We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beware!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fun Holiday Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Fun Holiday Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fun Holiday Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 91 hotels in Negril
Toronto, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“beware!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

my list of the bad first ,,,the pool was not working,4 feet deep and you could not see the bottom ,green slime starting to form on the sides ,,,but no sign saying anything ,and nobody doing anything about it ,the place is over run by cats! ,you can here them all nite, the pool bar / beach bar...is a cash bar only, even if you are allinclusive, the other bar .always running out of something, mix ,beer ,rum .vodka..You could get coffee sometimes when someone finally got up to make it, by the way bring your own cup,some days there was coffee but no cups or sugar. It almost seemed like a chore for the bartender to get you a drink,,,if he had what you wanted,,i asked for the special drink of the day and could not get it,and never did get it,what a joke! the bartender was late one day so the bar never opened till he got there? So im assumeing if the cook did not show up we would not eat? The food was ok ,but by the time it was put out everyone was running up like they were starving,just like a pack of hungry wolves,the salt and pepper shakers were full of rice only ,,,when you asked for more insted of refilling they would just take one from the next table ,even if someone was sitting there,Anyone that has a good review of this resort is crazy!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    95
    73
    54
    65
See reviews for
41
123
38
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrow, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We recently spent 8 nights at the Fun Holiday resort in the lovely Negril, Jamaica. My wife and I enjoyed our time there and will most likely return. Great location for the $. The beutifull beach is literally steps away. Not a very big resort which was nice. We did not do the all inclusive plan so
can not give any input on that. The rooms were very clean and the housekeeping staff did a great job as well as the rest of the staff from the front desk to the bartender. Very central to lots of entertainment options within walking distance. Good vacation for the $.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

my first time to this resort and the first thing that changes my mind is when i was checking in at the office and how it was situated.frist thing there is no bell man to carry your luggage to your room,secondly when i entered the room there was only two towels in the room no wash rags no hand towels and no bath mat in room. so we went down back to the front office and let them know and she said she is going to bring them to the room and i waited for about three{3} hours and still did not get them and i had to go down there to her to get the towels and she didn't even appoligised for the towels.and also air condition was not working properly in room, no blanket on bed, no telephone and everything u have to pay for eg. coffee maker, fridge and alot more .on my second day of vacaction the housekeeper clean d room and left no towels inside the room and up until the third day we have not receive any towels.if i didnot take a rag from home i would have to use my underware to bath and dry my skin . their is alot more to say but i think this is good enough for u people. if u want to waste your money come to this resort.

Room Tip: choose rooms on the west side of the hotel they are upgraded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillipsburg, NJ
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

As I said in my first review of Fun Holiday - If you are looking for an "Americanized" Sandals type "foo foo" vacation - then don't go to Fun Holiday. If you are looking for an opportunity to meet WONDERFUL people, enjoy great Jamaican food and a fantastic beach, with a clean, well kept basic room, THIS IS YOUR PLACE!

My wife and I just celebrated our 36th wedding anniversary with a renewal of our vows - we left right after that for our favorite spot in all the world (other than home) - Negril - We just returned from 9 days with the fantastic people at Fun Holiday. We relaxed, celebrated, enjoyed the beach, ate WAY too much, and had a marvelous time! Marian greeted us on arrival, from there we saw our friends Robert (best Jerk on the beach :-) ) Wayne (chef extraordinaire) Narron and Collin (mixologists) Richard, Shane & Richie (security) Richard (our great grounds keeper and all around handy man!) Odette (cashier and just a sweet person!) Ninja (keeper of the watta activiteis) and Jenna (the lady who braids with precision!)

We saw our dear friends Ms. Gem "and a fruit" - and Neville who makes the BEST patties on the beach - Oh and lest I forget Captain Moses!

They say "you get what you pay for".. That isn't really true of Fun Holiday - There you get MUCH more than you paid for! As is often said on the Negril Message Board (http://negril.com/forum/forumdisplay.php/2-Negril-Message-Board) - BOOK - PACK - GO!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: We stay in the "D" rooms - upper floor across from the office.. We like an upstairs room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is my second time staying at the Fun Holiday in negril, my first time was a short stay.
Check-in was fast and easy, had help with my bags to my room.
The property is well kept with friendly and helpful staff, you feel right at home.
Food is great rooms are clean with lots of hot water.Security is on duty 24hr a day.
Located right on the beach with a nice clean pool, they also have an all inclusive plan.
There are plenty of restaurants shops and clubs nearby.
My second stay was even better than the first, will go back for sure.
If you plan to visit negril, stay at the Fun Holiday!!! 876-957-9688

Dean Morgan

Room Tip: The second floor rooms have a great ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My first time to Jamaica and first time at Fun Holiday Beach Resort. AMAZING Staff... so friendly and helpful. Clean rooms, good food, great price and again SOOOO FRIENDLY and Helpful. I left the island feeling I had friends to come back to see some day!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

You're welcomed to Fun Holiday by friendly staff. They make you feel like a VIP guest. I was greeted everyday by staff by my name, which makes you feel special and get the personal attention unlike the large resorts where you're just a guest among hundreds of others. You will feel safe, security always on duty. Even during the hurricane, staff stayed overnight to accommodate, secure your safety and provided emergency necessities during the storm. Friendly house keeping, willing to provide any needs. Always looked forward to seeing my housekeeper with her big smile. Great servers, unlike reading previous reviews of staff being rude, I haven't encountered any of it.

Excellent location! Directly on the Seven Mile beach. Beautiful beach, view and sunshine. This hotel is in the centre of Negril's attractions. Short taxi rides to town, westend to the cliffs or Rick's, Margaritaville and shopping. Short walking distance to Jungle, local restaurants and road side jerk.

There is a restaurant on site. You can get some great fried fish and excellent jerk chicken (don't forget the "magic" sauce!) If you don't see what you like, the staff will accommodate. I wanted dumplings, yams, banana, ackee and salt fish for breakfast and next moring I got it!

Rooms are very clean, many satelite channels on tv, hot water never runs out and the AC keeps you cool and comfortable. You can keep connected with family and friends back home or resume work/business with available wi-fi. If you need anything, just ask.

Fun Holiday is home away from home. You're always welcomed home!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fun Holiday Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fun Holiday Beach Resort

Address: Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fun Holiday Beach Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven Mile Negril beach resort hotel with pool, hot tub, watersports, jet skis, live reggae 2 nights a week, other parties and events! Beach and pool bars, seaside seafood and Jamaican specialties restaurant, room service, internet connection, cable TV, air conditioning - check out our internet specials! For the best value on the Negril beach check out Fun Holiday Beach Resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Fun Holiday Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fun Holiday Beach Hotel Negril
Fun Holiday Beach Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fun Holiday Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.