We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total relaxation in a serenely beautiful setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nirvana on the Beach

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Negril
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nirvana on the Beach
Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 91 hotels in Negril
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Total relaxation in a serenely beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

If total relaxation is what you seek, Nirvana is the place for you. From the moment we entered the unique fish motif gate, we felt all tension and stress evaporate in the presence of the warmly welcoming staff and lovely tropical landscaping. We were fortunate enough to stay in the Owner's Villa which is not only comfy and spacious, but opens directly onto the beach with a breathtaking view of the turqoise waters of the Caribbean Sea. All the staff were friendly, accomodating and attentive and went out of their way to make sure we were enjoying our vacation. We had our choice of restaurants only short distances away on the beach as well as a fully equipped kitchen, so it was the best of both worlds. The excellent security guys made sure that we were not hassled by agressive vendors and we felt safe at all times. The only thing we would change would be to book a longer stay!

Room Tip: The Owner's Villa is the closest to the beach and probably the largest
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nirvananegril, Owner at Nirvana on the Beach, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thanks for your wonderful review. The owners villa at Nirvana is the best spot on all of Negril Beach. It has the best beach views with moving from the Veranda & we thank you for appreciating it & all the special things that go with it.

You can rent it with 1 bedroom & deluxe full bathroom with an extra outdoor shower garden. We have recently added a second bedroom & bathroom for families or 2 couples traveling together

we hope you'll be back,

Lonnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    492
    92
    14
    12
    9
See reviews for
149
222
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

What a little gem Nirvana is. Well worth the long haul from the UK. We had high hopes having read all the other fab reviews and Nirvana lives up to them all. A hop, skip and a jump from our cottage to the beach and the sound of waves all the time - very soothing. Everyone is so friendly and nothing is ever too much trouble - from keeping the grounds immaculate to awesome cooking. If I could have folded up our cottage and brought it home in my suitcase I would have done. And the beds are sooo comfy too - best night's sleep I have had for ages!!
Thanks guys I hope we will be back and before the children are more grown up than they are now!

Room Tip: Go for Cottage 4 - plenty of room and a view of the gardens and down to the beach. Plus you can see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nirvananegril, Owner at Nirvana on the Beach, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
We are so glad the long trip from the UK to Negril was worthwhile for you & to know Nirvana gave you the chance to spend real quality time with your family.

Modern life leaves so little time for a growing family to really bond together on a vacation & that's what a stay at Nirvana is all about. The cottages are all family style & casual so you have no worries staying with your kids in an intimate & natural setting.

We offer all kinds of day trips out to the countryside or just a relaxing day on the beach together watching a glorious sunset at the end of a perfect day will be remembered for a lifetime.

Don't wait too long to come back before the kids are all grown up.

Lonnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

the views and property are just amazing, the staff was nothing but nice and helpfull with anything from directions to getting us good deals on trips. i absolutly loved the stay and when i come back there is no other place i would stay!

Room Tip: all the rooms are good but the best i think is the sundeck suite number 1 which is on the beach and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nirvananegril, Owner at Nirvana on the Beach, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
We're so glad to hear you loved your beach front Sundeck at Nirvana.

All our 12 unique rentals at Nirvana are special & just steps from the beach.
Many are right on beach front but none are identical.

The original canopy of trees has not been touched as we have built our suites & cottages around them to provide shady gardens & cool breezes for you to enjoy.

there is nothing in all of Jamaica that is anything like Nirvana, come & see!

Lonnie

Lonnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Nirvana has a great location on 7 mile beach and it is only 26 steps from the room we stayed in. We were in walking distance to lots of great eateries on the beach & vendors came by frequently with fresh fruit & patties for snacks. Also in walkin distance are several venues to enjoy live music. When we wanted to go out and about the staff would make sure that we had a driver to take us there and back. The AC worked well in the room and our beds were very comfortable. We are thankful to have had a coffee pot to make our coffee in the mornings & a blender to make our pina coladas while taking a break from the sun. We were able to get groceries in town and keep them in the refrigerator for us to have something to nibble on. The owners provide a guide in the room with recommendations on things to do and places to go in Negril which is very well thought out and presented. We had a great time & enjoyed our stay and would love to return in the future.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nirvananegril, Owner at Nirvana on the Beach, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
AT NIRVANA we do everything we can think of to make your vacation user friendly & have access to all the things you want to see & do. Our staff will help in every way from giving recommendations to ordering fresh oranges for you, just ask!

Negril is a special place with a special beauty & Nirvana is right in the center of all of it.

We hope to see you again,

Lonnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

It was my first - and I am sure and hope - not my last time that I have spent my vacation at Nirvana on the beach.
The homepage www.nirvananegril.com and the pictures/description here on Tripadvisor - you have to imagine anything even twice and three times better - because they both can only reflect on a small frame, what to expect really.
It was just a dream!
I stayed at cottage 5 and from the first second I felt completely comfortable.
Who is on search for a special accommodation is - strike: Here it is :-).
... My sincere thanks and a big praise goes to the team of nirvana - I hope to see all again the next vacation in best health and wish them only the best.
Big up!!!

Kerstin (38, Cologne/Germany)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nirvananegril, Owner at Nirvana on the Beach, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Your wonderful responses are all very important to us. Thanks so much for writing about Nirvana all over the web..... pleeease keep it up.

