We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Holiday best sunset in Negril” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fun Holiday Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fun Holiday Beach Resort to your Saves list
Fun Holiday Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 89 Hotels in Negril
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun Holiday best sunset in Negril”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

For most part the hotel is very basic, dont expect a 3 star, it is a no fuss establishement, but the stafsf are exceptional and make you forget the lack of entertainment, food assortment and most hot water shower. The intimacy of a small hotel is fantactic, you get to know the staffs, travellers. At sunset people gatter on the beach to watch the spectaculous sunsut. No need to spent alot of $$ such as Ricks Cafe or the Roch house to see the most beautiful suset. I could say it is an advneture to stay at Fun Holiday number one lack of hot water, decoration, sometine they run out of dishes and ustensils, the food is very basis, there is no Wines. The food is very limited, if you like salade think again they only serve cole slaw salade. There is no seafood as they advertise and entertainment is limited. They do not have a grilling on the beach as advertise. Forget about eating jerk chicken we had it only once during the week we stayed their, fruit are rare on the menu, if you watermelon or papaya and sometime pineapple, the coffee is bold. The water is good to drink don't need to buy water bottle. The beds are can vary we had hard beds, lack of furniture in our room. As we spoke to other travellers at the Hotel it varied.The security staffs are excellent, as women travelersl we never felt unsecured, Itenerants or sellers were brush away by giving a sign to the security guard. Remember Negril is relaxe if you expect the 5 star envirement no need to apply to this hotel. I would recomend this hotel to some is not picky and is looking for fun. The beach is at you door step. We walk on the beach at night with no problems, lots of little restaurant, sellers can be annoying but just tell them and No respect and they normally walk away. They take offence if you dont salut them so we made an habit of saluting them. ONE LAST THING there is no beach towel at the hotel either you bring some or buy some ower their. Best best to shop Time square Sunny'shop

Room Tip: When you take the gardenview ask for a balconie you will get a view of the ocean. B205 AC very noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    120
    87
    61
    75
See reviews for
50
149
42
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brights Grove, Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This hotel catrers to uni students who want a cheap vacation inthe sun & are willing to eat whatever is left over to fill themselves up. As a "fun" family vacation spot? There was nothing fun or enticing about the buffet.

Strewn all up & down Negrils Famous 7 mile beach were flyers staing their 10 to 12 steak, lobster ^ shrimp specialties.

After making a reservation, when we arrived on time, our table wasn't set or ready. AFter doing the waitress job of taking all the tables orders, after giving her the 2 for 1 "steak &..." flyer, we were told there was 3 lobsters left and they were totally out of steak. This after a reservation made 3 hours prior to our arrival.
We were hositng our cousins that night, who are from Jamaica and were as disgusted by the service & lack of sincerity as we were.

Not surprisingly, we left after this torture and took a taxi to Kuyaba. which, by the way was our second visit on this trip, & Kuyaba DIDN'T dissappoint!

So, steer clear of this restaurant and if the restaurant is this bad, how awful must the accommodations be?

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage la Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

I have 1000 things to9 say but only 15 minutes to do it so here goes.
This is a very small prperty. The staff became like family. It was everything we expected. I did get beach towels when I asked nicely for them. The house keepers did the best with what they have to work with. If ever they missed anything it was a 15 second walk to the office to get whatever was missed. Every day that it wasnt raining there was someone out painting. While we were there I noticed that the owner bought some new matresses, new towels, some new tvs and new glasses for the restaurant. It is under new management for the last few months and I think they are trying to spruce it up a bit. If they go to far though it will make the cost to go there higher and lots of people wont be able to go and enjoy the beach there as they wont be able to afford it. Staff are personal. Lois from the restaurant always called me rasta man and many of the emplyees became our friends during our 2 week stay. Food was always different although with just a few choices each day. Robert does good things with what he has. Spring breakers were there during our stay and one night I asked the security guy if he could just ask them to stop yelling. He did. They stopped and I got a good nights sleep. The beach is amazing. They do have to get someoen in there to take care of the pool and hot tub tho. The spring breakers were in there and it was absolutely filthy. I never got in either the whole time we were there. The beach was perfect and clean. Snorkeling on calm days right off the beach. Found some nice shells and three sea stars. But beware of the bigger tour operators. We went on the sunset cruise on the wild thing. I have been on many of these inthe past and this was the worst while costing the same. Parasailing. If you get a chance do it some place else. It cost 50 a person and they only guarantee 8 minutes. Thats a lot of money for 8 minutes. YS falls and black river are nice tours and you get your moneys worth if they through in lunch. Derrick that runs the see bottom boat was great. But book thru him not the resort as they take some of his money when you do that. He was so good I gave him a 20 for a tip at the end and I am not much of a tipper. The town itself sucks. In total disrepair and not a nice place to go. Half of the venders on the beach are awesome. The other half are agressive and ruin it for the good ones. All in all it was a good adventurous holiday. If you want more info just email me here Ill tell you all about it. We had an ocean view room and it was great.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Four of us stayed at Fun Holiday for 2 weeks between Christmas to after new years. It was the first time for all of us to be staying in Negril on Seven Mile beach.

