We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“100 feet to the ocean!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jamaica Tamboo Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Jamaica Tamboo Resort to your Saves list
Jamaica Tamboo Resort
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 37 Negril B&B and Inns
Sacramento, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“100 feet to the ocean!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Tamboo was a find on 7-mile Beach in Negril. A great location! Jackie, John, Shay, Vanessa, and the other staff were sweet and helpful. Realizing that you get what you pay for, the room was simple, but adequate. perhaps a bit crowded the way the furniture was arranged, lol! We never received the same number of towels or washcloths each day and a few times the towels had holes. Hmmmm. Couldn't get WiFi in the room as hoped, but Shay was in the process of adding another router.
Although the beds were very comfortable and the A/C worked well, I have to give sleep quality a 2, because of the EXTREMELY LOUD music that played until around 2 am at the resort next to Tamboo the last night or two of our stay. It was awful.
Will I return to Tamboo in the future? Absolutely, mon!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have a vaulted (cathedral) ceiling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    16
    5
    3
    7
See reviews for
11
7
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Saint Andrew, Jamaica
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Jamaica Tamboo was a good overall experience for me and my family, its located along a stretch of white sand beach with a great geographic location, not to far form both my favourite spots in Negril , The Jungle' night club and "Kool Runnings ' water park.
Definitely going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I had planned to stay there for 5 weeks with my family including my 4 year old son. Due to the low standards at the 'hotel' we stayed for 3 wks and left. Having stayed there 3 times previously i presumed that the standards would be the same. There has been a change of 'management' and this is reflected in the standard of the rooms and service. Firstly having spoken to resident jamaicans living there i now know that they charge 3 x times more per night to non jamaicans. The rooms are basic as expected but what i didnt expect nor found acceptable, is the disgusting level of hygeine in the room and in the service provided by the hotel. The bedding was changed every two to three days if u continually asked. When the sheets were changed they were replaced by sheets with brown and red stains all over them. They smelled foul and the over sheet wasnt changed until after two weeks of continual complaining. The roof leaked into the room whenever it rained and their solution to this was to move the bed. The air conditioning broke down every other day and when it did work it was impossible to use the remote as it had no back cover and the batteries would fall out. The toilet! OMG where do i start. No amount of scrubbing i did would shift the stains..liveable if it wasnt for the brown substance leaking from the back continually..disgusting. same situation with the bath / shower excluding the brown leak. What cleaning took place was to replace dirty stained towels with dirty stained towels..disgusting. the mop used to clean the floor was foul smelling and made the room stink! This could probably be eliminated if they got a new mop AND didnt use the same water to mop every room. Disgusting. Dont try to move the curtains as the risk of extreme dust inhallation is a reality. The fridge that we were charged for was not suitable to put dog food in, despite srubbing and removing stuck on food it was stil below basic hygeine levels.The staff excluding the very young pregnant cleaner) were the most rudest ignorant and unprofessional people i have ever met. The 'manager' jackie needs to enrol herself and her staff on a basic customer service course. Learn how to engage in professional conversations with people who are paying to stay there and learn how to be friendly and welcoming. Lastly as i checked out early jackie handed me a hand written scribble and said i owed quite alot of money. After showing her the original invoice she gave me when i checked in, which clearly showed a zero balance she tutted mumbled and walked away. Unbeleivable. Like i said before i have stayed here before two years ago, i didnt expect 5 star accommodation nor the service of an all inclusive. But had i read a review that would have saved me money and a ruined holiday i would have been grateful. I have travelled to jamaica on a twice yearly basis as my parents and family are jamaican born residents. Finally to the staff at tamboo...not all english people fail to fully understand exactly what is being said so it may be wise to refrain from talking about your customers in their presence.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca R, Guest Relations Manager at Jamaica Tamboo Resort, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
We are so sorry you had a negative experience with us. Given the length of your stay, we should have rolled out the red carpet for you and your family.

I will have to raise your concerns with our housekeeping team and General manager. Once again, we apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. louis
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We ended up at Jamaica Tamboo accidentally because Samsara lost our reservation. It has its pros and its cons. The family that runs the resort is very warm and accommodating. The wi-fi in the rooms is very good. The water pressure in the rooms is very good. But the room itself needed alot of maintenance and it had an issue with ants. The sheets on my bed did not fit and kept coming up on the sides. The A/C worked but was loud.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Jamaica Tamboo has become my new Negril home away from home. You can't beat the location...right on the beach! Not ACROSS from the beach, but right ON the beach. For the budget traveler you can't beat this place. I'm not one who fancy big mega all inclusive hotels. I want a clean room, clean bathroom and hot water. They provide all of that...PLUS cable and AC! But what makes Tamboo stand out is their customer service. ALL of the staff there are friendly, attentive and make you feel right at home. If you want to eat off location (and yes, they do have an excellent bar and restaurant but let's face it...we all know you are gonna pay more if you eat at ANY hotel...ANYwhere) right outside the gates you are on the main strip and within walking distances are plenty of mom and pop restaurants, bars, jerk pans and more. I always make a stop at the store and get plenty of water and juice and snacks and drinks. Negril is one of the safest places in Jamaica so explore and have fun!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Jamaica Tamboo's the greatest, the best resort i've ever visited. Every person i know that visits there's tempted to visit over and over. i just love the vibe and the people there. It's not like most resorts whereby you have to be uptight and whatnot but you're given the freedom to be yourself at this resort. i love it there and Tamboo, believe me, you are seeing me many many more times again. Peace

Room Tip: the rooms may not be 'the best' but they are still very great. makes you feel like you are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamaicaTambooResort, Secretary at Jamaica Tamboo Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for rating us aming the better properties in Negril , as always criticism is always good and we hope to make our product better as we continue to strive for excellence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

very friendly staff,excellent food,hotel is located on beach area,nightly entertainment with live "dj" and sometimes live band performances.They offer the best pizza in town and a variety of seafood dishes and just like any hotel rooms are cleaned on a daily basis.The staff are always checking up on me to make sure all is well and if there's anything they can do to make my vacation better.Overall the services were above my expectations and i'll be back for sure,for the watersports lovers there's s lots of activities including glass bottom boat rides,jet ski,etc.There's a restuarant on property & bar and lounge area which also offers a reasonable size disco upstairs with dancing area.Check this property out for the vacation of your life you won't regret,its worth every penny spent & more as the staff goes up and beyond to provide you with the best of services.

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent but i prefer to be upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Jamaica Tamboo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamaica Tamboo Resort

Address: Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jamaica Tamboo Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Jamaica Tamboo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jamaica Tamboo Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.