We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent accommodations and the most romantic weekend in memory.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nirvana on the Beach

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Negril
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nirvana on the Beach
Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 91 hotels in Negril
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Magnificent accommodations and the most romantic weekend in memory.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Nirvana was a dream, the hotel staff was able to accommodate and arrange every activity we were interested in. As well as give recommendations on where to go, what to eat, and whom to shop from. I will without be back again next year. Errol was the best I actually met up with him later on in town and had a great night. They have the most immaculate property and beach on all of the seven mile. Recommend to any and all, enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    493
    92
    14
    12
    9
See reviews for
150
223
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The families of both the bride and groom stayed at Nirvana for a week for their Jamaican wedding. And I, for one, am hoping to return for a first anniversary celebration! I just loved everything about Nirvana and feel we got an authentic Jamaican experience. I miss walking down the sandy path to our private beach every morning! Just beautiful with not a beach umbrella in sight, made totally unnecessary because of the shade from the palm trees. And Erol had them perfectly positioned for the morning them moved them back for the afternoon sun. If a chaise is not your style, there are also hammocks. The beach is beautiful, private, and quiet. We got into the habit of buying Jamaican "pockets" from Norman for lunch. And the lobsters for a dinner made by the staff were caught by another of the beach vendors right off our beach. We also had wonderful dinners made by the staff, including Red Snapper and Jamaican chicken cooked the authentic way.

The setting and landscaping is completely natural with a wide variety of native plants. And naturally selected by native birds, including a flock of parakeets. The pathways are all sand and are raked every day in a variety of patterns. No concrete here! The gardens are immaculate and are kept picked up from falling leaves, fruit or nuts every day. It was wonderful to hear the birds by day and the peepers and surf by night.

The cottage rental includes one meal a day cooked by the staff there with food supplied by the guests. If I had one complaint, it was that the food was started at 1PM and by the time it was ready it was too late for lunch and too early for dinner. But we enjoyed it nevertheless. There are any number of restaurants going up or down the beach in either direction with a short walk of just a couple of minutes.

The staff at Nirvana are wonderful and ready to meet your every need. Leon brought us to and from the airport in Montego Bay for a fee that had not been inflated for tourists. A massage therapist came every other day and several in our party availed themselves of her services in the gazebo, which were offered at the rate of $1.00 per minute. The cleaning staff were gracious and accommodating and quite willing to come to service your room when you wanted them to. I found the bed a bit hard the first night but they provided a mattress topper for the rest of our stay there.

We stayed in one of the air conditioned cottages, which was quite completely but simply furnished. There were wonderful ceiling fans both in the cottage and on the screened porch which was a lovely place to sit and read in the evening. The kitchen was also very complete and more than adequate for our needs. The bath was very clean and modern with plenty of hot water.

We also befriended Oreo the cat who was very pregnant when we arrived and who had had her kittens by the time we left! She is very friendly and had a ravenous appetite, which we were happy to supply with food, which she eagerly ate. Any food we left for her on our door stoops overnight was gone when morning broke. Please feed Oreo!!!

Nirvana is just the kind of non-resort resort that I just love. VERY family friendly. And I would love to return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hill Country, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

If your idea of a vacation is a peaceful, authentic, no frills added, unpretentious cottage smack dab in the middle of the widest, least crowded, and beautiful stretch of 7 mile beach, look no further. If you are looking for a typical modern resort with organized activities, busy grounds with a swimming pool, restaurant, bar and lots of fellow tourists scrambling for a beachfront lounger each morning, don't come here. If you want plush towels, modern and coordinated, up to date furnishing and kitchen facilities, TV and other amenities, Nirvana is not your kind of place. If you would like to stay somewhere that offers a true Jamaican vacation experience that is reminiscent of old Negril before all inclusive vacations became the norm, then you have found it.

We have been coming to Nirvana for years and although we enjoy 5 star pampering from time to time, when we come to Negril we prefer the true Jamaican atmosphere of Nirvana. As experienced travelers, we can chose many places in the world to visit, but when we want pure relaxation, where we know exactly what to expect and want a place where we can leave our everyday stresses and busy lives behind..we chose Nirvana.