The outside of the hotel is lovely, quaint and homey, the grounds are kept immaculately.

We arrived at noon, not expecting to be able to check in until later in the afternoon but were pleasantly surprised to find our rooms were ready.

The rooms are basic but CLEAN and spacious. I was glad there was no phone in the room as I like to go on vacation 'unplugged' ... However, I was glad that we had free wifi though as when I did want to look up what was going on in Negril I could easily!

The staff are amazing. The women who clean the rooms took such good care of us. They go above and beyond what would be considered in their job description. Any time we had a question we simply went to the office and inquired and often our requests were met.
Some of the staff that stood out for us were Nicole, LaToya, Wayne, Nyron, Marvin, Simone, Richard, Robert, Richie... I know we are missing a few... but the staff really are amazing and make your stay more memorable.

The beach and water are beautiful....yes, there are people that are making a living who are walking up and down the beach selling their specialties, but a 'no thanks' is all that is needed... OR if you choose to support the local economy there are great items to be found on the beach.. for example, Norman the Patty Man has the best Jamaican patties on the beach (IMO)... my favourite towels have been purchased on the beach.. as have the delicious mangos from the fruit lady.

The food ... there isn't a wide variety however there is something for everyone and the food is tastey... if you are part of the all inclusive package you are also able to order off the menu if there is something specific that you would like eat (at no additional cost). The chicken is awesome!

We would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat ...if you are looking for a quiet relaxing hotel that has the amenities you need while on vacation this is a great place! Its not for those who require a five star resort but for those who want a five star beach and staff.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

When I booked our trip for 6 to Fun Holiday for March 2012 I knew that it wouldn't be a 5 star hotel, however it was barely a 2 star! The pool and hot tub were so dirty that there was never anyone in them (this was a HUGE disappointment to me as I would rather swim in the pool than the ocean). We had three rooms total. They did not have clocks or phones nor would they give you extra towels (if you stay here make sure you bring your own beach towels or you can buy them on the beach). On the first night one of the couples had to switch rooms twice because the air conditioner did not work. The other couple had to switch rooms because a cockroach was crawlilng on her bag. The drinks came in tiny plastic cups and they were always out of a liquor or a mixer. The beach was beautiful but it was so close to the water that you couldn't sit there for 5 minutes without someone walking by and asking you to buy something. The food was not very good and it was not always available as you would think an all-inclusive would be. They would put the food out and everyone would line up to get it. If you were last the food would be cold. The staff was amazing!

Room Tip: If you find a good cab driver you can pay them to take you to the hotel and back to the airport for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We went with the expectations of a 3* and this motel is struggling to keep the 3*.

Rooms - although the staff do their best to keep them clean, some are in better shape than others (we had 2 rooms and they are quite spacious). A good coat of paint can go a long way. Bathrooms are old which makes them difficult to maintain - ie. toilets needing to be flushed 2 or 3 times - badly stained and worn; bathtubs backing up when trying to take showers - and I say trying because you don't always get pressure nor do you always get hot water - but that is expected in Negril and we knew that from previous trips. We always had clean bath towels - no wash cloths as other posters mentioned but we knew that too.

