We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located motel in the middle of seven mile beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fun Holiday Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fun Holiday Beach Resort to your Saves list
Fun Holiday Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 90 Hotels in Negril
Toronto
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Centrally located motel in the middle of seven mile beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I recently stayed at the Fun Holiday Beach Motel centrally located on the beach, right beside "Roots Motel".. I haven't been back to Jamaica for about ten years. I used to go all the time with my late wife, to various motels on the beach. There are approximately 45 rooms, with a choice of all inclusive or not. The all inclusive deal is certainly worth it. There were three delicious meals daily plus a choice of drinks although "red stripe bottle beer" was not included. They did have draft beer. Often I would have a strawberry daiquiri which was lovely on a hot day. The meals consisted of choice of eggs, bacon, kidneys, french toast and a limited supply of fruits..(not sure why). Lunch and dinner were a combination of jerk pork, chicken, curried chicken, hamburgers,fries and cake/fruit. I never had a stomach problem, the whole time there, not like the many times visiting Cuba. My room was located opposite the office, just a two minute walk to the restaurant and beach. The room had two double beds, a large bathroom, and walk in closet. It also had a dated tv, and I brought my own "boom box" There were a few tiny ants in the bathroom but it didn't bother me. The 'maid (Aileen) I tipped one dollar a day, usually gave me fresh sheets. There was a nice bar serving draft beer (not bottles) and delicious "daiquiris". Sometimes they did run out of supplies but I am sure they tried hard to please. Most staff were very friendly, and often called you by your name. The only problem was be careful on buying any music cd;s even at the motel, unless you actually play it on your own machine in your room before you leave. One of mine was a dud and didn't pay for it. They had a large pool (I hate pools) and twice a week a live band played "reggae". One band on Sundays was a steel band. The beach of course was amazing, dotted with hundreds of bars, motels, restaurants. Remember, one can pay around $18 each for lunch, and up to $6 for a daiquiri -$3 for a beer so getting the all inclusive is a better deal. The ocean was so clear, just like I remember and often these "sting rays" came close to shore. They don't bother you unless you enjoy grabbing them by the tail. This world famous seven mile beach has been ranked in the top ten beaches by the travel channel. Negril offers an amazing combination of offerings such as the cliffs,(in the west end) where I often swam, cave diving, scuba diving and a great place to relax."Rick's Cafe" is well worth a visit as well as Xtabi bar "free snorkeling" . I also visited "Rock House", an amazing motel on the rocks with great diving. Ask for permission first before going in. Often the beach had free bands. Once I went to the "jungle" just across from the hotel. Remember, you will be searched , worse than the airport. At the beginning you will be hassled by the locals for drugs, shells, vegetables , aloe etc, jewelry, A firm no is necessary or I already have it. Be careful on locals putting aloe on you. They will charge you up to ten dollars. Do not accept anything free as there is always a charge..even a puff. Otherwise, the price was even cheaper then Cuba as it included hotel, bus pick up to and from the airport, all meals, drinks etc. I am looking forward in going back next year.

Room Tip: The "Ocean front rooms" are probably worth the extra bucks. Try to pick a room on the low...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    103
    79
    56
    66
See reviews for
43
132
38
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I just returned from FHB. Upon my arrival check-in was done promptly. The room was basic and clean. A/C worked perfectly and hot water was available without any problems during my stay. FHB is located perfectly on the beach. Almost in the middle of the famous 7 mile beach. The food was delicious. What made my stay most enjoyable is the staff. Specially everyone at the reception and Milton, the manager. Milton will make sure you have the perfect stay and will go out of his way to make sure you are satisfied and pleased with everything. I strongly recommend this place for a low cost stay on the island. FHB, Milton, thank you for making my stay perfect!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I just returned 2 days ago. everything was perfect. ac beds food staff location all wonderful. free room upgrade because ours wasnt ready. nice drive to and from airport. manager always made sure we were good and even gave us food to take to the airport. if u want a nice room dont bother going. cleanliness was all i cared about and it was clean. i didnt go to Jamaica to stay in my room. please tip staff as they soooo deserve it! reception staff was wonderful. beach absolutely beautiful. pool and hot tub cleaned daily. Loved it and will return in August!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The Pro's:
Best beach in the world, clean rooms, safe environment, great staff, wireless internet.