We love that we are greeted by the same wonderful staff like familiar, dear friends each time we return. Errol even remembers our favorite spot on the sand from each trip (where else would that ever happen?) and greets us with a smile and a wave each morning as he makes sure he has our loungers waiting for us as we greet the morning. As people walk along the beach they often stop and take pictures of the beautiful setting of Nirvana because with its wide open beach, hammocks, palm trees, and cottages, it truly does look like the tropical paradise one imagines in their mind when thinking of the quintessential Caribbean escape. Nirvana seems to attract fellow guests that also value the quiet and private peace of a simple, back to basics kind of holiday. Families and couples alike are equally attracted to its charm.

We like to stay in the upstairs Verandah suite, as we did on this trip. It has air conditioning, which at this point in my life is something I consider mandatory in the summer. It is basically one large bedroom with a small, very basic kitchen facility (kettle, coffee maker, hot plate, toaster oven, blender, microwave, with a basic assortment of pots,pans and utensils) within the room. There is a full size refrigerator that we stock with snacks, beverages, and breakfast supplies that we pick up in Montego Bay when our wonderful driver, Leon, takes us grocery shopping after picking us up at the airport. The bed is extremely comfortable with a nice firm mattress. There is a ceiling fan over the bed and another on the verandah. In addition to a separate bathroom and dressing room, there is a wonderfully refreshing outdoor shower on the back terrace. The furnishings are basic and certainly not designer inspired, but our villa is always sparkling clean and the staff is always there inquiring if our stay is satisfactory and asking if there is anything further that we need.

We look forward to cooking breakfast each morning and sitting out on the large covered balcony of our suite that offers a million dollar view of the beautiful beach and blue water. Nothing tastes better for breakfast than a big cup of Blue Mountain coffee and coco bread bought fresh from the vendor along with our Jamaican fruit, and maybe even my famous banana pancakes if I feel ambitious. A few mornings of each trip we always make sure to have an authenic Jamaican breakfast somewhere along the beach or along the main road as it is as much a part of the Jamaican experience as anything else.

Our schedule is pretty much the same everyday. If we want to go anywhere, Leon is usually parked across the street and he knows all of the best restaurants and places of interest. Our favorite activity is to walk along the expanse of beach and stopping at some small cafe or jerk stand for lunch and a cold red stripe before making the return trip back to "our beach".

Usually later in the day we visit the great beach bar just next door at the White Sands where we take advantage of their daily 2-for-1 daily drink specials (you must try their Dirty Banana on Fridays!) that we usually bring back to Nirvana to drink on the beach.

Of course, that amazing ocean always beckons. The water in front of Nirvana is so calm and clear that even an old lady like me can easily frolic in the water like a teenager..and I do! If we are lucky enough to get a tropical afternoon rain shower, a nap back in our suite usually makes its way onto our agenda..there is nothing better or more sleep inducing than the sound of rain on the roof of our little hideaway.

The evening routine is to once again claim our favorite spot on the beach to toast the sunset and to remember to be grateful that we were granted both the health and the means to return to Nirvana once again. We end our nights with dinner at one of the beach side restaurants or we have a driver take us to one of the many nice places along the cliffs to dine. We always feel safe and secure upon our return when greeted by the night security staff at the roadside gates of Nirvana.

As always happens when we return home, we are already missing our sweet Nirvana friends, Errol, Shine, Moses, Sandra, Zemroy, Kevin, all of the staff... they truly embrace the best of Jamaican hospitality and spirit. This professional, unobtrusive staff is what really makes Nirvana feel like our very own vacation home to us.

Once again, we are already talking about our next trip...and as we always promise each other as we regretfully say our goodbyes, there will be a next time!

Room Tip: Verandah suites are ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our 2nd trip to Nirvana. First trip was couples only, this trip we brought the kiddo. The property descriptions are spot on, expect that there are no words that accurately describe the people or the beach/water. They have to be experienced to understand.

Breezy and Emroy scooped us up from the airport and made us feel welcome from the first second. Emroy greeted us with a sign and a big smile. They are very accomodating and patient. Has feeling of being a wealthy person in New York with your own personal driver.

We stayed in the Sundeck II suite and it met our needs! Lovely ocean/beach view, private and quiet. Room was comfortable and stocked with what you would need. Everything was in working order, clean and although not brand spanking new nothing was worn to a point of being tattered. The art in the room was amazing and I believe done by Sandra's daughter. The meeting spot is a great place to wait out the tropical watering (rain). This may not be our favorite room but it isn't because of the room it is because if spot on the property has its own personality so it makes sense to me that there are different preferences per person.

