We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kuyaba

Save Saved
You added Kuyaba to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kuyaba
PO Box 2635, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 91 Hotels in Negril
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The hotel is located less than 100' on either side by two supposed nightclubs. The first problem is that the noise is so loud that the doors and the nightstand rattle. The second problem is that the noise isn't music. The noise is perpetual shouting, sirens and unearthly base vibration. Add to this car alarms which are constantly going off which leads you to the third problem: The noise didn't stop the first night until 5 am and as I am writing this just before 1am tonight, it's anyone's guess when this will stop. Finally, problem number four; when i tried to talk to the manager, I was told to wait ten minutes while she finished her dinner.
So, if you have worked hard for your money this year and have saved up for a wonderful vacation, go elsewhere

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    56
    21
    19
    18
See reviews for
23
81
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Overall the experience was ok but at night , the club next legends resort had head banging music from 8pm - 3am!!! It was not cool because you wake groggy due to the lack of sleep over the music.. Nice grounds and but found a giant roach in our bathroom. Nice beach and locals are friendly but want something out of it also. Watch out for guys on the main road asking to exchange money for jamaican currency =they will watch you leave the cambio house and get MAD...

Room Tip: The best local food near kuyaba "3 star jamaican food " 1(876) 452-7355. THE BEST!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDC
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Girls trip - overall it was nice. Nothing grossed me out. The rooms were clean and grounds were nice, but dark at night. I always had security walk me to my room coming in late.

Complaints - bring your own hairdryer and iron. They have 28 rooms with 2 irons to accomodate guests and hairdryers are available from the front desk. No fridge (additional cost), no phones (rent local cell phones), no luggage rack (luckily I had 2beds and improvised). The locals will hound you all day long to buy gifts and never walk alone or they'll follow you.

I never ate at the hotel, the local restaurants/vendors are good; lot of food for little $$$. There were lots of locals on the beach selling fruit, fresh juice, homemade bananna bread, sugarcanes, jerk pork, you name it you could actually have breakfast/lunch on the beach without leaving your chair. I could actually see myself visiting again. The beach was nice/clean and never crowded; we lounged from sun-up to sun-set.

Room Tip: If you're not use to stairs, ask for a lower level; stairs were steep and open - felt like a tre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Just Returned 11/6/12 Our Legs ,& MY EYE were Bitten by BUGS , People on the beach wouldn't leave us alone, NO FRIG in the room -- asking for ice was like asking for gold. the coffee- 2 CUPS (NO REFILLS) $4.80 AMERICAN-- save your money -- DON'T BOOK THIS PLACE!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Kuyaba is my go to Negril Hotel. I've probably stayed here 6 or 7 times over the years. The reservations manager Toshiro always takes great care of me when it's time to book another visit. The staff is great, rooms are great and decor of the property is exactly what I want from a small hotel in paradise. Where kuyaba wins tho is the restaurant and the location - it's closer to the town end of the strip so you can access negril town or the west end easily. The restaurant is magnificent and in the perfect place for a sunset dinner - I always order the calaloo coconut snapper - infact I had it three out of 4 nights on the last trip. It's right on the beach and the jet ski guys and the glass bottom boat captain will arrange excursions for you. Jet skiing, boat trips to Booby cay and snorkeling in the reefs are great ways to spend the lazy days. Get a driver to take you to MAYFIELD FALL!!! This place is incredible - I've been to just about every major water fall in Ja and this place is a gem! It's about an hours drive up the hill and through the communities surrounding negril and its amazing - it's not commercial like dunns river falls - a great way to spend a day immersed in nature. And the massage pools are excellent - be sure to have your guide take you to the "washing machine" and tip him well. You can't go wrong in negril. Cheers!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raceland, KY, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Kuyaba in July, 2012. The Honeymoon Room is very clean and spacious. Full size fridge and great air conditioning. Much of our evening time was spent on the verandah. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. Fresh towels were available whenever requested. The beach was relaxing and very few hustlers. When did encounter some loud music one night, but enjoyed it! Zelma and Mr. Russell were very helpful and friendly at the front desk. (unlike previous reviews describing them as rude) Everyone at Kuyaba was great. Security, housekeeping, maintenance, and restaurant staff. Food is excellent!
Kuyaba offers privacy and service at a very affordable price. Easy taxi to town and back. Chunky and Jamie are safe drivers who don't try to rip you off. Shops and grocery within a short walk. Very safe. We will return next summer for a longer stay. Wonderful place to relax!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed at Kuyaba recently and had a great experience. The property is really pretty and the rooms are clean and well kept. The best part of Kuyaba is the staff. They are a great group and made our stay even better.
The beach area is small at Kuyaba and there is definitely run over from a property next door. This created even more of a crowd on the beach.
There were two nights that the noise was awful..reverberating the walls awful.
A great place to stay.Management should really try to work with local businesses to resolve the noise issue.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kuyaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuyaba

Address: PO Box 2635, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#32 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kuyaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuyaba Hotel Negril
Kuyaba Resort Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kuyaba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.