We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“authentic Jamaican experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nirvana on the Beach

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Negril
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nirvana on the Beach
Save
You added Nirvana on the Beach to your Saves list
Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 90 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Midwest
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“authentic Jamaican experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

I went here with four other girlfriends. We are all adventurous travelers that have extensive international traveling experience. We all LOVED the hotel. The staff was extremely helpful. The GM set up our day trips. He didn't put us on a boring mass tourist boat. He put us on a boat with locals that took us out on really great tours. It was so relaxed. t have have been lucky enough to stay in the most luxurious hotels but I always enjoy charming places that have a local feel. This place is a local gem and allows you to take in the island. I would come back here with my family. It was safe. The guards watched the hotel at night so we never felt uncomfortable. I will be back there next time I am in Jamaica. Those mega resorts don't compare to this.

Room Tip: Stay in a cottage and the staff will cook you an authentic Jamaican meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nirvananegril, Owner at Nirvana on the Beach, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
To keep you safe & still have a real adventure Nirvana has expert staff & drivers who want you to have the best of Negril. You go at your own pace & special interests are happily accommodated all while saving you 20-30% off the very same trip you see on internet travel sites.

The fun of a unique adventure is waiting for you at a small intimate hotel like no place else in Jamaica......Nirvana. Just ask !

Lonnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    97
    14
    12
    9
See reviews for
162
245
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Have traveled to Negril for over 30 years and have always stayed at another location. We always have stayed at another place during that time, but have looked at Nirvana many times, but just didn't like the fence in front of the place. Due to some issues where we have always stayed decided to suck it up and deal with the fence. When we arrived, much to our delight the fence is no longer and all we could do is jump for joy. We were in cottage #4 and all I can say is wow, the cottage, grounds, staff, they are all excellent. We are all day beach sitters, so we found a spot on the grounds that had shade all day with a little moving of our loungers to catch the shade. The loungers are the most comfortable I have ever sat on and our mission of the day at the beach was complete. The ladies made our breakfasts and there was always fresh orange juice in our refrigerator. The cottages have wonderful furniture to sit on, the rooms are screened and the breeze flows through them all day and night. The bathrooms are large, well lit, double sinks and great water pressure, no hot then cold water hitting you during your shower. The place has a generator, so if power goes, you still have electricity. During our stay the owners were there and they are a delight. We looked at the veranda suites and the owners cottage and all I can say is "wow" they are beautiful too. Stanley and I had a long conversation while floating one late afternoon and I truly enjoyed getting to know him. Lonnie is a delight too and she seems to be directing the planting of a lot of new plants on the grounds. If there is a negative,( and this is trivial) the staff tend to put your loungers away if you are gone too long, even though they were told we wanted to sit and watch the stars in them later. However, they would pull them out again if requested. It is a great place for adults and families, so anyone would be happy with their stay at Nirvana. As my title suggests, I have found Nirvana and don't want to be anywhere else in the future. Thank you Stanley and Lonnie for your beautiful place and the comforts you provide your guests.

Room Tip: From cottage 4 you can see the beach, but there is no real bad place to stay on this property as far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nirvanaNys, Owner at Nirvana on the Beach, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
it was a pleasure to meet you two & have you as Nirvana guests.

I am so happy you enjoyed our piece of paradise & thanks for your lovely comments.
We all hope to see you back at Nirvana next year.

You have become part of the Nirvana "family".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McClellanville, South Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

