We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must see, but WAY over rated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Negril Cliffs

Negril Cliffs
West End, Negril, Jamaica
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 18 Attractions in Negril
Type: Geologic Formations
Activities: Swimming, Snorkeling
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Located on Negril's West End, these dramatic and soaring cliffs were used as a backdrop for the James Bond film "Thunderball."
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Powell, Wyoming
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Must see, but WAY over rated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Ricks is a tourist trap...it's fun to see the divers (ok jumpers) jump and if you want you too can jump (about 35 ft.), but $5 for a Red Strip, $7 for a Corona and $8 for a burger = let's bend over the tourists. We stayed for about 45 minutes...we arrived by boat and that was the best part of the trip to Ricks (being on the boat). Lot's of people, so it's fun to "people watch"...but having been there, done that, I won't go back to Ricks...but a first time should go check it out.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    513
    173
    41
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Bucket List check off”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have always wanted to see cliff divers somewhere and this was the place. Growing up on the water I think takes a bit out of it because you expect the cliffs to be much higher and more "professional" divers. You see mostly tourists jumping and the occassional professional once they collect enough money for him. The atmosphere is great and people love it!! Prices are a bit steep at $6.50 a beer but worth the trip to say you did it!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Loved”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We took a snorkel cruise that took us over by the cliffs. Was worth the trip! Very interesting see a different side of the island. Housed & hotels both in & over the cliffs.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I loved the Negril Cliffs but they would not have been the same without Shaniqua. She is one of the entertainment employees and she truly helped make my trip a better one.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The cliffs are the only place to be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

If you are looking for a hotel -- make sure you are staying in the cliffs. Easily the prettiest area of the island!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Negril Cliffs also viewed

Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to Negril Cliffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Negril Cliffs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.