The Con's:
Swim-up bar is cash only, all-inclusive bar closes at 10:00pm, not near enough beach loungers (approx. 9 or 10 for 42 rooms), safe is $4/day, fridge is $4/day, pretty much the same food everyday.

All in all, it was just what I expected. Just like everything else in life, you get what you pay for.
We had lunch and dinner outside the hotel several times. So much for the budget.
Thanks to everyone we met, especially Grant for the photography tips and everything else.

Room Tip: All rooms are very close to the beach. Try not to get a lower room right in front of the pool if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were terrible...our a/c didn't work the whole week we were there...beach has only a few feet of sand. The food was awful and lacked variety...the bar often ran out of drinks. The pool was dirty, very cloudy. There weren't a lot of people staying there. We expected a party place but we were the only ones partying. My teen children were shocked at how awful this place was. We're embarrasses to say we were here at all. Do not stay here! Not worth the money we spent staying here.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I have stayed at this resort 4 times. I owe it to the wonderful people who work at this resort and consistently go out of their way to make your stay a great experience to write a well-earned & deserving review every time. They truly treat you like you are at home & as part of the family. The fact that I have gone back to this resort is a testament of my overall experience. I am also writing this as I find some of the negative reviews simply unfair.
The property has a great location on a great beach close to everything imaginable both beach & road side. Rooms are spacious, clean & basic. There's AC & basic TV. The TV package has all the essentials covering news, sports & movies. They even have CBC & CityTV if you fancy some CDN content. For Quebecers there’s TV5 for French content. I find that all room amenities, although basic, just suit me when on vacation as I am either out & about or just sleeping/resting when back in the room. I also find the food fantastic. It has variety, is fresh & has local representation. The callaloo, Festival and all the Curries are simply delicious.
Yes the bar closes at 10 pm. Which is great really as the resort is basically quiet & a great place to rest. I find that I always go out for entertainment in the area anyways [bars, concerts, dining etc]. And frankly when I come back, I want to go back somewhere quiet so I can rest [just like I want it at home...]. I generally avoid round-the-clock & rowdy resorts anyways as, like I say, when back from a good night of partying, I want a clean, cool room in a quiet place so I can rest.
There’s free wifi all over the resort except the rooms. You’ll have to come on the balcony to get connected.
Also, I have partied with a few guests on each of my 3 stays over the last year-&-half past 10 in the bar and resto area. As long as we were mindful of all the other guests the security and overall staff allow you to drink your own alcohol and stay as long as you want.
Everyone working at this resort is great. Latoya, Marianne & Kimberly at the front desk are simply fantastic. As always I feel safe & at home at once with Lawrence, Ms Ritchie & O'Neill[security]. Nyron,Collin, kalil & nadisha at the bar/resto area are constantly making sure you have everything and your glass is full. Master chef Wayne although in the kitchen, always come out & personalize your experience in the resto. They always smile and remember your favorites and add a sweet and friendly touch to breaky, lunch & dinner. And Jennifer et al in housekeeping make sure your room is clean and cool when you get back in. She is simply amazing. Everyone at this resort makes an honest attempt to get to know you in order to make a lasting impression on you.
On this trip, I also did an excursion to Mayfield Fusing Mr. Fix-it’s tour service which included George as our driver. They are registered at the resort and take care of you like family.
Sorry for this belated review. Every single one of my stays deserved a review of this kind.
I will always go back to this resort for the staff, value & the overall great experience.

Stayed March/April 2013, travelled solo

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is a well run down place toilet over flowed most days into hallway , water was turned off unless asked ,ac never worked properly , linen worn out and was lucky to get towels at 8pm at night when asking at reception .The only thing going for this place is the location .We both had a skin allergy from this room and was glad to get out , its ashame a little amount of money spent would put this place to right i have been going to negril for yrs and definitely not going back here...........

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fun Holiday Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fun Holiday Beach Resort

Address: Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fun Holiday Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven Mile Negril beach resort hotel with pool, hot tub, watersports, jet skis, live reggae 2 nights a week, other parties and events! Beach and pool bars, seaside seafood and Jamaican specialties restaurant, room service, internet connection, cable TV, air conditioning - check out our internet specials! For the best value on the Negril beach check out Fun Holiday Beach Resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fun Holiday Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fun Holiday Beach Hotel Negril
Fun Holiday Beach Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fun Holiday Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.