We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desperately needing some TLC” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kuyaba

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Kuyaba to your Saves list
Kuyaba
PO Box 2635, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 91 Hotels in Negril
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Desperately needing some TLC”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

We found this hotel through Lonely Planet and knew it would be pretty basic and situated on the beach.
The LP recommendation was written in 2009 and needs updating; just like this hotel.

The rooms are crying out for some much needed care and attention, or a lick of paint and spruce up at the very least.
Some of the lights and the cd player in our room do not work, the pillows are uncomfortable and nasty and the bathroom looks a little grubby.

We have a fridge in our room at a surcharge of 5 bucks a day, plugged into the only available socket that's situated in the bathroom, so we can't fully close the bathroom door.
Does the hotel not understand the health and safety implications of having an electrical wire near water?

The only redeeming feature of this place is that the restaurant serves good food, albeit a bit pricey after all the tax and gratuities added on afterwards.

We were really disappointed to see that the hotel doesnt have a properly set-out designated sunbathing area by the beach, no umbrellas or any kind of service.
Hawkers prowl up and down this beach all day and night, acting like annoying pests.
This beach has a sketchy vibe that's bearable, but would be so much better if little changes were made, both inside the hotel and how they choose to manage it outside as well.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    56
    21
    19
    18
See reviews for
23
82
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I stayed in the Rustic Cottages for one night. I had booked it because it was the cheapest option i was able to find. However, they were a little too rustic for me and I asked to be upgraded to a deluxe room. I felt much more comfortable there. Housekeeping was good except for some reason on the second to last day they did not change the sheets on the bed. Otherwise, great service. The music from the places next door was very loud, but what do you expect? The hotel is right next to a bar that specializes in live music and has many well publicized big events. Its on seven mile beach and its not like they are going to cancel their shows and business because someone can't sleep. If you are really bothered by noise, then stay somewhere that is NOT on seven mile beach. The reception staff was very helpful and I loved the parrots (even if they did get a little loud at times). The grounds are beautiful and the swing on the porch was very comfortable. Paul, the security guard on the beach was very helpful and nice. The beach was beautiful. The food at the restaurant was Ok. I preferred to get patties and fruit from vendors on the beach. The guys on the road with the jerk chicken also have good food. Kuyaba also has a boat that you can book a trip on. I went to the island and had fresh grilled lobster on the beach. It was so good. I had a great stay and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: The rustic cottages are as they are named, very rustic. The deluxe rooms are nice. There is a king...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the rustic cottages for two nights. The rustic cottages cost way too much for what they are. We have never got so bug bit in our entire life while we slept. Also, it rained one night and the roof leaked on my husband while he slept. We told the staff about it during check out and they didn't seem to mind. On the other hand, it was an excellent location. We could walk to great places to eat and party. If you stay here, I would recommend getting the nicer rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The hotel is located less than 100' on either side by two supposed nightclubs. The first problem is that the noise is so loud that the doors and the nightstand rattle. The second problem is that the noise isn't music. The noise is perpetual shouting, sirens and unearthly base vibration. Add to this car alarms which are constantly going off which leads you to the third problem: The noise didn't stop the first night until 5 am and as I am writing this just before 1am tonight, it's anyone's guess when this will stop. Finally, problem number four; when i tried to talk to the manager, I was told to wait ten minutes while she finished her dinner.
So, if you have worked hard for your money this year and have saved up for a wonderful vacation, go elsewhere

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Overall the experience was ok but at night , the club next legends resort had head banging music from 8pm - 3am!!! It was not cool because you wake groggy due to the lack of sleep over the music.. Nice grounds and but found a giant roach in our bathroom. Nice beach and locals are friendly but want something out of it also. Watch out for guys on the main road asking to exchange money for jamaican currency =they will watch you leave the cambio house and get MAD...

Room Tip: The best local food near kuyaba "3 star jamaican food " 1(876) 452-7355. THE BEST!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDC
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Girls trip - overall it was nice. Nothing grossed me out. The rooms were clean and grounds were nice, but dark at night. I always had security walk me to my room coming in late.

Complaints - bring your own hairdryer and iron. They have 28 rooms with 2 irons to accomodate guests and hairdryers are available from the front desk. No fridge (additional cost), no phones (rent local cell phones), no luggage rack (luckily I had 2beds and improvised). The locals will hound you all day long to buy gifts and never walk alone or they'll follow you.

I never ate at the hotel, the local restaurants/vendors are good; lot of food for little $$$. There were lots of locals on the beach selling fruit, fresh juice, homemade bananna bread, sugarcanes, jerk pork, you name it you could actually have breakfast/lunch on the beach without leaving your chair. I could actually see myself visiting again. The beach was nice/clean and never crowded; we lounged from sun-up to sun-set.

Room Tip: If you're not use to stairs, ask for a lower level; stairs were steep and open - felt like a tre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Just Returned 11/6/12 Our Legs ,& MY EYE were Bitten by BUGS , People on the beach wouldn't leave us alone, NO FRIG in the room -- asking for ice was like asking for gold. the coffee- 2 CUPS (NO REFILLS) $4.80 AMERICAN-- save your money -- DON'T BOOK THIS PLACE!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kuyaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuyaba

Address: PO Box 2635, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#32 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kuyaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuyaba Hotel Negril
Kuyaba Resort Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kuyaba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;