obstructed by trees. The Oceanfront...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Rooms not clean and not very nice. Wasn't told ahead if time that you have to make dinner reservations two days ahead of time so when you first arrive your stuck with the same food 3 times a day for the first 3 days. Wasn't told or shown around. There was another gift shop just in front of building and never knew...just asking around for tums since we had diarrhea the first 3 days from maybe the food or water. Bars stunk from mildew or dirty old water and mats. Could never just lay on the beach relax without one of the locals selling you something and they don't take no thank you for an answer and its from sun up to sun down. Fridge never refilled. Broken toilet. We had a beautiful hotel and great experience in Mexico but thought we would try somewhere new. Never again. Only one night of good entertainment at the Riu too....found ourselves board and in our room a lot. We hadn't been on vacation for 10 years so it was very much disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portmore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My weekend at RIU was wonderful, my kids and i stay there from the 18-20 January 2013......... the staff were friendly. the room was excellent, the food was hmmmmm........ great. my kids love the pool. the activities and nightly entertainment was magnificent . what more can i say about RIU than , it's a wonderful place to stay. Jamaica on a whole is a great place for tourist.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Club Riu for four nights at the end of January, and we would definitely recommend it to others. This was our second time in Negril, but our first time at Club Riu.

Overall, the hotel has everything you need to relax and enjoy your stay - food, drinks and plenty of beach. We stayed in Building 2. Our room was clean and our mini bar was stocked every day.

What sets this resort apart is the staff, especially the entertainment. The entertainment staff truly made our stay even more fun and memorable and kept us laughing the whole time! With all the activities and performances going on, there was never any reason to leave the resort. (Shout outs to Spotlight, Colorz, Pencil and Shadrick!)

The jerk chicken hut on the beach is another bonus. Unfortunately, we didn't take advantage of this until the last day, but had we done so sooner we would have had jerk chicken for lunch every day. It's so good! For most of our meals, we at at the buffet. There is something there for everyone.

If you have time, make sure you take advantage of the spa. We got massages on the beach the morning of our departure. It was a great way to end a wonderful vacation.

We really have no complaints. Stay at Club Riu!

Room Tip: I'd recommend requesting a room in Building 1 or 2 to be closer to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ClubHotel Riu Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Negril

Address: Bloody Bay Beach | Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Negril
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#35 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Negril 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Jamaica's west coast in Negril * Located on the beach front * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Main building and four 2-story annexes * Surrounded by 45,000 m2 / 56,000 sq. yards of lush gardens * 9 km / 5.5 miles from Negril's West End * 7 km / 4.4 miles from various shops * 80 km / 48 miles from Montego Bay airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Hotel Negril
Rio Negril
Riu Negril Jamaica
Riu Resort All Inclusive Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Negril, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.