We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset on the Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset on the Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sunset on the Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 90 Hotels in Negril
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“very nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Located at the end of the beach, so there's not a lot of people.
clean beach, friendly staff, good clean rooms. hostess, a very nice woman. the hotel is next to the Negril
ask for a room away from the road

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    57
    37
    16
    28
See reviews for
32
45
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

This is a GREAT place. I hate to advertise it because I don't want it all booked up when I want to go there. But I can't stand to sit by and see all these crazy reviews. Stayed there for four days in April. Everything was wonderful; room nice, clean, everything worked great, wifi great, food great, very reasonable price for JA, very sweet staff, eager to please.
But, stay away! I want it all to myself!

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was by far my worst booking ever - and I thought I was pretty savvy in finding great finds for great deals and this one broke that record!

Let's start on a positive note with the PROS:
-great location: On the main beach, quick walk to town, grocery store and close to restaurants and scooter rentals

Now on the numerous CONS:
-Wifi is not free as the booking.com website listed. It costs $12USD/day or $36 USD/week. It's slow and only works close to the reception area - not at the beach bar or beach

-Breakfast WAS A JOKE. Don't fall for the 'breakfast included' deal. It was a plate with 1 slice of watermelon, 2 slices of papaya, a muffin that was harder than a hockey puck and a slice of unripened pineapple. It was almost insulting to be served such a sad dish of fruit scraps and stale muffin.

-the rooms were disgusting, yes a strong word, but I couldn't relax once in those rooms (and we only stayed 2 nights). The bedding was nasty, with only 1 polyester sheet to cover, and a old smelly bed cover that I didn't want to touch with a 10 foot pole. The kitchen (without any cutlery, plates, glasses, silverware etc) looked like something out of a deserted shack, rusty and all. The towels had hair on them and the shower didn't drain. Didn't bring soap or shampoo? Don't fret. You can walk 15 min to the grocery store to buy some, because this hotel doesn't provide you with anything but a small wrapped hand soap that had dirt under the wrapping.

-The food was way over priced and made an amateur level cook. Do not buy anything at this restaurant. We ordered salad, jerk chicken plate and salt fish fritters and the bill was $50USD! We found a cute little local place down the way called Cool Spot and we paid $10 for a full local breakfast for two. Needless to say, we didn't go back to the hotel bar.

-The beach looks nice, but beware - it is swarming with aunts and after 5pm the sand ticks come out to bite. This is a sign that there is no grooming that goes on. Although the water is beautiful and clear with no seaweed.

That sums up my experience. I recommend this hotel goes through a serious renovation inside the rooms - new beds, real bedding, new towels, paint job... the works. Only then would I would entertain the thought of staying again - on second thought, not even that would work.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, ON, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Another two weeks have come and gone.too fast.
The staff at Sunset are family to us. We love them all. Troy "Mistah Security" is a great addition to the family. He has a very nice personality and he watches out for the entire facilities safety. Assuring that the vendors don't bug us on the beach, that we have all the comforts and security.

The grounds are very clean, the ladies who graciously clean up our messy rooms, and the bar and wait staff, are awesome. Majority of them are there year after year. That says something to us, if the staff love their jobs and are there, that means the management cares too.

June and the admin staff handle every detai for us.

The food is amazing and their are food packages and options. The sister hotel also is great up in the cliffs. A short free shuttle away. Nice place to take in the sunset.

We are heading back to spend Christmas there this year and back for Valentines in 2014.
The only place we stay is Sunset on the Beach, We have tried many places year after year.

The entertainment has Kicked up a notch. Excellent dance party on the sand, every other Friday, and then we have Greenie, and The Fireman entertaining on Karoke nights.

You must visit The Canoe Bar from 5-7 on Thursdays to take in the sunset, steel drums and an amazing meal.

I miss my home away from home.

Much love
Cricket

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at Sunset on the Beach for a week long stay. Our second night they hosted a spring break party that we were notified of only upon checking in. They said the party would go until 2 am, but actually went until 5, with a massive sound system rumbling our bedroom the entire night (and morning). In the morning we asked to speak with the manager (which required visiting the front desk 3 times until he showed up), who proceeded to make numerous excuses and shirking any responsibility for our discomfort. Eventually the owner graced us with her presence and conceded to comping our room for the night.
Otherwise, the hotel was on a nice beach that seemed much less busy than other strips. Breakfast was mediocre and the staff was quite rude until the end of the stay when they became slightly more friendly. Drinks were sub-par, although cheap. The room was outdated, dark, and ours was right next to the staff area who talked loudly into the night and played music. The sheets were dirty and covered in "mystery stains." The owner seemed indifferent to the guests and trained her staff poorly. Surely wouldn't recommend this "resort" to friends and definitely will not be staying again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negril
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My friend and I had a reservation from 7. February until 6. of Mars .We payed for one week ahead and the rest when we checked inn . ( total 2200,00 US , each person ) After 3 days two of the employed "securitas" , started to threat my friend . We had a meeting with the manager and the owner June . They fired theese two persons . But after that it became worse . The friends of "the fired securitas " , really started with treats . It was very dangerous for us . So we had to leave Hotel Sunset on the Beach and Negril . But June did not want to give us any refound !
Even she knew the cruel situasjon . We stayed only for one week , but payed for four . We run away to Ochi Rios and Hotel Rooms . And we had to pay for 3 weeks . (very expensive vacation , because of June ) . But Hotel Rooms was nice and safe . The three last years I been to Jamaica /Negril , and it was all ok . But after this swindle and threats I will never go back to Hotel Sunset on The Beach / Negril .. I tryed to contact June again , but she do not dare to ansver . This case is not over . Many people in Jamaica and Norway is working on it .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High River, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We just spent 10 days in Negril, Jamaica. Seven of those days spent at Sunset on the Beach. We had a great time and Henry, Millicent and the other staff are amazing. There was some problem upon arrival and we did not have a room (a "situation" because of the storm in Toronto). Not what you want to hear after 17 hours of travel. Henry, the manager, was so kind and found us a room at Coral Seas for 3 nights (another great little spot), drove us there, made sure we were taken care of and kept in touch with us. When we did get our room at Sunset on the Beach we had the pleasure of meeting June, the owner.

The resort does not offer much in the way of organized entertainment but there is a ping pong table and Wednesday night is Karaoke night and with the beach and all the local sights to see we didn't find this to be much of a problem. There is no pool but we were able to go to the sister resort "Sunset on the Cliffs" and enjoy the pool there along with the other amenities.

The rooms are clean with a charming rustic feel. It would have been nice to have at least a queen size bed instead of 2 double beds (that are firm) but not something that couldn't be worked around.

If you're looking for a quaint resort with clean rooms and an excellent atmosphere I definitely recommend this resort. The food was good, the staff wonderful, the beach great and the location can't be beat. If you're expecting a resort feel similar to "Couples" or "Breezes" this is not the resort for you. If you like a little adventure, are comfortable with more of an "old school" resort feel where people acknowledge you and recognize you, this is the place to be.

Definitely will be going back:)

Room Tip: Rooms are air conditioned but also have windows that open. Only 2 rooms with beach view but grounds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset on the Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset on the Beach Resort

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 90 Hotels in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset on the Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sunset on the Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset On The Beach Hotel Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset on the Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.