We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“German Bar, excellent food, great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of German Bar

German Bar
26 One Love Drive, Negril 00000000, Jamaica
876-471-6493
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 166 Restaurants in Negril
Price range: $3 - $25
Cuisines: German, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“German Bar, excellent food, great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I only know this place as "German Bar". Same place as "Sue's Cafe" used to be. A German couple are running it. Real great German food: sausage with sourkrut, pork chops etc. You can also order a small pizza for J150! Great dinning atmosphere, cute seaside decoration. Great value for the expense. The only small regret is she doesn't speak English well. You maynot be able to communicate if you need any deviation on your order.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    14
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Negril, Jamaica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ja mon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

German Snack Bar - brats, potato salad, and kraut - mix it up with a Red Stripe and a view of the beach. Good food at extremely reasonable prices.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negril, Jamaica
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I will be back again (and again)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

Wunderbar! Excellent! Great tasting German food with a bit of a Jamaican flavor. The bratwurst and kraut was superb while the sweet potato salad was simply amazing. Add a Red Stripe, a tremendous view of the sunset and beach - and you've got a great Germaican experience. Very inexpensive for the quality and quantity of food offered. Prices were in Jamaican dollars and we really enjoyed the quiet ambience of the place.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
269 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 395 helpful votes
“Frau Maria's Boot Haus?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

Based on previous reviews, we headed for this restaurant with our taste buds looking forward to well prepared red snapper. However, FYI - unless our taxi driver dropped us off at the wrong place or there's more than one Mary's Boat House Bar & Grill next to an abandoned pier with a dive shop next door.... the ownership & menu have changed. It's now a German restaurant.

Since it was getting late and that evening's German entrees written on the chalkboard sounded pretty good, we decided to stay (Nein Problem, Mann). The owner, bartender, cook, etc said he came to Jamaica from eastern Germany so we figured the food should be authentic. I ordered the Schweinebraten, Kartoffeln & Schmorkraut. I'd eaten Schweinshaxe (roast pork hocks) & saurkraut when we vacationed in Munich, so I asked if it was like that. He said Schweinebraten was not the hock and pointed to the calf area of his leg. Wherever it came from, it was roasted crispy on the outside and fall-off-the-bone tender on the inside. The potatoes were perfectly boiled, neither too mushy or too crunchy. The Schmorkraut was not pickled like Saurkraut but more of a cabbage boiled in broth & spices? It had good flavor. So if you see this on the chalkboard, definitely order it. Unfortunately, there was no Lowenbrau or other German bier available, but a cold Jamaican Rot Streifen tasted OK.

  • Visited December 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
“Great place to enjoy the sunset while having a great meal with friends and family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

My husband and I have been going to Negril for over 20 years for vacation and we always stay at EDDIES TigressII . We like to eat close by and have always gone into Marys Bay for a meal. This year we met Lou the new owner and we really enjoyed ourselves. The cook was awsome!!!!!! and the young man that waited on us was really nice. I would tell anyone going to Negril to check out this restaurant not only was the food great but the view is wonderful. True Jamaica.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed German Bar also viewed

Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to German Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage German Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.