We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food , Unbelievable Flavours” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roots Cafe Negril

Roots Cafe Negril
Roots Bamboo Beach | Norman Manley Blvd, Negril 000000, Jamaica
+1 876-957-4970
Improve this listing
Ranked #76 of 155 Restaurants in Negril
Price range: $5 - $28
Cuisines: Jamaican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Roots Cafe is a rebirth of the former Roots Bamboo Restaurant.The restaurant is set on the oceanfront of Negril's seven mile beach.Our guest have a choice of dining indoors or outdoors while experiencing great food and personalized service from our friendly staff.Join us for a sumptious breakfast,lunch or dinner. Come at sundown and get a glimpse of Negril's finest sunset or make reservations for an unforgettable dinner experience under the stars. There is live reggae music on Monday and Wednesday nights. Our menu offers a wide choice of local and international meals. We also have a special menu for kids.Try our daily specials as the Roots Cafe chefs show off their best in tantalizing your taste buds.For the most sumptious deserts stop by and let us wow you with our famous 'roots rum cake' or 'crazy banana split'. We keep it simple while leaving you with a great authentic Jamaican experience.
Windsor, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Awesome food , Unbelievable Flavours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I had the great fortune to spend two months in Jamaica at Roots Bamboo and the food that comes out of their kitchen is the best, bar none..The little waitress who waited our table was the most curtious and efficient waitress I have encountered in Jamaica. The food seems to take a while but it is made from scratch with all fresh ingredients. It IS worth the wait.. Just chill back, watch the beach activity and prepare yourself for a wonderful taste experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gouchie1, General Manager at Roots Cafe Negril, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you for your honest review of Roots Cafe, it is always a pleasure to hear our customers concerns as well as compliments. We do look forward to making your next stop even more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Diners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

When you go to Roots, it is an experience. It's right in the middle of 7 mile beach. Be prepared to wait for your dinner. It will be fantastic and made fresh to order. In the meantime, their Red Stripe is cold, the music is great, and the company friendly. Last year, Bunny Wailer was there chillin on his porch while we hung out at Roots. It was awesome! The sunsets are amazing, and their Wednesday nights are off the hook. I couldn't give it a 5 star only because it's not really fancy, the food just tastes like it is. In our opinion, they have the BEST lobster thermidor in Negril and we have tried them all.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Awesome Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We went to Roots Cafe for our last night on the island and to celebrate my cousins birthday May 27th.

The staff went above and beyond to make us feel welcomed. The chef a made a cake for my cousin which was low in sugar due to her diabetes and it was very good. Our dinner was very tasty and no one had any complaints. The meal and drinks were very reasonable.

They also had a reggae and soca show which was very good. The dj was also on point.

We could not have asked for a better last night/birthday celebration and I just want to thank them for everything they did!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gouchie1, Manager at Roots Cafe Negril, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thanks for sharing your great experience at Roots Cafe with so many people who probably did not know that we do extend ourselves to meet the everyday needs of our guests. We were very delited that you chose Roots Cafe to host your birthday party and that we made your day even more special. Again, thanks for choosing Roots Cafe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“best lobster I have ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

People are very friendly at this fine establishment. Very good lobster and jerk chicken plate with rice and beans. My wife ate the main lobster tail plate with mashed potatoes, butter sauce, and salad. Sweet breeze flowing in from the ocean adds an extra touch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It was excellent great food!!! :D”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful natural dininv area with sunset an blue beautiful waters in eyes view amazing service once again food is magnificent a+

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gouchie1, Manager at Roots Cafe Negril, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for such a great review about your experience at Roots Cafe. We are happy you took time out to share with so many others who desire to find restaurants that offer great service and good food. Your visit with us is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roots Cafe Negril also viewed

Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to Roots Cafe Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roots Cafe Negril, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.