We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home, we love Sunset on the Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset on the Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Sunset on the Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunset on the Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 91 Hotels in Negril
Brampton, ON, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Home away from Home, we love Sunset on the Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Another two weeks have come and gone.too fast.
The staff at Sunset are family to us. We love them all. Troy "Mistah Security" is a great addition to the family. He has a very nice personality and he watches out for the entire facilities safety. Assuring that the vendors don't bug us on the beach, that we have all the comforts and security.

The grounds are very clean, the ladies who graciously clean up our messy rooms, and the bar and wait staff, are awesome. Majority of them are there year after year. That says something to us, if the staff love their jobs and are there, that means the management cares too.

June and the admin staff handle every detai for us.

The food is amazing and their are food packages and options. The sister hotel also is great up in the cliffs. A short free shuttle away. Nice place to take in the sunset.

We are heading back to spend Christmas there this year and back for Valentines in 2014.
The only place we stay is Sunset on the Beach, We have tried many places year after year.

The entertainment has Kicked up a notch. Excellent dance party on the sand, every other Friday, and then we have Greenie, and The Fireman entertaining on Karoke nights.

You must visit The Canoe Bar from 5-7 on Thursdays to take in the sunset, steel drums and an amazing meal.

I miss my home away from home.

Much love
Cricket

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    57
    37
    16
    27
See reviews for
31
45
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at Sunset on the Beach for a week long stay. Our second night they hosted a spring break party that we were notified of only upon checking in. They said the party would go until 2 am, but actually went until 5, with a massive sound system rumbling our bedroom the entire night (and morning). In the morning we asked to speak with the manager (which required visiting the front desk 3 times until he showed up), who proceeded to make numerous excuses and shirking any responsibility for our discomfort. Eventually the owner graced us with her presence and conceded to comping our room for the night.
Otherwise, the hotel was on a nice beach that seemed much less busy than other strips. Breakfast was mediocre and the staff was quite rude until the end of the stay when they became slightly more friendly. Drinks were sub-par, although cheap. The room was outdated, dark, and ours was right next to the staff area who talked loudly into the night and played music. The sheets were dirty and covered in "mystery stains." The owner seemed indifferent to the guests and trained her staff poorly. Surely wouldn't recommend this "resort" to friends and definitely will not be staying again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negril
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My friend and I had a reservation from 7. February until 6. of Mars .We payed for one week ahead and the rest when we checked inn . ( total 2200,00 US , each person ) After 3 days two of the employed "securitas" , started to threat my friend . We had a meeting with the manager and the owner June . They fired theese two persons . But after that it became worse . The friends of "the fired securitas " , really started with treats . It was very dangerous for us . So we had to leave Hotel Sunset on the Beach and Negril . But June did not want to give us any refound !
Even she knew the cruel situasjon . We stayed only for one week , but payed for four . We run away to Ochi Rios and Hotel Rooms . And we had to pay for 3 weeks . (very expensive vacation , because of June ) . But Hotel Rooms was nice and safe . The three last years I been to Jamaica /Negril , and it was all ok . But after this swindle and threats I will never go back to Hotel Sunset on The Beach / Negril .. I tryed to contact June again , but she do not dare to ansver . This case is not over . Many people in Jamaica and Norway is working on it .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High River, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We just spent 10 days in Negril, Jamaica. Seven of those days spent at Sunset on the Beach. We had a great time and Henry, Millicent and the other staff are amazing. There was some problem upon arrival and we did not have a room (a "situation" because of the storm in Toronto). Not what you want to hear after 17 hours of travel. Henry, the manager, was so kind and found us a room at Coral Seas for 3 nights (another great little spot), drove us there, made sure we were taken care of and kept in touch with us. When we did get our room at Sunset on the Beach we had the pleasure of meeting June, the owner.

The resort does not offer much in the way of organized entertainment but there is a ping pong table and Wednesday night is Karaoke night and with the beach and all the local sights to see we didn't find this to be much of a problem. There is no pool but we were able to go to the sister resort "Sunset on the Cliffs" and enjoy the pool there along with the other amenities.

The rooms are clean with a charming rustic feel. It would have been nice to have at least a queen size bed instead of 2 double beds (that are firm) but not something that couldn't be worked around.

If you're looking for a quaint resort with clean rooms and an excellent atmosphere I definitely recommend this resort. The food was good, the staff wonderful, the beach great and the location can't be beat. If you're expecting a resort feel similar to "Couples" or "Breezes" this is not the resort for you. If you like a little adventure, are comfortable with more of an "old school" resort feel where people acknowledge you and recognize you, this is the place to be.

Definitely will be going back:)

Room Tip: Rooms are air conditioned but also have windows that open. Only 2 rooms with beach view but grounds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I use to always stay here because it was so close to downtown. I went here on vday for their vday dinner and had a great time. This property has really stepped their game up, and I would reccommend!! They seem to have great theme parties if that is what your looking for!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

5 of us stayed at Sunset on the Beach from February 6th to February 14.

We were shown to two rooms downstairs which were cleaned daily and were nice and spacious! The beds are firm, which helped me sleep like a baby! Some say the bottom rooms are noisy, but we didn't encounter that at all.

Each morning, we had breakfast, which was excellent, in the restaurant then went to lay on the beach chairs that Ricardo had already set out for us. EXCELLENT SERVICE. The staff would always say hello when passing as well. Compared to other hotels along the beach, Sunset had the biggest beach by far, with plenty of areas to get away from the sun.

If you wanted to go on an excursion, you simply have to ask. Ricardo, a security guard, always hooked us up with the best deals! He was absolutely fabulous! There was plenty to do during our stay, and were never bored. The ladies in the spa were great and really friendly! The stayed open extra late to braid my friends hair. Sunset is a 5 minute walk away from the town.

I greatly recommend this hotel!! Friend of ours have been staying here for the past 5 years and won't go anywhere else!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

On arrival I was told that the room I had confirmed,in writing was,now occupied. I was also told that for sure I would get an upstairs,room & they were trying to put me downstairs were there is more noise. I had to argue with them and heard a lot of silly excuses but finally they did the right thing. Beware their booking system is manual and it would appear that they will do last minute shuffling to suit their needs not yours. It boils down to intent and will they honor their commitments?

Room Tip: Get them to commit in writing with a guarantee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset on the Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset on the Beach Resort

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 91 Hotels in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset on the Beach Resort 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Sunset on the Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset On The Beach Hotel Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset on the Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.