Our Nirvana family all strive to make your vacation with us the best possible experience you & your fellow travelers could have. Negril is a special place which gives you the time & space to relax & let Jamaica enchant you, we are just delighted to be a part of it.

It does have some bothersome aspects at times, but where is the place that doesn't?

All at Nirvana feel that our guests deserve the best possible service & attention.

Our nannies are completely vetted & dedicated to making sure your kids are well taken care of & played with so you can go out, relax & get back in touch with your other facets of having a good time.

Sandra & Zemroy as well as all our other staff members work to fulfill their mission of delivering a unique & unforgettable time for our guests enjoyment of the most gorgeous white sandy beach & incredible warm clear turquoise ocean waters, we want you to love it as we do, so come down & play in the exquisite sea Negril offers.

Families with kids are most welcome & have a great time bonding together without the constant interference of electronics we have all unfortunately become immune to.
Negril & Nirvana is the place to let go of all of that & really "BE HERE NOW" in paradise.

Lonnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Ontario
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We had the best family vacation this past July. We travelled with our 2 boys (age 7&10) and a family friend. We stayed in cottage #2 this time. My husband and I had been to Nirvana in March and couldn't wait to return with our boys.
This place has it all, the rustic charm in the cottage was great, the fantastic staff who truly become friends. It's a neat home away from home kind of atmosphere.
The past 2 family trips with our kids, we travelled to Disney World....what kid doesn't love Disney!!..HOWEVER they both agreed they'd rather return to Nirvana on the beach!!
We met some great people, Taxi the fisherman was so great with the kids.
I was a bit nervous of the kids being bored after the last 2 trips, with no TV and all.....they loved it! We had some great family time, played cards, went for walks and played in the ocean.....fantastic family memories!!

If anyone has any questions send them our way!

PS One of our other worries was initially we needed air conditioning the first time to Nirvana...funny thing we never turned it on! We stayed in one of the Verandah suites, and with our second trip being in a cottage with no air conditioning....we can now comfortable say it's NO PROBLEM :)
This property has some of the best shade and it's perfect for staying out of the sun with kids!!

Room Tip: If you're looking for a great relaxing vacation, stop looking and just book it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nirvananegril, Owner at Nirvana on the Beach, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
we're always happy to hear that families with kids love Nirvana & you must have really smart kids for them to choose Nirvana over Disney...... my grand kids say the same thing, it must be the wonderful Jamaican vibes they get in Negril & the freedom of the beach.

Plus every Jamaican loves kids & they want to show off the natural environment of the beach to all the kids.

we hope you'll return soon,

Lonnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

As most reviewers have already said, if you're used to the typical resort atmosphere and that's what you're looking for, Nirvana is not for you. If you're looking for a clean, comfortable, no frills environment in which to relax and enjoy the beach, then give Nirvana a try. Again, the grounds are beautiful and very well maintained. Everyone on staff is very helpful and friendly. There are plenty of restaurants, bars and live entertainment within a short walk. My only complaints are of the red ants in the room. We brought ant spray with us, and kept all food tightly sealed in zip lock bags and this still did not prevent ants in every single room, including the bathroom. I was even bitten by one on my last day at Nirvana, and it was very painful. My other complaint is that the wireless internet signal(s) were very weak, going in and out throughout the day. We located one of the hotspots (right under the router) and this helped for a while but still made internet usuage frustrated especially when trying to communicate with family back home. All in all, I enjoyed my time at Nirvana and came home to the states relaxed and refreshed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nirvananegril, Owner at Nirvana on the Beach, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Your wonderful responses are all very important to us. Thanks so much for writing about Nirvana all over the web..... pleeease keep it up.

Our Nirvana family all strive to make your vacation with us the best possible experience you & your fellow travelers could have. Negril is a special place which gives you the time & space to relax & let Jamaica enchant you, we are just delighted to be a part of it.

It does have some bothersome aspects at times, but where is the place that doesn't?

All at Nirvana feel that our guests deserve the best possible service & attention.

Our nannies are completely vetted & dedicated to making sure your kids are well taken care of & played with so you can go out, relax & get back in touch with your other facets of having a good time.

Sandra & Zemroy as well as all our other staff members work to fulfill their mission of delivering a unique & unforgettable time for our guests enjoyment of the most gorgeous white sandy beach & incredible warm clear turquoise ocean waters, we want you to love it as we do, so come down & play in the exquisite sea Negril offers.

Families with kids are most welcome & have a great time bonding together without the constant interference of electronics we have all unfortunately become immune to.
Negril & Nirvana is the place to let go of all of that & really "BE HERE NOW" in paradise.

Lonnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nirvana on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirvana on the Beach

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Negril
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#7 Business Hotel in Negril
#12 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on Negril Beach, Nirvana is an intimate & unique beachfront property with that famous old-style Negril ambiance, privacy & security making it the perfect choice for couples, singles, families or groups who have been searching for a special island-style laid back un-commercial Caribbean beachfront vacation. We are a terrific value, you can rent one unit, several units or the whole property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nirvana On The Beach Hotel Negril
Nirvana On The Beach Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nirvana on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Nirvana on the Beach to your Saves list