Pool and Hot tub - well,,, we never went in them because the spring breakers at the hotel were using them and we never saw them being cleaned. The first couple of days, they were maintained, chlorine and cleaning and then,,,,nothing. Since we have our own hot tub at home we left it for the college kids.

Food and drinks - nothing to complain about - for the cost of our trip, the A/I didnt really make it more expensive - it was almost the same price as a nearby property which didnt offer the food and our teens got to drink as many dacquiris as they wanted!. We went out a couple of times to our favorite eats, but no complaints - Robert is a great cook and it was like home cooking.

Location - excellent location on the beach. Definitly a diamond in the rough. Beach erosion has occured and we noticed this since our last visit to Negril but that changes every year. Management needs to purchase some new beach chairs!
Best part about being at a small hotel is that you get to know everyone and you are literally steps away from the water; so if you have to go back to your room, its a 30 second walk - really. We always felt safe and had no concerns about our teens walking about.

Our biggest issue was that management didnt care about our concerns regarding the spring breakers at the hotel. We could deal with the disco across the street and the boom boom till 4 am - eventually it lulls you to sleep but the kids coming back at all hours and shouting between the 2 buildings made for some bad sleeping. Management told us they couldnt do anything.

The irony is that when you arrive, the hotel is a 1* and as you get more relaxed, it gradually builds to a 3* but thats pushing it. We would hope that management gets the message because this place could be so much more.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

First of all, you get Negril weather on Seven Mile Beach, which makes it the best spot for a winter vacation in our experience. The resort size (36 rooms) means you get to know the other guests and the staff get to know you.

Our room was fine though pretty basic, and was cleaned daily. When 'The Jungle' (club across the road) is open, or there's entertainment in the resort, you're included if you're on your balcony/porch, but in the room with the door and windows closed it was quiet. Satellite TV carried channels from several countries. Our room was near the office and WIFI Internet was good on our porch, at no extra charge.

There's some quirks you should keep in mind:

a. beach towels are NOT supplied, so bring your own;

b. wash cloths are not supplied;

c. the rental fee of US$4 per day for the room safe must be payed in cash, no credit cards accepted;

d. getting bills changed (for tips) can be a problem, better to bring a wad of US$1 bills;

e. the buffet can run out of popular dishes (Robert's chili, bacon at breakfast, tossed salad) because this is a small resort;

f. the restaurant is open to the public and cash customers get full table service a la carte; however the restaurant staff are very attentive to the all-inclusive guests so it's just a minor annoyance;

g. city water was off at night a few times so no shower and the toilet doesn't flush; best time for hot water was around 11 am;

The food was basically routine (chicken and fish and some other dish) but Robert the chef has a great variety of tasty ways to prepare them, the soups were good, there was fresh fruit at every meal, and the sweet breads and cakes were really good (most mornings there were Timbits at breakfast).

So, it's a small resort without the frills and elegance of the big chains. It's a bargain at the price, and we'd go back.

Room Tip: B200 is ground floor near the office so WIFI is good and you're some distance from the music in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
1.3 mi away
Legends Resort
Legends Resort
#46 of 89 in Negril
3.5 of 5 stars 724 reviews
1.9 mi away
Foote Prints on the Sands Hotel
0.9 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#45 of 89 in Negril
3.5 of 5 stars 1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Travellers Beach Resort
#25 of 89 in Negril
4.5 of 5 stars 654 reviews
2.0 mi away
White Sands Negril
White Sands Negril
#37 of 89 in Negril
4.0 of 5 stars 703 reviews
33.3 mi away
SeaGarden Beach Resort
SeaGarden Beach Resort
#23 of 64 in Montego Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fun Holiday Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fun Holiday Beach Resort

Address: Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fun Holiday Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven Mile Negril beach resort hotel with pool, hot tub, watersports, jet skis, live reggae 2 nights a week, other parties and events! Beach and pool bars, seaside seafood and Jamaican specialties restaurant, room service, internet connection, cable TV, air conditioning - check out our internet specials! For the best value on the Negril beach check out Fun Holiday Beach Resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Fun Holiday Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fun Holiday Beach Hotel Negril
Fun Holiday Beach Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fun Holiday Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.