Loved catching up with our dear friends again and I do mean friends. The entire staff treat you well and even though it had been several years, once we started talking a few of them actually remembered some details we had shared on a previous trip. Never felt unsafe, never felt unattended too, never felt hovered over. In a time where I feel customer service is sorely lacking quality, amazing how this group of folks have "it" down.

Beach and grounds are amazing! New to us this trip were the Orchids which are beautiful. Birds, tree frogs, lizards abound giving you the "tropical" feel. Mosquitos are present but we were able to use a deet free spray and other than that occasional irritating buzz by your ear we honestly had no problem. Even my 6 year son who is normally a feeding ground came away unscathed. "Oreo" (the cat) visited us and was very sweet, never did get to see the kittens but she seemed to be eating for fifty+ lol.

Food can be as 5-star as you choose. We chose to grocery shop on our way in (Negril Hi Lo) and stock up on our basics. Note last time we shopped in Montego Bay and had a better selection of fresh foods so would likely stop there for that piece of the grocery list. We then supplement with options from vendors on the beach (lobsters, fresh fish, conch, squid, fruit). We also enjoy the patty man (definitely with the box/bike) - the coco bread was a hit for my son who was able to use it for hotpockets, sandwiches... anything he could. We like to stay put so did not venture to the many restaurants in the area but hit up the best of the west and were introduced to a soup place about 2 blocks down from Nirvana (road side) on the right. Again a hit with the kiddo. The 2for1 specials at the bar next store are perfect as well (even for the kids - get one with and one with out for 'happy hour'). We enjoyed our fresh seafood from 'Taxi', the gentlemen with the red canoe near the property (beach side) and if you ask he will try to accomodate your desire during his fishing session- as he says 'this is my job and I take requests'.

WIFI was very helpful to plan excursions or look up questions about the islands. The musicman is great for leading you to the live entertainment. The beach toys are perfect for what you need (floats, some sand toys, paddle board and kayak). Very nice amenity at no extra charge sounds so simple but makes you feel more at home for some reason.

Nirvana is true to its description. As you can read from the reviews, it is not for everyone but what is. The 3 of us thoroughly enjoyed our visit and will be back. My son never once asked where the TV was or to play games (although he isn't big into either at home so that might be key), never said he was board. We did bring along a few "travel games" and some craft projects to break up the water and sand play. We were able to disconnect from the electronic world, wind down from the hustle and bustle and reconnect on a new level as a family. If Nirvana appeals to you (in its simpliest purest form), go for it you should not be disappointed. If anyting the staff the win you over and set new standards.

Room Tip: IMHO each spot (cottage/room/suite) has its own unique personality so finding one what matches your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at Sunset at the Palms 4 times but decided we wanted to try something different. This place was not even close to as nice for about the same price. The beach is nice and we had beautiful sunsets off our deck in the Sundeck suite but the room was really shabby. I really don't understand why this place gets such great reviews. I guess it's fine as long as you don't plan on spending much time in your room. It's highly unlikely we will return here, but we are planning another trip to Sunset at the Palms this fall. There is definitely a market for "roughing it" in a place like this but it needs to be a lot cheaper.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

I felt truly welcomed by the staff. My needs and wants were met. Nirvana will be the only place that I will stay when I am in Negril. The property was well kept and I felt secure. The only thing I did not like, was leaving the Nirvana to return home.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

As my husband and I were at Nirvana the same time as cshel718 (review below), we won't repeat her wonderful review which is spot on. We stayed in the upper verandah suite for 10 days ending today :( which was the closest to the beach and had the best view possible. We have read all the reviews posted about Nirvana and hope to give a concise list of tips for your trip because you should come here ... it is an incredible place.

