We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it and keep up the good work” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Negril

Save Saved
You added ClubHotel Riu Negril to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Negril
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Bloody Bay Beach | Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Special Offer
Ranked #45 of 91 hotels in Negril
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Love it and keep up the good work”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

On arrival you are greeted by courteous staff, excellent turnaround time in checking in,experienced entertainment team,friendly staff throughout property and above all peace and comfort all around . Its was a wonderful experience for me and my fellow co-workers who had visited the property for the very first time a year ago on recommendation by a friend . Once there you felt like you were a part of a family as you were not left out of any activity that was taking part on the compound,be it aerobics class in the pool or at the pacho dance club or performances by the staff. This first experience has inspired others outside our group to visit with us in october of 2012 and again the time spend there was even more fullfilling. I personnaly took advantage of other areas of the property to include the jaccuzi the spa and game lounge. my stay at riu club resort will always be embedded in the back of my head for its kind and knowledgeable staff , thanks to executive like mr franklyn edwards and the dynamic team he leads

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,486 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,160
    1,220
    593
    301
    212
See reviews for
753
1388
42
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (706)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Expect a 3.5 star hotel and you will be pleased.

The air conditioner in our room was as loud as a jet engine. We had to turn it off and go with just the fan. We spilled a coke in the fridge on the first day and it was never cleaned the entire 7 days. Our room was cleaned at about 5pm daily even though we were out most of the day.

The food was ok, the room was ok.

Saving graces were the beach, the staff and the Jamaican people. We are definitely going back to Jamaica but not the Riu Negril.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Went there as a guest for a destination wedding in early December 2012. The party consisted of 40 people over half of us were sick with stomach related issues including salmonella poisining,gastral enteritus,diarrhea and vomiting. Saw a cockroach at the buffet on top of supposively clean dishes, informed staff who quickly shoved it into one of the back rooms.My wife ended up in hospital 1.5 hours away in montego bay, other people came back to Canada only to end up in hospitals, here.The fire alarm went off several times, the water was turned off at 12:30 AM with no wanings. My telephone was turned off at least 3 hours before check out, could not even call the hospital to check my wife's status. Had to use the front desk telephone and a 10usd charge. Some of us who were able to make it to the beach were being eaten alive by the sand flies, myself had to take Benedryl and constantly use cordozone cream for treatment.On the plus side the entertainment staff was great,very professional. The grounds,the beach bar and the jerk served on the beach was wonderful, plenty of seating and beach chairs to accomodate everyone. Regardless I would never vacation there again. This hotel should not be a 5 star,certainly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Food was great, staff was friendly. Only thing the bathroom needs a little renovating. Which the were gonna do I was told in a few month. Other than that. It was great. The entertainment was nice. . I dance my feet off most of the time after dinner lol. I like that every dinner night they had different menu like Mexican or Jamaican . The beach area was clean, staff were friendly. While we were there , we had a hurricane that pass near by the island, but we were lucky it didn't hit the island with force, they reported damages over some part of the country, also we lost Internet services or 3 day. That didn't felt good. Lol, but we manage without the Internet .

Room Tip: Rooms near to the main entrance .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Just got back from 5 days at RIU and booked as a last second trip a few weeks before hand. Most resorts were sold out but it still seemed most people had a good time here. Most everything you read here is pretty spot on. Make sure to request building number 1 ahead of time, it will be well worth you effort. I had a king sized bed in my room ins building number 1 that was NOT two beds pushed together. The food is what it is. Breakfast in the morning is perfectly fine and all you need to know for lunch is the jerk chicken bar on the beach. The buffet leaves something to be desired and the private dinning areas are a little step above and reservations are to come by.

If you are expecting five star food, then go stay at the five star resort and pay the five star price. The staff at this location is absolutely amazing. Everybody from the bellmen to cleaning staff, tip them a few extra dollars and your room bar will be re-stocked every day. The entertainment staff is exceptional, they go out of their way to make sure guests are having fun, they truly work 16+ hour days and probably should be paid more then they get.. wonderful job done by the staff.

You are in Jamaica so relax, if you want to be nit-picky about every detail then pay more money and go to a five star resort. Everything you could possible need and want to do is here at RIU. We also found that the overwhelming amount of guests at this resort were very friendly and did little to complain.

Again, make sure you get building 1, even 2 isn't that bad of a walk. Make reservations or try to. More importantly, relax MON, you are in Jamaica and life is good.

Airport Transportation: If you want to have a private shuttle, which I highly recommend over taking a bus that makes multiple stops, then you need to get in touch with Patrick Grandison, owner of Esperanza Tours. Patrick is a negril local and has been in the business for 20+ years, full of knowledge and just overwhelming a good person. I found him based on another trip advisor post and I cannot stay enough good things about him. Travel in style and get private transportation, trust me it is well worth it.

Disclaimer - I'm a certified travel agent and I was skeptical of this location based on certain reviews, etc. I was pretty well informed on the property based on the reviews and although the food was the biggest issue, it would not keep me from going back again, especially for the price.

Room Tip: Building 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasaga Beach
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

If it wasn't for the (occasional) reggae music - this resort would be tricky to place in the awesome Negril, Jamaica!

The service is great on the first day, this is so the staff is able to properly peg your tip level.... You'll quickly learn no tip is enough for service to match the client. Lots of less than friendly people working at Riu, I was almost embarrassed for the staff lame food and lame entertainment and very lame service!

Room Tip: Get rooms in block 1 to avoid lengthy walks for food and beverages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The fire alarms went off 5 times in one week and we had to evacuate the building as the hotel manager was unaware of the problem and told us to ignore it. There were no assembly points to go to.

On two days over theChristmas period the hotel ran out of food.

The room was infested with cockroaches.

Electrical equipment in the room was faulty and live cables were exposed.

The hairdryer in the room fused dramatically on two occassions.

No food was labelled hence anyone with allergies were open to illness or maybe something morre serious.

Food was not properly cooked so not only myself but other guests were ill and unwell.

The entertainment in the hotel was of a very poor standard considering it is a platinum resort.
this hotel should be a 2 to 3 star

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ClubHotel Riu Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Negril

Address: Bloody Bay Beach | Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Negril
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#35 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Negril 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Jamaica's west coast in Negril * Located on the beach front * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Main building and four 2-story annexes * Surrounded by 45,000 m2 / 56,000 sq. yards of lush gardens * 9 km / 5.5 miles from Negril's West End * 7 km / 4.4 miles from various shops * 80 km / 48 miles from Montego Bay airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Hotel Negril
Rio Negril
Riu Negril Jamaica
Riu Resort All Inclusive Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Negril, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.