My family and I have stayed at Nirvana twice and will go back again! The first time we were there in february and we stayed in Sundeck 2. It was fabulous! We had a view of the beach and ocean from our upstairs porch and could hear the waves when they gently hit the shore. There is no street noise from this room. It was very private and very comfortable and roomy. There was an air conditioner in our room but we didn't need it. We kept the windows open and used the fans instead. The beach at Nirvana is PERFECT! There is plenty of room to spread out, and Errol, the daytime security man, always had our chairs waiting for us wherever we wanted them to be. Errol is one of the best things about staying at Nirvana. We found that there are fewer vendors on this end of the beach and they were never a problem, especially with Errol around. He is a very kind and a quiet,gentle guy with lots of good advice, if asked. All the staff there are great and we always felt completely safe and comfortable in every way. Sandra is another gem at Nirvana. She is friendly and helpful and is always available to answer questions, solve problems ( if there are any), arrange for transportation, or anything else we might need. Moses, the gardener, is also a super nice guy. When one of our family had an upset stomach we told Sandra and Moses. Within minutes Moses was climbing a coconut tree in search of the perfect coconut to get coco water for her to drink. All the housekeeping ladies were concerned and gave tips and advice on what to do. They really are like family and seemed to genuinely care about us. And they were completely trustworthy. Once when we walked to Cosmos for supper and it was almost dark when we got back, they were waiting for us on the beach, making sure we returned! I could go on and on about the good care we received and the good time we had. I agree with others about the excellent meals the ladies cooked. One of our favorite foods is the Ortanique oranges that are available in February. They are the BEST!! Sandra saw to it that we always had a big bagful of them, and every morning one of the ladies would squeeze a pitcherful for us and leave it in our refrigerator. We also stayed in cabin 2 on a different trip to Nirvana, which was also fun. Next time we go to Negril, we will stay in one of the Verandah suites at Nirvana. The upstairs unit has complete privacy and it's RIGHT ON THE BEACH!! We have stayed in many different places in Negril, both on the cliffs and the beach, and Nirvana is our favorite, by far. Almost forgot to mention Leon, our driver. He is the only driver we will ever have now! He picked us up at the airport and safely delivered us to Nirvana. He drove us to YS Falls too, which is a nice trip and beautiful place. We always felt like we were in good hands with Leon. So our next trip to Jamaica will be soon and I can hardly wait to call Lonnie again to request a verandah suite, and that Leon be our driver. Then I can chat with Sandra and Errol, and relax on that big, white sand beach with no worries whatsoever. True nirvana!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nirvananegril, Owner at Nirvana on the Beach, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Your wonderful responses are all very important to us. Thanks so much for writing about Nirvana all over the web..... pleeease keep it up.

Our Nirvana family all strive to make your vacation with us the best possible experience you & your fellow travelers could have. Negril is a special place which gives you the time & space to relax & let Jamaica enchant you, we are just delighted to be a part of it.

It does have some bothersome aspects at times, but where is the place that doesn't?

All at Nirvana feel that our guests deserve the best possible service & attention.

Our nannies are completely vetted & dedicated to making sure your kids are well taken care of & played with so you can go out, relax & get back in touch with your other facets of having a good time.

Sandra & Zemroy as well as all our other staff members work to fulfill their mission of delivering a unique & unforgettable time for our guests enjoyment of the most gorgeous white sandy beach & incredible warm clear turquoise ocean waters, we want you to love it as we do, so come down & play in the exquisite sea Negril offers.

Families with kids are most welcome & have a great time bonding together without the constant interference of electronics we have all unfortunately become immune to.
Negril & Nirvana is the place to let go of all of that & really "BE HERE NOW" in paradise.

Lonnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estes Park, Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

We have done many types of "beach" vacations over the years including "All Inclusives" and a Caribbean Cruise, but Nirvana is the only place my teenagers requested we come back to for second trip! I can't think of another place that is more relaxing. Cabins are simple and comfortable, the grounds are immaculate and the staff are absolutely THE BEST! Nice to come back after 2 years and still know just about every staff member. They are wonderfully helpful while being completely unobtrusive. They are very protective of their customers and always try to make sure you are well cared for whether going for an excursion or just to buy some gorceries. Fresh squeezed OJ and Blue Mountain Coffee every morning, fresh tropical fruit and amazing Jerk Chicken to go along with the crystal clear, warm, calm Negril Bay and miles of soft sandy beach. Already looking forward to our next trip, "yah mon, no problem"!

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nirvanaNys, Owner at Nirvana on the Beach, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Nirvana loves families with any age kids, here you can be together & actually interact & be together without all of the technology you have at home.
Getting back to the incredible Negril beach environment together as a family will always be remembered as the "best of times" when you look back on your time here & the wonderful Jamaican people you got a chance to know at Nirvana.

We hope you will return again as each trip just keeps getting better & better.

Lonnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

My husband and I were there in mid April for our honeymoon. We needed major R & R after 5 days with friends and family getting married in Key West and we found what we needed at Nirvana! We stayed in the Owners Villa and had breakfast every morning on the huge porch while listening to the ocean. We got fresh fruit almost every morning from the vendors on the beach. The villa was even better than we imaged, much more modern and HUGE compared to the pictures. We had a lot of things on the itinerary, but only did 2 of them because we didn't want to leave our room and the beach. My husband has never been a fan of swimming in the ocean, but I could not drag him out of the water that week. He just kept floating in the crystal clear water and letting the waves drag him up to shore. The staff was great and helpful and the ONLY reason we wouldnt stay there again is if we had the kids - we would do all inclusive for that because cooking for 3 kids would have been not quite as relaxing on vacation - but for us it was just perfect. Would recommend to anyone who is looking for the most enjoyable, peaceful, relaxing time. It's in walking distance (I'm talking 5 minute walk) to the discotek and great bars with live reggae, but perfect because you can leave that and come home to quiet. Thank you for the perfect honeymoon Lonnie!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed @ Nirvana March 2012 and were so pleased with our choice. Thanks to other Trip Advisor reviews, we knew exactly what to expect and were not disappointed. I think 'relaxingly rustic' is a good descriptor for Nirvana. We were a party of 3 adults & 3 kids in villa #2 with 2 bedrooms/2 baths. We had plenty of room & everything we needed for a relaxing time. Thanks to the canopied landscape we stayed cool & comfortable both inside & out of the villa. The beach was fantastic as it too has ample sunny & shaded areas. Ehrol makes sure you're not bothered by anyone while you're relaxing on the beach & he has your chairs out before you even hit the sand! The kids loved the playhouse & the kayak. There were plenty of floaties for guests to use in the water. You do get some street noise in #2 but it didn't prevent us from sleeping. We drank the water without issue, got everything we wanted at the grocery store and snacked from the beach vendors. It was so relaxing!
I cannot say enough about the staff @ Nirvana. From the moment we arrived we were tended to and nothing was missed. Our meals were great, Ehrol & Sandra were always helpful. Leon was our driver and we highly recommend him. He was our go-to-guy and always timely & friendly.
Things not to be missed: the Fruit Lady on the beach, Mike's glass-bottom boat for snorkeling, cocoa bread, fresh juice, cliff-jumping @ Rick's but eat next door at LTU (I think that's the name).
As you will learn, the vendors on the beach are frequent & constant but we never had any issues. A 'no thank you' did the job...you'll get to practice it a lot. The kids loved haggling over juice prices, etc. so it was a learning opportunity for them.
Take twice as much sunscreen as you think you'll need, don't forget to tip, U.S. $ worked most everywhere or you can exchange with Leon for Jamaican, buy your Red Stripe at the grocery store and you're set! Enjoy!
I can say with certainty that we will return to Nirvana!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nirvanaNys, Owner at Nirvana on the Beach, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Nirvana loves families & we're glad to know it shows. We're so happy you enjoyed your vacation & we want to thank you for the wonderful comments.

Nirvana keeps getting better & better the more you come back.

We hope you will return again.

Lonnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed for 9 days, the beginning of April, and had a wonderful time. I cannot say enough good things about Nirvana's staff to explain how accomodating and awsome they all are. We stayed in the Sundeck 1 cottage and had a wonderful view of the beach and sea. The gardens at Nirvana are kept up very nice and are beautiful to see. The grounds crew, including Moses and Otis, were always working so hard to keep the place looking spectacular. The security guards were always patrolling the grounds to ensure our safety and we always felt safe. We particulary enjoyed Erroll's company. There are so many restaurants very close by with wonderful food. We tried many of the vendor's foods, but wish we had tried even more. The restaurants on the cliffs were nice and the view beautiful, but they were more expensive than the beach bars/restaurants. Nothing beats the sandy white beaches of Negril!! We will definitely return to this little paradise called Nirvana.

Room Tip: All the rooms appeared very nice. We haven't stayed in any other cottage on the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nirvana on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirvana on the Beach

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Negril
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#6 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#8 Best Value Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on Negril Beach, Nirvana is an intimate & unique beachfront property with that famous old-style Negril ambiance, privacy & security making it the perfect choice for couples, singles, families or groups who have been searching for a special island-style laid back un-commercial Caribbean beachfront vacation. We are a terrific value, you can rent one unit, several units or the whole property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nirvana On The Beach Hotel Negril
Nirvana On The Beach Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nirvana on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.