What to bring:

Bug Spray - 100% Deet ( I got tons of mosquito bites, bring an antihistamine cream or something like Benedryl if you have a reaction to bites)
Ear plugs (as per cshel718's review) just in case there is a random concert going on
Beach towels
Zip lock bags - to pack up food
Chargers & Earphones
iPad, iPod laptop computer, radio or tape player (WIFI at Nirvana is weak, hook up to the White Sands next door which is faster and has a stronger signal)
small disposable flashlight
hairdryer
shampoo, conditioner and body lotion
Sunscreen >>>> max SPF
Sun hat
Optional: snorkel gear and air mattresses or blow-up rafts for floating (they have some there)

Money:

U.S. and Jamaican dollars are widely accepted (Jamaican is worth a little more than U.S.) - use Jamaican dollars during the trip, prices are cheaper and it's easier to negotiate with. Do not change your money at the airport, it's a rip-off. Your Nirvana driver (either Leon or Breezy) can exchange some money for you at a good rate to start you off.

If you are Canadian like us, there are Scotiabank ATMs close by. Next time, I will forego bringing U.S. dollars, you can use the ATM or exchange Canadian dollars at a Cambio a short taxi ride away.

Meals:

If you are on a budget, on your way to the hotel from the airport, one of the Nirvana's drivers (who will pick you up at the airport for $70 USD) will take you to a supermarket where you can stock up on food/drinks.

Our unit had a coffee maker, toaster, microwave, blender, toaster oven, and a portable two burner unit, and everything else you need for meals. We made our breakfast a lot consisting of Blue Mountain coffee, toast, some fruit purchased from Chordis, the fruit lady on the beach and fresh juice purchased from Flex also walking the beach.

We asked Sandra about purchasing oranges for freshly squeezed orange juice which the Nirvana staff will make for you but sadly, oranges were not available. Next time we'll pick up a huge bag from the supermarket in Montego Bay.

Country Country has the best banana pancakes but they are pricey at $10 U.S. and you get three tiny pancakes. But you need to at least try them, their awesome. Also, Try Coletta's, they had the cheapest breakfast and a good selection. Their hash browns were great.

For lunch, we purchased patties and coco bread from Norman who walks the beach between 12:00-2:00 daily except Sundays. He's the one with the cardboard box on his bike. Patties are $1-$1.50, cocoa bread is 50 cents. Can't go wrong with those prices and the patties are awesome. Our favourites are the pumpkin and chicken.

Sometimes there is someone selling pastries - the rum cake will knock you off your feet and the banana bread is tasty.

White Sands next door offers 2 for 1 daily specials on drinks. Try the Dirty Banana special on Fridays.

If you are staying in the owner's villa or one of the cottages, you can have one meal a day made for you, you just have to provide the ingredients. Taxi the fisherman is the one to buy seafood from, he is on the beach every morning with his catch.

There are so many restaurants in the Negril area, a lot within walking distance - some of our favourites were Best in the West, Coletta's, Sweet Spot, the jerk chicken vendors on the street, and Sweet Spice in town.

Sightseeing:

Rick's Cafe (take a boat ride to Rick's - it costs about $15/pp and it is so worth it to see a great view of the Cliffs).

YS Falls and the Pelican Bar - full day trip and definitely an experience. You can book it through the Nirvana staff or on your own.

One Love Bus Tour, kind of like a pub crawl - we didn't go on it but people we met raved about it, it's free, you just have to pay for your drinks and tip the driver.

Shopping

Time Square shopping mall (15 minute walk) had tons of souvenirs at pretty good prices, cheaper than the vendors on the beach and no haggling involved. But if you love the art of haggling, there is a craft market a short drive away with over a hundred vendors and there are tons of vendors on the beach. You are also within walking distance of convenience stores and a small grocery store. A three minute taxi ride into downtown Negril can get you anything else you need like a pharmacy, Cambio, etc.

As we were here during July, which is the low season, it was very quiet and serene. Perfect for a romantic getaway. Nirvana definitely has the best beach and it's right in the middle of 7 mile beach. We will be coming back here for sure. The staff is wonderful and the vibe is chill. Hope this review helps you plan your trip to Nirvana on the Beach.

Room Tip: The verandah and Owner's Villa have the best view and are closest to the beach. They also have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nirvana on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirvana on the Beach

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Negril
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#7 Business Hotel in Negril
#11 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on Negril Beach, Nirvana is an intimate & unique beachfront property with that famous old-style Negril ambiance, privacy & security making it the perfect choice for couples, singles, families or groups who have been searching for a special island-style laid back un-commercial Caribbean beachfront vacation. We are a terrific value, you can rent one unit, several units or the whole property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nirvana On The Beach Hotel Negril
Nirvana On The Beach Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nirvana on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Nirvana on the Beach to your Saves list