We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet alternative to 7-mile beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HideAwhile

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added HideAwhile to your Saves list
HideAwhile
West End Road, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Negril
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Quiet alternative to 7-mile beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We were fortunate to spend one night at Hide Awhile after spending 5 nights at the sister property Idle Awhile. The rooms have the same contemporary, blue tile vibe. Housekeeping is excellent. Rooms are spacious, a/c worked great. We had a garden room which was very quiet. Hide Awhile was a relaxing retreat after the hustle and bustle on 7-mile beach. There is no beach at Hide Awhile, but a small pristine pool overlooking the ocean cliffs. There is a ladder down the cliffs to the ocean. The surf was really crashing into the cliffs while we were there, so we didn't venture into the ocean, just sat on the wall by the cliffs and enjoyed the sounds and the view. We walked to three great spots to eat from Hide Awhile - 1) Out of Town Pastries for patties, an amazing Fish Loaf filled with Ackee and fish and Coco bread 2) Murphy's for really cold Red Stripe and Jerk Chicken and great conversation 3) Just Natural for out of this world rustic garden atmosphere and vegetarian delights. Norman at the resort is always on site. We chatted for over an hour and grew to love him as he spoke sincerely of peace, love and the ways of the world. Sandria at the front desk is super friendly and helpful. We didn't have time to try the outdoor restaurant by the pool. Hide Awhile is fairly far out on the West End Cliffs past the lighthouse. Taxis are plentyfull even out here if you start walking or you can have Sandria call one for you. We had an in room kitchen which was great for drinks - even had a blender. If you love Negril but want a quieter spot removed from the vendors on 7-mile - this is a great alternative. By the way there is a free shuttle between Idle Awhile and Hide Awhile that runs in the morning and the afternoon so you really can have the best of both worlds - the beach and the cliffs. Just check in at the front desk of either resort for the times and let them know you will be on-board.

Room Tip: Choose garden side rooms for quiet. Choose ocean view suites for two-level spaciousness, view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    4
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Loved it! Fantastic hotel, clean, gorgeous, friendly helpful staff, beautiful grounds, lovely room. Couldn't fault it. Is quite far from the rest of the cliffs and the beach but taxis are so easy and cheap to get that really didn't bother us. we were sad to leave this place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

Our vacation started at Hide-while for 2 nights before heading to Couples Negril for the remaining 5 days at the end of April.

We stayed in a garden view room that had a small kitchen in it. It was really nice. Next time we’re going to reserve one of those ocean view rooms. We toured one and they are so cool. They have 2 floors. The bedroom is upstairs and has a great view of the sea. While we were there, the sea was way to ruff to swim in. The crashing of the waves was so relaxing to listen to.



This was our 1st non all-inclusive experience and we absolutely loved it. I can’t remember the cooks name but he was quite entertaining to watch. He showed us how to make Jamaica’s traditional dish Ackee and saltfish which we had for breakfast. It was delicious! The day we left the cook was making curry goat out of goat head and stomach for the employees. If I would have been there when it was done I would have tried it!

I definitely recommend Hide Awhile!



Thanks,

Doug and Nancy

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We went for Valentines Weekend and had great, the girl at the front desk was awesome. The hotel was very clean and the view was amazing, perfect for quite alone time. The have close by restaurants and other venues that's good for sightseeing.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

If you wish to be away from the hubbub of 7 mile beach in Negril, then head to the west end of the island to this secluded hideaway on the cliffs overlooking the sea.

To avoid flying in a blizzard, we flew to Jamaica a day early, and thus had to find a place to stay for one evening. We were lucky enough to find this small hotel. We arrived very late and were welcomed to a very comfortable room on the ground floor. We had a king-sized bed that was adorned with a heart-shaped towel in which some bougainvillea was nestled. There was a wee kitchen for longer stays, a flat-screen tv, and a very good quality air conditioner. The bathroom was freshly tiled and large, and the shower was lovely.

Saunter down to the cliff-side restaurant for breakfast if you like, or enjoy the sunshine by the pool.

Quiet, friendly, secluded. A nice spot.

Room Tip: There are not very many rooms in this small hotel, so you really can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights and had a great experience. The resort is beautiful and relaxing. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the service is outstanding. They do not have a large menu but everything we had was great! If you are looking for a quiet relaxing vacation you will not be disappointed. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We rented a villa at HideAwhile for the week of Thanksgiving and had a wonderful time. The cliff area is beautiful and quite. The villas were nice and clean, with an amazing view of the ocean. There is a nice,small resturant and bar at the pool area which enables you to never leave the resort (it does close around 6:30pm so plan ahead). I highly recommend the chicken curry crepe! But if you want to get out, they run a free shuttle to Seven Mile beach Idle Awhile resort, leaves at 11:00 and returns at 4:00. A perfect amount of time to enjoy the beach. And lastly, the sunsets were amazing! November found the sunset directly in front of our villa.

Room Tip: We had a villa facing the pool and ocean, awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HideAwhile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HideAwhile

Address: West End Road, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your HideAwhile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HideAwhile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.